We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special & unforgettable experience!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Olde Savannah Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Olde Savannah Inn to your Saves list
The Olde Savannah Inn
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   217 E. Gaston Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 39 Savannah B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A special & unforgettable experience!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Our stay at this B&B was unforgettable for a number of reasons. Most importantly, the decor of the Inn was beautiful, from the crisp linens to the century aged furniture. The full breakfast was delicious and romantic, as it was served by candlelight & music. Kathleen, the Innkeeper was very detailed & observant, and though at times appeared to be stressed, managed to provide a peaceful environment. The last minute package offered (though our reservation wasn't last minute) was perfect for our anniversary trip because it included a nice romantic dinner (I would recommend The Olde Pink House), horse drawn carriage ride, and chocolate covered strawberries with champagne (upon arrival or on the carriage ride).
Kathleen, thank you for your hospitality but I would encourage you to get some additional support because you work TOO hard :-)

Room Tip: As advised by the Innkeeper, try to get a room on the top floor to experience the full luxury of thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,141
    38
    10
    24
    12
See reviews for
61
927
33
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Lithonia, Georgia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Olde Savannah inn and couldn't have asked for better. The atmosphere and treatment we received guarantees that we will be returning again. Kathleen the owner was absolutely wonderful making us feel like we were part of the family( her homemade apple cinnamon pancakes made me want to call home and apologize for being unfaithful to grandma).

We were situauted just a short drive from the riverfront and had no problems getting everywhere. The shuttle picked us up at the front door of the Inn. I highly recommend anyone wanting a romantic getaway give Kathleen a call.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loudonville, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

The Olde Savannah Inn was the perfect way to celebrate our 7th anniversary. The moment we arrived at the Inn and met Kathleen we were treated like royalty. Kathleen is charming and her place is exquisite. The rooms are beautiful, each having their own theme. Kathleen prepared the most delicious gourmet breakfasts each morning; daily presentations of fresh fruit cup presented in an elegant crystal glass that was a picture, bacon and sausage, orange juice and an abundance of French pressed coffee all served on beautiful crystal, china and silver. Day one a vegetable omelet - fresh picked vegetables from the farmers market just blocks from the Inn. The second morning apple cinnamon pancakes with Kathleen’s delicious homemade whipped cream and warmed syrup was the choice of the day, and oh they were scrumptious. Day three Kathleen prepared her eggs Benedict- heavenly. Each table was set with a vase of flowers, music playing in the background and conversation with other couples as desired. The house itself is just amazing. I couldn't help but walk from room to room admiring Kathleen's astounding decorated displays. As beautiful as the house is, you still feel right at home, Kathleen makes sure you do. My husband and I stayed in the Provence Room - much to our delight. The room has such character and a stunning presentation of furnishings. The bed was so welcoming at night after a full day of touring Savannah and indulging in the fabulous Southern cooking of the vast array of restaurants Savannah offers. The shower was divine - it was a marble shower room! The Provence room provides access to a private garden retreat. Kathleen surprised us each evening with a freshly baked delicacy.
It was difficult leaving The Olde Savannah Inn, but I know we will be returning. Kathleen made us feel right at home and I know we will keep in touch. She is so warm and loving - a real classy lady! Thank you Kathleen for treating us so well and making our anniversary a memorable one

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I traveled to Savannah from Seattle, WA to get a taste of the Southern experience and my expectations were exceeded the moment I was greeted by Kathleen at the B&B! She took such good care of me during my solo adventure with beautiful AND scrumptious breakfasts, a delightful room in her spectacularly renovated historic inn, and inviting me to take some time to enjoy my book and listen to the crickets with a glass of wine on her back porch! My soul was overflowing by the time I left the Olde Savannah Inn.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Last week during a difficult crunch time between job interviews in the South, my Partner and I set off to The Olde Savannah Inn seeking a well-deserved weekend break.

Upon a late evening arrival, we wandered in together and were graciously met by Kathleen -- the owner/proprietor. She immediately charmed my Partner and me. After wandering into the front door we felt the romance of the hotel. From the start, Kathleen wholeheartedly welcomed us; and, revealed to us her special abilities to make us feel at home, combined with her attention to detail.

Our room was the Renaissance Suite. It was quiet, clean and comfortable. We had two chandeliers -- in the bedroom and the spacious bathroom! The carved 4-poster bed made for a unique and grand sleeping experience.

We immediately came to realize the benefits intelligent service. Kathleen answered all of our questions about the hotel and helped guide our understanding of Savannah for only a 2 night visit. She expertly meshed our wishes with our needs for getting the best slice of Savannah for a weekend visit: the best restaurant recommendations, sights not to miss, and insider tips.

The morning breakfast ROCKED! The meal was prepared from scratch and could rival any gourmet breakfast restaurant and included fresh baked peach cobbler.

Our weekend at The Olde Savannah Inn made our weekend Savannah experience extra special. We are certain that but for our stay at the hotel, we would not have had what became a memorable trip to Savannah. Kathleen's special character and skills – which are exemplary, and are rare in this day and age -- separate those who place “first” from the “also-rans.”

We wish The Olde Savannah Inn every success and look forward to returning very soon!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

We just left the Inn this morning and what an amazing stay we had. Kathleen is a wonderful woman, who was extremely helpful during our stay. The breakfasts were excellent and the rooms were immaculate. We will be back!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for our 5th anniversary over Labor Day weekend and this was our first B&B experience! We were in the Provence suite which we loved - it has windows so ample light comes in, the shower is amazing (so spacious and water pressure is great), and it is on the ground level with a private entrance. Kathleen was quite hospitable all weekend - when the room did not have an ironing board, she offered to iron my dress for me; she booked our trolley tour and pedicab one night for us, and in general, was helpful with restaurant suggestions! Everyday she left 2 water bottles and chocolate chip cookies in our room. The first day she left us a piece of her chocolate cake which was so good! Unfortunately, I was not feeling well over the weekend and she really treated me nicely providing all the things I needed to be as comfortable as I could be.

The house itself is gorgeous and clean. The breakfasts were AWESOME! I absolutely loved the eggs benedict on a croissant and the creme brulee french toast. We are vegetarian and she was always accommodating! Fruit was very fresh and the coffee was delicious. The dining room is nice in that every couple has their own table, so you can still have conversations as a group and privately. The room is very airy and a lot of natural light comes through which is nice for your morning meal.

In terms of the location, it is pretty far from river street - but we were able to walk there in 15-20 minutes or just take pedicabs back and forth. It is close to Forsyth Park which is nice. Parking can be difficult since there are only 2 spots in the back of the house, but we were able to find ample street parking even on a busy holiday weekend.

In general, this is a great B&B! I would definitely come back again!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Olde Savannah Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Olde Savannah Inn

Address: 217 E. Gaston Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Olde Savannah Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Olde Savannah Inn is a four bedroom exquisite privately owned refurbished Inn elegantly designed in 2006 in French Renaissance. This is a rare Inn with its extraordinary uniqueness and caters to the highest level of detail. Images are coming soon. This Inn is a must see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Olde Savannah Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Olde Savannah Hotel Savannah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Olde Savannah Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.