We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pearl's Saltwater Grille

Pearl's Saltwater Grille
7000 La Roche Ave, Savannah, GA 31406-4213
912-352-8221
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Pearl's Saltwater Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #109 of 774 Restaurants in Savannah
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Nottingham/Eisenhower
Description: Fresh Seafood and Choice Steaks ….enjoyed overlooking the Herb River Nestled in the heart of Sandfly lies one of the most closely guarded secrets when it comes to seafood restaurants. Pearl's Saltwater Grille has been a local favorite for more than twenty years. Chef Troy Rochford's menu is a Seafood Lover's Paradise. From Parmesan Crusted Grouper to Crab Stuffed Flounder to Jumbo Grilled Caribbean Shrimp there is something for everyone at Pearl's Saltwater Grille. Landlovers may select from choice steaks, chicken or pasta specialties. Enjoy the Spectacular view of the Georgia coastline and the wild life that inhabits the marshlands while you dine.
Georgia
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Top notch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Maybe I'm nostalgic. Would eat here when I was a resident in Savannah in the late 80's. So visiting family, its a tradition to come here. Place looks great. Rustic. Wood. Great view of the water. Those Pearl's hush puppies are the BEST.
My mother in law and son got the three course dinner. What a bargain. You get a glass of wine (not my son!), an entree such as crab au gratin, she crab soup or salad, and a huge dessert. They got peach cobbler. I ate the large shrimp salad. My wife got the Tilapia.
The manager personally came over to make sure my salad was OK since I made a few substitutions. Now that's service. He said residents from Memorial still have dinner meetings there!
The place is out of the way, and will fill up fast so use Open Table to get your reservations and get there by 6:30PM if you want that three course special.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    70
    24
    11
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thorold, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A Great Return To Pearls after 13 Years”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Wanted to return to Pearl's from Canada after a 13 year hiatus. It didn't disappoint, in fact I think it has improved in the interim. A wonderful view over the backwater, great service and again outstanding seafood. Hope it isn't 13 years before we get back there. Particularly like the out of the way location that is really easy to find.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Of-the-Beaten Path but Worth the Effort to Go There”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My wife and I enjoy going to locally owned and operated (aka "mom and pop") restaurants when we're at home and so we figured we'd try a restaurant favored by locals on our recent vacation to Savannah. Pearls Saltwater Grill met our high expectations. Our appetizer (fried-green tomatoes and Cajun-spiced shrimp) and our two meals (crab-stuffed lobster tails and pecan crusted rainbow trout) were well-prepared and the service was excellent. We found the wine selections to be decent and were pleasantly surprised by how good our bottle of New Zealand chardonnay was. Although the atmosphere inside the restaurant was not what I'd consider romantic, the restaurant sits on the bank of the Savannah river and offers a lovely view.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent Seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Pearls is one of our favorite Savannah seafood restaurants. We have been coming here for many years and seen it go through several expansions and renovations. Clean facility and friendly staff. Located on the water, so ask for window table if available. The fried shrimp and grilled Talapia are some of the best around. Excellent hush puppies with honey butter.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Collingswood, NJ
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Unexpected Treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We were introduced to Pearl's by some local folks we know.
The meal was quite good as was the service. Those hush puppies are addictive.
The she-crab soup was 'OK, but the broiled grouper entree was excellent. I did everything but eat the plate. A very fine meal. The restaurant is a distance from the downtown area, but well worth the drive.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pearl's Saltwater Grille also viewed

Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Pearl's Saltwater Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pearl's Saltwater Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.