We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Goose Feathers an Express Cafe & Bakery

Goose Feathers an Express Cafe & Bakery
39 Barnard St, Savannah, GA 31401-2519 (Downtown)
866-221-1948
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 25 Bakeries in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $4 - $8
Cuisines: French, Organic, Coffee Shop, Bakeries, Vegetarian, Healthy, Vegan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert, Delivery, Takeout
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: Goose Feathers an Express Cafe and Bakery, is the quintessential corner cafe in historic downtown Savannah, Georgia. For over 27 years, this Savannah original has been serving homemade pastries, breakfast items, hearty soups, delicious sandwiches and fresh-ground coffees and teas with a family friendly touch. Their world-famous bread pudding is a must-have and decadent sticky buns will tempt you every time. Breakfast, brunch or lunch, Goose Feathers is a favorite for locals and visitors alike.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great lunch spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Goose Feathers is conveniently located in City Market. It is a great spot for lunch with lots of fresh and healthy choices and sandwiches made to order. The service is speedy. After you place your order at the counter you grab your drink then have a seat at a table and the staff will bring your order to you. You can dine inside or at one of several tables outside. The owners are local folks and couldn't be nicer.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,498 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    898
    433
    127
    31
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
savannah
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“always delicious always fresh GREAT COFFEE!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Beth and Michael run an outstanding establishment bread pudding to die for gazpacho 2nd only to my wife's sometimes a little wait but the line moves fast ... Did I mention the coffee?

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food can't excuse a rude staff.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Living in downtown Savannah, I have visited on multiple occasions and every time my thoughts are the same. Although their food is excellent, the staff has been rude and condescending each and every time I have visited. Most recently, I entered holding an almost-finished iced coffee from another cafe, and less than 30 seconds after walking in the door was told by an employee the drink "couldn't be in here". When I asked why, I was pointed to a small sign outside the restaurant blaming the policy on the health department. I know that no such regulation exists, having worked for a local cafe for a while, and was shocked that they would forfeit the business of a family of 4 for 4 oz of coffee. In the past I have gotten over the poor service for the quality of the food, even going so far as to reccommend the cafe to many of my clients, both visiting and local, but this was really the last straw. I will never return to goose feathers, and will make sure not to reccommend them to any more clients. If you decide to visit, don't dare take anything with you, or be ready to throw it away.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, South Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good Service and Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Don't be put off by a line out the door. The wait will be short and well worth any inconvenience. Excellent food, and the service was some of the best I have experienced. Great bagels the first morning, loved the Eggs Benedict this morning, and we left with sweet baked items for later. Highly recommend stopping here when in Savannah!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cohutta, Georgia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Really Really Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

This was our last stop before heading home from our trip in Savannah. What a great bakery/café! The sandwiches were fresh and delicious. And we each enjoyed a baked goodie too. The place was crowded, but service was quick. The staff were so friendly and fun. A great place! We will definitely be back!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Goose Feathers an Express Cafe & Bakery also viewed

Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Goose Feathers an Express Cafe & Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Goose Feathers an Express Cafe & Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.