We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal I'v ever had” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vic's On the River

Vic's On the River
15 E River St, 26 E Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)
+1 912-721-1000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Vic's On the River is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #30 of 772 Restaurants in Savannah
Price range: $25 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Drayton Street Ramp
Description: Vic’s is located in a beautiful old cotton warehouse overlooking the Savannah River and Historic River Street. With entrances on both Bay and River Streets, we are easy to access. Pets are welcomed on our outdoor patio, where guests can dine under centuries-old Live Oaks overlooking Historic Factors Walk. Along with our spectacular views, Vic’s menu reflects Savannah’s Southern charm with our sophisticated take on traditional Southern cuisine and our fresh, local seafood selections. The Staff at Vic's On The River invite you to come and experience our gracious and attentive service... where nothing is overlooked but the Savannah River. Enjoy live music in our lounge 7 nights a week, and Happy Hour at our Bar and on the Patio, Monday-Friday, 4-6pm
Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Best meal I'v ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I am gluten free and Vics was very accommodating. I had french onion soup for the first time in years. I had the mixed grill special which was salmon, scallops, and shrimp. Biggest scallops I've ever seen and perfectly cooked. Not sure where I found the room but I enjoyed a pumpkin creme brulee as well. A must for your trip!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,950 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,076
    542
    198
    86
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Richmond Hill, Georgia, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place for Sunday Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We've been here before, but went for lunch on a cold Savannah Sunday. Despite some other posts, the prices for lunch seemed very reasonable. Food was nicely presented. The food and service were both good.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids MI
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Walking along East River St we were handed a flyer for this restaurant and decided to give it a try and we were not disappointed. We were immediately seated even though it was very busy at lunch time. Our waiter was on the spot immediately welcoming us and offering beverages. I ordered the Fresh Fish Tacos and my wife ordered the Crab Stuffed Shrimp. Both were delicious and would definitely order again. The menu is extensive and everyone should be able to find something to their pleasing. Instead of bread/rolls they provide home made right out of the oven biskets. Small bite size, and oh so good. Based on a peek at the dinner menu I am sure it would be a good choice for night time dining.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A fine restaurant not a tourist trap”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We would beg to differ with those who say that this is a tourist trap. To us Vic's is a first class restaurant that happens to be located in an area that attracts tourists. A good example of the old real estate adage of the importance of location, location, location. We happened upon this restaurent as we were half way through a self directed tour of Savannah and found ourselves listening on our iPad to the story of the Cotton Exchange and there, in the same row of historical buildings was Vic's.

As soon as we walked in we knew we has made the right decision. The restaurants design is totally befitting to the buildings history. The service staff were very welcoming and gave us professional service throughout our lunch which was excellent. My wife who is an self admitted foodie admits to using her visits to restaurants to hone her own skills as a dinner party hostess. On this occasion the lesson that she relearned was Vic's practice of chilling the plates on which salads are served. A small point to some but in its way just as important as using warmed plates on which to serve hot food.

The only downside was that we lingered far too long over our lunch and as a result didn't have time to complete our Tour. The upside is that this will be a good enough reason to return to Savannah and make a return visit to Vic's

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“As expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Good food, good service. We were there for lunch on a Friday. Only disappointment was that there are very few tables actually overlooking the river. As a tip, we met a lady on the street giving away 10% coupons. We already had a reservation but took the coupon anyway and they accepted it. Look for her on your way in.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vic's On the River also viewed

 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Vic's On the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vic's On the River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.