We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not in Historic District” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   603 West Oglethorpe Avenue, Cross street: Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd, Savannah, GA 31401   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Get up to 10% off!
Ranked #31 of 111 Hotels in Savannah
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Not in Historic District”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This Hampton Inn & Suites is within walking distance of the Historic District, but to get to the Historic District, you must cross a major road and walk a few blocks. At breakfast, hotel employees walked through the dining room pushing trolleys loaded with frozen microwaveable food. (I understand that at the other Hampton Inn and Suites in the Historic District - the one near the river - there is a fresh food buffet.) The room was fine, if small. The staff at the check-in desk were joking around about thefts in the parking lot when I came to check in. The swimming pool was good. If you are expecting a charming Hampton Inn & Suites in a historic location, this isn't the one.

Room Tip: Book the Hampton Inn & Suites on East Bay Street instead - that's the one you really want!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    213
    73
    29
    6
See reviews for
203
198
24
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hephzibah, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Hampton Inn and Suites in Savannah, GA was awesome! The room is cozy and the bed and bathroom is to die for. The breakfast had a lot to offer. The staff is friendly, helpful and very thoughtful! I highly recommend this hotel to my family and friends.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriden, Connecticut
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I arrived a little early, but was able to check into my room right away. The front desk staff was very friendly, and offered assistance with directions, places to eat, and visit. I had a room on the 5th floor, with a view of a new hotel being constructed only feet away. It's a shame that this hotel has lost any kind of "view" it had on this side of the hotel. The room was clean and comfortable. It had a small fridge and microwave. Breakfast is included. They offer hot and cold choices, as well as fruit and yogurt. The hotel ws very busy, and the attendant did a very good job refilling the food and keeping the area clean.
The pool is outside. It's a nice little area to sit and relax, or cool off from the hot Savannah sun. The towels were found in the exercise room, off of the pool area. They were VERY small and thin. There was no place in the pool area to put them when you were finished using them, unless you went back into the exercise room and put them in the bins in there. Which meant, most people just left them on the chairs, so when you walk in, your not sure if someone was still using the chair or if they had left.
There were not a lot of parking spaces, once they are filled, the hotel has an open lot across the street that you can park in.
The location is great. Near the freshman SCAD dorms, Civic Center, City Market, and within walking distance to Forsyth Park. It is a good choice when visiting beautiful Savannah.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apollo Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

When my husband and I are on a road trip we usually stay in Hampton Inns. This hotel is in a good location very close to the Visitors Center making it easy to take the various tours of the city. Our room was clean and comfortable. As always the breakfast was un exciting with not many choices. There is another Hampton Inn on East Bay Street which very close to the river and many of the parks of the city and also market city is within walking distance. Both are a good choice.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on our way to Disney because my hubby loves the Crab Shack on Tybee Island. We paid a few extra dollars for the bigger room and it was totally worth it! A great value! We arrived at 2:30 and our room wasn't immediately available, but the mgr at check in found us one by the time my girls finished their potty break! We enjoyed the breakfast and will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I'm very pleased with this hotel. I've stayed here at least a dozen times and always find the staff to be very friendly and accommodating... and the free breakfast can't be beat! I also appreciate the low cost for parking (only $5) and the convenience to the historic area, Civic Center, visitor center and trolley tours. And if your son or daughter attends SCAD, the location is a very short walk to the freshman dorms.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The hotel staff is very friendly and accommodating which is refreshing. Our room was exceptionally clean, the cookies at 4 p.m. were delicious, and the breakfast was nice, especially the fruit!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District

Address: 603 West Oglethorpe Avenue, Cross street: Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Savannah
#26 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#30 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites hotel in Savannah Historic District is near Savannah's famous River Street, City Market, SCAD, and more. Rest easy in the comfort of your room and wake up to a hot free breakfast each day before exploring historic Savannah. On a hot day, choose to take a swim in our outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District Hotel Savannah
Hampton Inn And Suites Savannah Historic District
Hampton Inn Savannah
Savannah Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.