We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“delicious!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of B Matthews Eatery

B Matthews Eatery
325 E Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)
+1 912-233-1319
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 722 Restaurants in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $7 - $30
Cuisines: French, American, Bistro, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Habersham
Description: Serving hungry devotees since 2007, B. Matthew's is a locally loved hidden gem nestled in historic Savannah, GA. Home of one of the oldest standing taverns in the Southeast, this little eatery boasts impressive accolades, awards, & praise for their Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, & Brunch.
Orleans, France
2 reviews
“delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

great food! fabulous customer service. even had a waiter who looks like ed norton! ;) will have to try that again sometime!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    520
    275
    80
    23
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Good brunch option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We were hoping for a classic American diner brunch experience while in Savannah but were put off the idea of Clary's by locals who said the food didn't match the reputation or decor. This place was recommended as a tasty alternative.

A diner it is not but it is nicely set out in a fairly minimalist style and has a good choice of breaker/brunch dishes. I had the huevos rancheros and while they were not particularly Mexican, they were tasty and nicely served. The Bloody Mary was nicely balanced and reasonably priced.

Service was welcoming and friendly. A very decent breakfast choice.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, Illinois
Top Contributor
306 reviews 306 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Mayme wouldn't put her name on this!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Went here for breakfast on a weekday, so no problem being seated right away.

I had the mayme’s omelette, spinach, goat cheese and tomatoes, served with hash browns and fresh, seasonal fruit. This omelette bordered on disgusting. I have no idea how an omelette can be made so that the eggs are so cold that the cheese never gets soft and that the spinach and tomatoes are hard and crunchy. Not that I don't like raw spinach and tomatoes but the texture isn't right in an omelette and cold eggs are always bad! My husband had the shrimp and grits which he really enjoyed - the only reason that they get three stars at all.

Our service was fine. Friendly and pleasant, although the omelette choice was her recommendation.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Incredible Sunday brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

My wife and I ate here on the Sunday morning we were leaving and were not disappointed. You absolutely want a reservation if you don't want to wait long, because the lines get busy around 10am.
The food was incredible. Service was quick and friendly. The place was clean. I highly recommend this place and will definitely go again, next time we're in town.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Singing Praises”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

An echo to recent reviews. Original appetizer of prawns/pesto/olive oil was spectacular. NY strip steak was prepared to order which was a pleasure (love it rare). A finish of creme brûlée was not needed but was enjoyed. Very positive experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed B Matthews Eatery also viewed

Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to B Matthews Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B Matthews Eatery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.