We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good burgers and brunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of B Matthews Eatery

B Matthews Eatery
325 E Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)
+1 912-233-1319
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 774 Restaurants in Savannah
Price range: $7 - $30
Cuisines: American, French, Eclectic, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Habersham
Description: Serving hungry devotees since 2007, B. Matthew's is a locally loved hidden gem nestled in historic Savannah, GA. Home of one of the oldest standing taverns in the Southeast, this little eatery boasts impressive accolades, awards, & praise for their Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, & Brunch.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good burgers and brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

We ate here Sunday at 11. This is a casual bar with good hearty food. I had then grass feed beef burger. It was great.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    419
    228
    71
    23
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“excellent, fine casual food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

This restaurant caters more to the locals and is more refined than a normal pub.The menu features many items that sound so good it is hard to decide. So far, we have never been disappointed. My. Favorite sandwich is their Tur-duc-Ken burger whose flavors meld together to create a most memorable meal! Every item reeks of quality! And freshness! It is such an inviting environment with an interesting crowd. You certainly do not feel like a tourist here! Enjoy a wonderful beverage from their above average bar service!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“All I can say is "Shrimp and Grits", yum.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Great Location across the street from the riverfront and a beautiful park. The resturant is quaint, but holds alot of special surprises. The staff is eclectic, but warm. The shrimp and grits are to die for. They have a wide variety of wines and beer. There resturant sits right along a busy street during the day, but at night not that much traffic. It is walking distance from most of the hotels in the area.We ate there twice during our 5 day stay.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Decent breakfast place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We had breakfast here twice on our last trip, as it was included as in the rate at our bed & breakfast. Food was decent both days, but nothing amazing. Maymee's Omelette was the best of the items we tried. The fresh fruit served on the side was very tasty. The grits were not good- if you are a fan of 'real' southern grits then skip those. The service was very friendly and prompt. There was a huge line both days, so definitely make a reservation.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly Springs, North Carolina
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Our best meal in Savannah”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

The food was excellent, from the lump crab crostinis, to the cream of mushroom soup. My husband had the grilled scallops on risotto and I had Halibut on a bed of vegtables, both were cooked to perfection. I definitly recommend B Matthews.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed B Matthews Eatery also viewed

Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to B Matthews Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B Matthews Eatery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.