We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Staybridge Suites Savannah Historic District

Save Saved
You added Staybridge Suites Savannah Historic District to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Savannah Historic District
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   301 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Weekend Rate!
Ranked #35 of 111 Hotels in Savannah
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Good Value Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I stopped here overnight recently with my family. I booked it based on previous Trip Advisor reviews and was not disappointed. The place is in an excellent location with a short walk to the riverside and other popular sights in the city. The staff at reception were helpful regarding tours etc and the breakfast provided was adequate. The rooms were clean, neat, and well appointed. Staff were exceptionally friendly and went out of their way to assist us. The hotel has free wifi for guests and has parking available for $12 per day behind the hotel ,there is no free offstreet parking near the hotel. The hotel appeared to be dog friendly as I saw several owners in the lobby with their pets. Overall I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    201
    71
    25
    27
See reviews for
151
232
21
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
on the road
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Very convenient tourist location. Didn't like the $12.00 a day parking charge. I'm sure there's a way around it, but none was offered, even when asked. Breakfast was full, but staff was terse. Concierge was great, and very helpful. Checkin was smooth and desk staff friendly. Housekeeping threw toiletries on the counter and barely made the bed. Towels were piled, not hung. Lobby was a nice place to settle by the fire after a chilly stroll. If you need a large bathroom, don't stay here. For a tourist pied-à-terre, this place is good. For a long term stay, I'd go elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mineral City, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I had a wonderful time here, the staff was more than helpful. The breakfast was good and hot and changed daily. The happy hour food was fresh and hot the wine was not bad. Staff were friendly and went over board to accommadate, I would deffinatally stay again if in the area.Haveing the dish washer in the room was nice,so i always had a clean glass

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Great location! We were visiting over Saint Patrick's day and we could watch the parade from our room. The hotel is located in the middle of all the festivities. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Gina took great care of us! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, ON
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This is a great place to stay while in Savannah. Good value, comfort and convenient. Close to everything and good way to keep costs down while in an otherwise expensive place. We were passing through so only stayed a couple of nights but saw many families with groceries so keeping costs down was possible if you ate in for a meal here and there. Breakfast was included but was not great and manager should consider this. Great feature was that it was pet friendly!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We've stayed in a lot of hotels and b'nbs around the world, and found the Staybridge perhaps the most enjoyable of all. The price is right; the location is excellent; the staff is super-friendly, helpful, and attentive; the beds are very comfortable; breakfasts are plentiful and varied day to day; the Tu-Th Sundowner gathering (a.k.a. happy hour) provides good food, sodas, and draft beer. Will have to say that the red and white wines they offer are pretty yucky....but that's the only thing we found not to like at the Staybridge. The windows are so well sound-insulated that one hears almost none of the noise generated by the dense River Street traffic. It's pet-friendly, on the first floor only, so it doesn't create any problems for the rest of us. We'll definitely stay there in the future.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms in the new section look out into an inner courtyard. If you want to see the weath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balsam, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Our visit to this property was during St. Patrick's Day and this location was amazing for the weekend's festivities; we were right in the middle of everything. The hotel seemed very clean, their breakfast was good, and the lobby is gorgeous. They are one of the few area hotels that allow dogs and they were very nice and welcoming to our furry kids.

However, there were downsides to our visit. The beds were lumpy. My shower was always cold. The A/C in the room didn't work properly and we were either freezing or burning up. Then there were these random rules for the holiday. The hotel required us to register everyone in the room, gave us all wristbands, and told us that our friends from the area would only be given access to the hotel if they were with us. This seemed completely acceptable and actually very comforting considering the amount of people in downtown for the holiday. But the next day they changed the rule and told us that they could not come into the building to visit us at all. When we questioned the change in policy the hotel manager was very condescending and rude. She could offer no explanation for the sudden change in policy or the misinformation. All in all I was a little disappointed with our interactions there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Staybridge Suites Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear D6547,

Thank you for leaving a comprehensive review, highlighting not only the bad but also the good. We are so pleased you liked the fine location of our hotel and the cleanliness of our property. Please allow us to apologize for the issues you had with your room accommodations and any inconvenience with the new policy may have caused you. We also apologize for the service you encountered that did not live up to your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Staybridge Suites Savannah Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Savannah Historic District

Address: 301 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#28 Family Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites Savannah Historic District 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get Comfortable @ the Staybridge Suites Hotel Savannah Historic District. The Staybridge Suites Hotel Savannah Historic District is located @ Bay and Lincoln Streets in the Heart of the Savannah Historic District , two blocks from the Holiday Inn Mulberry and one block from the Holiday Inn Express Savannah Historic District. Just steps from our hotel you can explore famous River Street, Factor s Walk, Old Savannah Tours or indulge in the shops and restaurants of City Market River Street. Make your reservations early, but don t miss Paula Deen 's famous Lady & Sons Restaurant. Our location offers near proximity to I-95, the Savannah Hilton Head Int l Airport (SAV), the Savannah Port Authority, Savannah College of Art & Design (SCAD), Tybee Island beaches & numerous corporations including JCB, Gulfstream, Flight Safety, and Memorial Health.The Staybridge Suites offers suites with all of the conveniences of home to suit your extended stay or short term hotel real estate needs. Our pet friendly hotel (fee) offers suites featuring fully-equipped kitchens, Cable TV w/HBO, free wired & wireless Internet and direct dial phone number w/ personalized voicemail. Other features include 24 hour business center with free Internet, print/fax/copy capabilities, free laundry facilities, fitness center, free deluxe breakfast buffet & evening Sundowner receptions (Tuesday-Thursday). Staybridge Suites is a member of the IHG family of brands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Staybridge Suites Savannah Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Savannah Historic District Hotel Savannah
Savannah Staybridge Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Staybridge Suites Savannah Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.