We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, Perfect Location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   603 West Oglethorpe Avenue, Cross street: Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd, Savannah, GA 31401   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Getaway Savings
Ranked #23 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence 2014
SC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, Perfect Location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

We stayed at this hotel during St Patrick's Day weekend, which was a very busy weekend in Savannah! I must say that it was very well organized,considering the amount of people in town for that time. There was a gentleman named William and another young lady at the front desk when we checked in and they were extremely helpful and welcoming! They gave us wristbands at the time of check-in, which I have never experienced before, but they explained that it was to keep people that were not guest out of the hotel. I like that bc as a woman travelling, at times I do feel concerned about safety. The location was spot on, it was literally a 10 minute walk from River Street which was perfect! The hotel was extremely clean and just beautiful all around. I enjoyed my stay and would def stay again! The only concern I did have was the parking, which was $15 a day, but at least I know that my car is somewhat safe and the fact that just anybody could not come in, was somewhat comforting. (You have to have a room key to access the parking garage, so to me that somewhat guarantees I have a parking spot lol )..Plus it is somewhat expected when staying downtown, but I do feel at the price point these rooms are set at, they could include parking as an extra bonus :-)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    260
    82
    37
    9
See reviews for
228
250
25
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

lovely hotel in a great location but parking is very expensive. I don't think I would stay here again as I scouted around and found several nice hotels in the area that did not charge for parking. At $15 a night, that added an additional $30 to my bill just for a place to leave my car. Most hotels I stay at do not charge for this.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Our daughter was recently accepted at SCAD and we wanted to stay at a hotel that was close to her dorms and some of the SCAD buildings. After doing some research we found this would be a good location. Once we arrived we found that it was not only close to our daughters dorm but also close to the museum and book store. It also was in a great location to walk to the downtown district and parks. The staff was very nice and helpful. They had coffee and drinks throughout the day and always had a staff member to greet you. We also enjoyed the complimentary breakfast in the morning. The staff kept the breakfast and coffee fresh and warm. The only negatives we can think of was the parking. It fills up fast. Don't try to park on the side area or else the garbage truck will take your vehicle out. They do offer "valet" but it didn't seem too effective the time we used it. You can find parking in the new parking garage but it is a bit of a walk. Other than that we have been very pleased with the past couple visits and will continue to stay there during our daughters college career.

Room Tip: The elevators are a little slower so maybe book a lower floor room and if you want to sleep in put o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Good-sized room, warm and helpful staff, nice little outdoor pool, walking distance to historic sites and shopping, fine complimentary Hampton Inn breakfast, all in all a terrific hotel. Easy access to highways for getting into and out of the city.

Room Tip: 3rd or 4th floor, to ensure no noise from busy streets below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Hotel is right off the bridge coming into Savannah. Walking distance from River Walk , City Market , Lady and Sons (Paula Deen), visitors center and tour bus area. Room was good size, nice shower , great mattress and pillows, decent breakfast, pleasant staff. The guy I thought was a concierge turned out to be salesman for Old Savannah Tours but he did get us reservation at Lady and Sons. Had read previous comments re parking, but did not find it to be a big problem.The hotel lot was full and we were directed to the Embassy Suites garage , 2nd floor. Our room key got us in and out. It was not far to walk. Our room was quiet but not much of a view.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We were in Savannah for a long weekend to attend a friends wedding. This hotel had a block of rooms available at a discounted price as hotels will on such occasions. Couldn't have been happier with the service the friendly staff provided. The complimentary breakfast (which, in my opinion the rate demands) offered many options and was high quality. Location is very good with most of what Savannah has to offer (outside of it's obvious charm) within a 5-20 minute walk. I would recommend this hotel to anyone planning to stay in this friendly, enchanting city.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, MA, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Great experience at this hotel for 4 high school girlfriends gathering for mini-reunion. Clean rooms, good breakfast options, great location - easy walking distance around historic Savannah. Hotel staff very responsive and helpful for questions or extra services we needed. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District

Address: 603 West Oglethorpe Avenue, Cross street: Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Savannah
#19 Business Hotel in Savannah
#21 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites hotel in Savannah Historic District is near Savannah's famous River Street, City Market, SCAD, and more. Rest easy in the comfort of your room and wake up to a hot free breakfast each day before exploring historic Savannah. On a hot day, choose to take a swim in our outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, EasyToBook, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District Hotel Savannah
Hampton Inn And Suites Savannah Historic District
Hampton Inn Savannah
Savannah Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.