We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We like the displays” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Telfair Museums Jepson Center

Telfair Museums Jepson Center
207 W. York St., Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)
912 790 8800
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 100 Attractions in Savannah
Type: Art Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Devoted to the art of today, the contemporary Jepson Center links Telfair’s future with its past, unifying the museum’s three distinct sites.The building, designed by Moshe Safdie and opened to the public in 2006, features over 7,500 square feet of gallery space for major traveling exhibitions of contemporary art and installations of works from the permanent collection. Educational programming takes place in the 220-seat auditorium, community gallery, education studios, and ArtZeum—a unique, 3,500-square foot interactive gallery for children and families.
Pooler, Georgia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“We like the displays”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

it is interactive fun for the whole family, though the hands on is not the most sanitary. We liked taking the children when they were younger.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    36
    24
    14
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
savannah
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Don't miss Uffizzi Exhibit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This is a stellar showing of religious art. We have been to Florence, Italy to see them and there were so many on a wall that it is hard to view.

You will not be disappointed and make sure you get the audio for your tour. Plan on one and one half hour for just this exhibit.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Bummer”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Well, I don' t know what it would have been like had it been open to the public like it usually is, because it wasn't. I had looked at their website well in advance of my visit, and planned to visit the Uffizi exhibit. However, upon arriving, I was surprised to find that the gallery was closed for 2 1/2 days to accommodate a special event. I think that information could have been prominently displayed along with the museum hours. And I really have to say that while the starkly modern building design is attractive, it is out of place and detracts from such a strongly historic area. It reminded me of a rebellious teenager, and it's a shame Historic Savannah is stuck with it.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apopka, Florida
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Uffizi - Offering of the Angels”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

My wife and I visited the Jepson Center during a recent vacation to Savannah. The main reason for our visit was to see the Offering of the Angels art exhibit on loan from the Uffizi Gallery in Florence Italy.Upon arriving at the center, we were struck by its beautiful modern architecture located in the middle of the historic district.While a $20 package ticket was available for all of the Telfair museums, we opted for the $12 single center ticket. Audio guides were available for the Uffizi exhibit for an additional $3. The museum had a silent auction going on that weekend which provided the opportunity to see the work of numerous local artists. But the real draw was the Offering of Angels exhibit which contained a nice variety of work from several prominent painters of the Renaissance period. It was truly amazing to see world class art on display in such a lovely setting. If you have a chance to see this before 03/31/2013, you will be blessed.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, South Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Uffizi Gallery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I had forgotten how long i had been since I had viewed truly great art. The Jepson bldg it self is beautiful. If you are in the area before 3/31/2013, you must go see Offering of the Angels.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Telfair Museums Jepson Center also viewed

 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Telfair Museums Jepson Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Telfair Museums Jepson Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.