We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ice cream” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Leopold's Ice Cream

Leopold's Ice Cream
212 E Broughton St, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)
+1 912-234-4442
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 786 Restaurants in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $2 - $9
Cuisines: Diner, Dessert, Ice Cream, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night Food, Dessert, Coffee & Tea, Dinner, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: No trip to Savannah is complete without a visit to Leopold's Ice Cream! Named the #5 Ice Cream in the World, Leopold's is a "Must-Do." You'll enjoy visiting our retro ice cream parlor, complete with old fashioned soda fountain and friendly soda jerks. You'll also experience a little piece of Hollywood in Savannah as you peruse Stratton Leopold's collection of film posters and props from films he has worked on over his 45 plus years in the movie industry! Leopold's Ice Cream was founded in 1919 by three immigrant brothers from Greece. They learned the art of candy and dessert from an uncle who had already settled in America. The brothers perfected the secret formulas and created the world famous Leopold's VeriBest™ ice cream.Our ice cream is made in house, one batch at a time, using family recipes handed down from the Leopold brothers. With our soda fountain creations and more than 20 flavors available at any given time, we've got something just for you!
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great ice cream”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

My wife and I stopped here after dinner and got milkshakes. They were awesome. The wait in line was kind of nuts, but was actually worth the wait...and I hate lines. Definitely worth it.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,435 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,386
    770
    238
    27
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Falmouth, MA
Top Contributor
399 reviews 399 reviews
261 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
235 helpful votes 235 helpful votes
“The Line Out the Door Tells It All”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Who could argue with #2 on TA in Savannah. The place was mobbed but the line moved quickly and the servers were friendly and chipper. A nice touch was the cups of ice water while waiting on line. The ice cream was very good and the best we had in the low country.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Lovely Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

We came across Leopolds on our Savannah visit and stepped inside to check it out. Inside we found a time machine tuned back to the 50s with white shirted soda jerks, marble counter and authentic jukebox. We were starving from walking the city all morning and opted for lunch. surprisingly Delicious sandwiches just like you may have had back in the day at the five and dime (or maybe made by your grandma). The chicken salad was yummy. Were too stuffed for the ice cream! Oh well, next time!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Yum ice cream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Worth a stop for ice cream. Super service and great staff. Wide selection of flavors and tastes available

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macungie, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great ice cream in a neat looking place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Great desert, and the ice cream shop is a cute little shop with lots of vintage looking items and the staff was very friendly. There's an area to sit down next to where you get the ice cream which was a little crowded but I think that speaks to the success of this establishment. We would definitely visit Leopold's next time we're in Savannah.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leopold's Ice Cream also viewed

Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Leopold's Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leopold's Ice Cream, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.