We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Melt in your mouth Flounder” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vic's On the River

Vic's On the River
15 E River St, 26 E Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)
+1 912-721-1000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Vic's On the River is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #30 of 772 Restaurants in Savannah
Price range: $25 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Drayton Street Ramp
Description: Vic’s is located in a beautiful old cotton warehouse overlooking the Savannah River and Historic River Street. With entrances on both Bay and River Streets, we are easy to access. Pets are welcomed on our outdoor patio, where guests can dine under centuries-old Live Oaks overlooking Historic Factors Walk. Along with our spectacular views, Vic’s menu reflects Savannah’s Southern charm with our sophisticated take on traditional Southern cuisine and our fresh, local seafood selections. The Staff at Vic's On The River invite you to come and experience our gracious and attentive service... where nothing is overlooked but the Savannah River. Enjoy live music in our lounge 7 nights a week, and Happy Hour at our Bar and on the Patio, Monday-Friday, 4-6pm
Greensboro, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Melt in your mouth Flounder”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

My husband and I found ourselves in Savannah, Ga. We love that old city..so much to see. We ate a restaurant right on the river called VIC'S. My husband had the fried flounder and I had fried oysters. While my oysters were GREAT, that flounder was by far the best I have ever had. Not your run of the mill fried flounder. It was fluffy and crunchy and golden brown. Big portions too. My oysters were very lightly dusted and fried golden brown. They serve these little homemade biscuits before your meal. OMG..they were delicious. Our server was super nice and chatty and very helpful. The decor was very comfortable and slightly up scale though we were in casual attire and everything was fine. Very nice place...highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,950 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,076
    542
    198
    86
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Houston,Tx
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great Food!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

This restaurant is on River Street. We loved this old building and the food was delicious. We were seated at a table by a window which was very nice. For our dinner we enjoyed a steak and pork chop with mashed potatoes. Service was excellent.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Stuck in the 90s!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

What a retro experience--in a bad way. For some reason Vic's has not updated or improved their atmosphere, service, menu, or food in a very long time. The ambiance was like stepping into the 1990s, the service was short and rushed like they were trying to make way for more tourists, I spotted a man dressed in track pants, the menu was entirely dated, and the only thing memorable about the food were the prices--way too high! Steer clear of Vic's!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“Excellent option for gluten free or people with Celiacs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

The ambiance of this place is great as well as the food and service. They were able to accommodate my Celiacs and the food I had there was delicious. They have a gluten free menu and the waiter was knowledgeable. I am very sensitive and did not get sick. I definitely recommend this place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very busy but the food is good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We arrived without reservations at around 7.30 p.m. on prom night, so didn't hold out much hope of getting a table but were told one would be available in about 35 minutes so we found seats at the bar, which was naturally very busy, had drinks and listened to the pianist/singer while we waited. We were called to our table outside after 40 minutes - so pretty accurate - and warned that rain was forecast but that there was no inside seating to transfer us to so if it started to rain we could go back to the bar (where of course our seats had been snapped up) or they would just have to box up our food to take away. It would have been better to tell us this before we had left seats at the bar, but in the end it did not rain until we were paying the bill so we were OK. The food service was prompt, but for both the main course and dessert the server repeated our order back to us correctly and then walked away saying something different. The first time I was able to catch him immediately but with the dessert I had to call him over when he reappeared and confirm what we had actually requested. When the food arrived it was excellent; the chef's mixed seafood grill was cooked to perfection and just delicious. We shared a nice New Zealand Sauvignan Blanc enjoying the warm evening and watching the prom groups coming and going - it made a good atmosphere for our first night in Savannah. The food was value for money and we would go back, but I think reservations would be a good idea!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vic's On the River also viewed

 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Vic's On the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vic's On the River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.