We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great” 2 of 5 stars
Review of San's Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added San's Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
San's Boutique Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   580 Al Henderson Boulevard, Savannah, GA 31419   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #101 of 112 Hotels in Savannah
Accra, Ghana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Not great”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

My husband and I drove down to Hilton Head from Durham to have dinner with friends and decided to stay in Savannah for the night and explore the town in the morning. We got what we thought was a great deal on Groupon to stay at San's.

First of all, they led us to believe that it is in downtown Savannah when it isn't. It's actually a few miles away in an area full of budget hotels off the highway. Secondly, the room we got looked nothing like the picture on the website. It was dark and not much thought was put into decorating. The room smelled damp and dirty and the carpet was sticky with goodness knows what. Also, the bathroom sink was blocked. The only redeeming quality for me was the shower water pressure.

If you are looking for an authentic Savannah experience, this isn't it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    16
    13
    20
    28
See reviews for
30
37
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

This hotel was not great, but it was not horrible either, it is really slightly below average. The lobby is very nicely decorated and the rooms look nicely decorated. We had four rooms because we were a large crowd. My parents were happy with their room. One of the beds in our room had a stain and the bathroom wallpaper had a huge black stain. Also, the lotion they provided in our room was used. I simply threw away the lotion and used my own towels. Like the title says, if you are just looking for a one night stay as you drive through its not that bad. If you are looking for a luxury stay like at the Hilton, don't let the "boutique" part fool you. I wouldn't stay again, but for $54 on groupon it was better than I expected.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We booked this hotel via Groupon and would never stay again. We walk in and have to ring a bell to get service because no one was around. One person on the staff comes out in jeans and a t-shirt (this was their regular attire throughout our stay). They were not welcoming or very helpful in questions regarding Savannah and transportation. We get to our room, which seemed decent. Although the sign offered "pillow-top" mattresses, these were very, very hard beds. Luckily, we packed our own pillows because the ones provided were horrible and mimicked low-end airplane pillows. Even the comforter was covered in some sort of protective layer that was scratchy. Upon unpacking, we found used cups and toothbrushes in our medicine cabinet. The walls were so thin that I could hear everyone walking around and even the couple in the suite next to us chatting and watching TV. The A/C was on the floor like in older hotels, but the controls were on the wall. Ours was broken because it said it was 70 degrees and yet we were sweating. Then when I would switch it to off, it would randomly turn on (and it was loud) throughout the night. We asked to switch rooms but the hotel was booked (I'm assuming because of the Groupon) and they did nothing to accommodate us. We actually ended up leaving a day early because we were unable to get a good night's sleep and they offered us nothing and said nothing except "Leave the key when you're ready." I also tried the "fitness center" during my stay which consisted of one bicycle machine, two treadmills and an elliptical. Both the bike and elliptical were broken and I had to physically plug in the treadmill to use it. After 20 minutes of intervals (that I had to manually do because the screen was broken) I tweaked my knee, most likely from the immense shaking the treadmill made when switching to a higher speed. There was nothing "boutique" about this place. If we were paying full price for a suite, I would have been very upset and most likely transfer hotels.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Worst place I have ever stayed. The staff here are not very nice. The lady is very accusatory and rude. The rooms are trashy with wallpaper hanging off and tiny cheap showers and such a crappy TV it takes one minute to change the channel and the sound is so bad you can't understand what is even being said. Avoid this one- I literally wouldn't stay here again if you PAID me!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vidalia, Georgia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Price was about average for the area (I-95 exit 94) and upon first impression it was going to be a real find. The truth of the matter is that once you get in your room you will discover that the walls...and apparently...floors are paper thin. You can hear every sound, even from the rooms below you. The pillows were rock hard and the comforter was WAY too heavy. Their suites are not really a suite...just a room slightly larger that their others. We only stayed here because all others in the are were booked.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pineville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We saw other "name"-brand hotels, as there must be 10+ in the 1.5 block vicinity which were either "sold-out" or priced at $150 and up. Travelocity had this hotel also listed so we gave it a shot. Bull's-eye!!! We got our "suite"-room from $129 down to $69+tax ($81 total). We had a very nice, clean, and well-designed room (similar in size to other "suite-hotel" sized rooms. Pictures represented it very well. Nice colors for furnishings, beddings, etc. Bedding appeared to be new with bed-shams partially wrinkled indicating they had been recently washed otherwise they would have hung straight down. Also, pillows were adequate for us; however, we like nice fluffy pillows and these were only about 5-6 inches thick ((just a personal preference for use here)). Photographs, multitudes, on the walls are not the standard -- someone else put this place together as they have art-work designs and such. Was very impressed. As we travel this would be a place we would stop at again, if we are at this "stopping"-area or within range. Impressed and would recommend this property to anyone needing a place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I will say this......i hate to admit it but the room was not bad at all. The price was exactly what we needed and the location was next to the interstate, very accessible to downtown Savannah (about 10 minutes drive) and there is an IHOP right next door to the hotel. I couldnt ask for more. The service at the hotel was poor. After a long days drive we were unable to check in early (1pm) so we had to waste about 2 hours. The people who work the front desk were never there for questions and directions.......when they were there there were cold and impersonable. But for the price it was clean and safe. Would we stay again?? ummm, the area where this property is located has quite a few more "name brand" properties that would probably offer better customer service for close to the same price so...maybe not. But it was just "OKAY"

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to San's Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San's Boutique Hotel

Address: 580 Al Henderson Boulevard, Savannah, GA 31419
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 112 Hotels in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — San's Boutique Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our lodgings are highly contemporary to appeal to your sophisticated side. Each room is uniquely decorated in an array of color combinations and is equipped with the latest high-tech amenities. You'll enjoy staying in our 100% smoke-free facility, where your satisfaction is guaranteed. Amenities such as flat screen Plasma TV, microwave, refrigerator, iron, ironing board, hairdryer, coffee maker and free high-speed Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your San's Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sans Boutique Savannah
Hotel Sans Boutique

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San's Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.