We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Staybridge Suites Savannah Historic District

Save Saved
You added Staybridge Suites Savannah Historic District to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Savannah Historic District
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   301 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #34 of 112 hotels in Savannah
Atlanta
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What a great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

The hotel is in a great location!!! Located Down on the East end of the historic district and Bay Street. Walking distance to everything. Hotel has a beautiful lobby that serves as the dining area for the exceptional breakfast. We loved it & plan to return.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    254
    195
    70
    25
    25
See reviews for
144
224
21
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We visited Savannah to celebrate my daughter's birthday. We stayed there because they advertised as accepting pets. We were on our way back to South Florida, but travelling with parrots and (2) family dogs. Their entire pet policy is so pet-friendly, it was amazing! They actually interacted with the pets that crossed their paths. Complete with doggie treats at the lobby desk. There is a one time $75.00 non-refundable fee and all parties with pets are maintained on the first floor. Every single staff member we encountered was so sincerely friendly and personable, especially "Shanna" who worked the evening shift. The rooms are very clean, well-kept, in good repair, with fully equipped kitchenettes. (We stayed in a king suite.) The bed was super comfortable with nice new linens. The lobby area was well decorated, clean. The hot complimentary breakfasts were a nice treat, better than the usual breakfasts at other places. There is a parking fee per night and only one car per room can be accomodated. One other benefit is that the hotel is right across from River Street and a pretty city park were much of the action is, making it great for walking to most of your destinations. We look forward to returning to the Savannah historic district to see more of this really cool area. My sincerest thanks to the staff of the Staybridge Suites of Savannah's historic district.

Room Tip: All rooms are indoor entry in the formation of two rectangles - an outer rectangle where windows ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here while making our way back to Nc. We have always wanted to see Savannah, Ga. This hotel is in a PERFECT location in the historic downtown. Hotel was clean, rooms clean, very convenient kitchenette, breakfast was good, Staff was extremely nice an helpful which is very important. My only complaint was that we had a room that was on the street side and at 5 am when everyone was starting to get on the road for work the traffic noise was very loud. We took the Old Savannah trolly tour and that was awesome, our tour guide Stu was very informative. Overall for the money and quality this will be somewhere we stay at again. O and they allow pets!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betsy P, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Good Afternoon and Thank you for choosing to stay with us while in Savannah. If you can contact us we would be happy to add your room request to your profile. Or you can simply request a room on the rear of the building on your next stay with us. And yes we are a Pet Friendly hotel which makes it very nice for our guest who choose to travel with thier pets.
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review on us and hope to see you soon.
Sincerely, Betsy P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Location: Chose this property for a one-night stay based on the curb appeal and fantastic historic downtown Savannah location. You truly can't beat being right across the street from the riverfront and a short stroll away from all of the shopping, dining, and sightseeing Savannah has to offer. The addition of a concierge in the lobby to help with tour tickets and sightseeing suggestions is also a nice touch.

Parking: The parking is quite ridiculous. When the small lots in back of the hotel are full, you must park on the top-level designated spaces in an adjacent parking deck which has no elevator. Hauling multiple bags down two flights of stairs and lugging them a half a block to the hotel is not convenient; I would have gladly paid a valet/parking fee as offered by other hotels in the area.

Rooms: the rooms are older but seemed quite clean. The only room left was handicapped accessible so the shower was a bit awkward. The sink was pedestal-style, which lacked counter space, making getting ready in the morning a bit difficult. Rooms have a fridge, dishwasher, and small cooktop which would be convenient for extended stays. Beds were somewhat comfortable; I would like to see this brand go to the daily-laundered duvets that many chains are now using, as the old comforters of questionable cleanliness are becoming a thing of the past.

Staff, facility and breakfast: I have to say that the gentleman working the breakfast area was working is tail off and was super-friendly; however, a busy Sunday morning is more than one person can handle. All the tables were dirty and the breakfast buffet area was depleted and messy. Overall, didn't enjoy breakfast at all. As for check-in, the front desk worker on the evening of December 29th was not the least bit friendly. Short and borderline rude, she offered no substantial answers to simple questions, nor did she engage in eye contact or even a simple smile. Additionally, be prepared for super-slow elevators and go ahead and buy bottled water elsewhere unless you agree that $3 for a Dasani is a reasonable price.

Overall: I wish we would have taken a $139 rate at the Hilton several blocks away in a less central location rather than the $200+/night rate for a property that has location as its only desirable attribute.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betsy P, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for your most recent review. Your feedback is welcomed and appreciated it gives us an opportunity to improve in areas we may have lacked during your most recent stay. We gain valuable information from you which will help us better serve you and others in the future.

Please know that all your comments have been reviewed with the mangement team and staff and that we will use comments like these for training purposes to improve our guest expereience. SIncerely, Betsy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Had only one night to spend in Savannah. Chose this location as the price was affordable and it was close to the river. We had a studio suite and it was perfect for two people. The hotel was clean and comfortable with free breakfast. Nice lobby area with gas fireplace. Withing walking distance of the whole historic district. River front is right across the street. Plenty of parking behind the hotel for $12 per day. Hotel conceirge helped us get a reservation for the trolley tour which was the best ways to get a quick tour of the dowtown historic distric in 90 minutes. Had dinner at Vics across the street and it was very good. Make sure you have a drink at rocks on the river in the bohemian hotel. It is right down the street and the view from the roof is excellent.

Room Tip: Top floor was good. Ask for a room with an exterior window. They have some interior rooms with no v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betsy P, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Staybridge Suites Savannah Historic DIstrict for your most recent stay while in Savannah. We appreciate you and your review of our hotel. We look forward to having you as a guest with us on your next visit to Savannah. Warm Regards, Betsy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

This is a very central location and all the tours we went on were able to pick us up at our hotels which was very convenient. The one and only downside was the noise at night from trucks barreling down Bay street. I would recommend asking for a room as far away from the street as possible.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back of the building away from bay street. This is a loud street at night as t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betsy P, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of our Hotel and we appreciate your feedback. We look forward to having you with us again on your next visit to Savannah. It would be our pleasure to add your request for a room on the other side of the building to your Priority Club profile so when you choose to stay with us on your next visit to Savannah that information will be on your account and taken care of. If you would be so kind as to call my front office manager with your Priority Rewards number we would be happy to add that to your profile. If we can do anything in the future to accommodate you please feel free to let us know.
Sincerely, Betsy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed one night. The hotel is very convenient in the heart of Savannah. Walking distance to downtown shops and restaurants and right across the street from the Riverwalk. The social hour had wings, hot dogs, beer, and wine. The breakfast was even better. Staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. My only complaint was that the mattress was so soft, I kept rolling toward the middle of the bed. Did not have a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betsy P, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay. If you could possibly call me so we could check the mattress' in the room you stayed. This may help us identify a possible problem with our bedding. Our engineering department would be able to check this out and possibly contact our vendor if need be. SIncerely, Betsy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Staybridge Suites Savannah Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Savannah Historic District

Address: 301 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#29 Family Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites Savannah Historic District 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get Comfortable @ the Staybridge Suites Hotel Savannah Historic District. The Staybridge Suites Hotel Savannah Historic District is located @ Bay and Lincoln Streets in the Heart of the Savannah Historic District , two blocks from the Holiday Inn Mulberry and one block from the Holiday Inn Express Savannah Historic District. Just steps from our hotel you can explore famous River Street, Factor s Walk, Old Savannah Tours or indulge in the shops and restaurants of City Market River Street. Make your reservations early, but don t miss Paula Deen 's famous Lady & Sons Restaurant. Our location offers near proximity to I-95, the Savannah Hilton Head Int l Airport (SAV), the Savannah Port Authority, Savannah College of Art & Design (SCAD), Tybee Island beaches & numerous corporations including JCB, Gulfstream, Flight Safety, and Memorial Health.The Staybridge Suites offers suites with all of the conveniences of home to suit your extended stay or short term hotel real estate needs. Our pet friendly hotel (fee) offers suites featuring fully-equipped kitchens, Cable TV w/HBO, free wired & wireless Internet and direct dial phone number w/ personalized voicemail. Other features include 24 hour business center with free Internet, print/fax/copy capabilities, free laundry facilities, fitness center, free deluxe breakfast buffet & evening Sundowner receptions (Tuesday-Thursday). Staybridge Suites is a member of the IHG family of brands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Staybridge Suites Savannah Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Savannah Historic District Hotel Savannah
Savannah Staybridge Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Staybridge Suites Savannah Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.