We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You have got to go” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Back In The Day Bakery

Back In The Day Bakery
2403 Bull St, Savannah, GA 31401-9109
+1 912-495-9292
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 26 Coffee & Tea in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: "Slow Down and Taste the Sweet Life" is our motto and our mission is to offer Savannah a better place for food, community and customer service. A happy place to relax with friends & family enjoying good conversation and sharing food.
Keedysville, Maryland, United States
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“You have got to go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Visited Back in the Day Bakery because I have their cookbook. It was busy, but well worth the short wait. The sandwiches at lunch, what can I say? The bread was fresh and tasty as well as the contents. I had the pig and pimento. Bacon, pimento cheese and swiss cheese. Yes, decadent, and it was warm..OMG. The soup was tomato basil bisque. Tasty. My friend got the ham and cheese which was also great. The cupcakes were wonderful and the whole atmosphere was worth it. We met the owners Cheryl and Griff and they are so nice. We had pictures with them and I will GO BACK.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    34
    13
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“A must stop every time we are in Savannah”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

This is a great bakery that has a wide variety of deserts...we like the cupcakes, especially the preemie cupcakes. My daughter stocks up on her favorite rootbeer. Everyone should check the little gem out!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Come out and meet your public!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Four of us came for breakfast at my insistence because I had read great reviews and have sold their cookbook as a B&N manager. The location isn't the greatest, but I can see how it's a destination thing. I love love love the atmosphere. The ham & cheese croissants were divine. The bread pudding was ridiculous. The lemon loaf was delish. The donut muffin, just right. We also got a peek at both owners working in the back. I'm sure they are super-busy, especially since the cookbook release. But they really should wander out every half hour or so at least. I would have enjoyed meeting them and would have left with an even more favorable impression. The girls working the counter were nice enough, I guess. I could have asked to meet the owners, but I wanted to see if they would make an appearance on their own. I was disappointed that they failed my little test.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Couldn't wait to try the cupcakes...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I had heard about Back in the Day bakery when their cookbook came out and they were at a local bookstore. Unfortunately I had to miss their visit at the bookstore, but couldn't wait to go to the bakery when we were visiting Savannah. We ordered the old fashioned cupcake (vanilla) and a chocolate cupcake to go. I thought the vanilla cupcake was delicious and the frosting reminded me of sugar cookie icing at Christmas time. I loved it! My husband thought the chocolate cupcake was good, but not great. I would visit again and have lunch on our next visit to Savannah.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tybee Island, Ga
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Who knew?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Who'd ever know you'd be happy to spend $3 on a cupcake. This bakery has some of the most awesome baked goods I have ever tasted. Things they totally make up themselves that you cant have anywhere else. The cupcakes are my favorite but they also make a mean bread pudding that is a killer served warm, along with cookies, other goodies and s'mores pie, oooooooooooh so rich!
They also have unique lunch time sandwiches.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Back In The Day Bakery also viewed

Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Back In The Day Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Back In The Day Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.