We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Parking Nightmare and Lots of Noise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   603 West Oglethorpe Avenue, Cross street: Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd, Savannah, GA 31401   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Get up to 10% off!
Ranked #24 of 112 hotels in Savannah
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Parking Nightmare and Lots of Noise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Located away from the riverfront this hotel was still only a short walk away. Unfortunately the hotel was hosting a girl scout group that meant there was lots of people and lots of noise at all hours. The parking situation was an issue as there was only space for a fraction of the guests to park. Others had to park in a lot that did not feel secure down the street. As it turned out our car was okay but it did create some tension. The rooms were very clean and the bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    271
    201
    68
    24
    6
See reviews for
188
190
24
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clay, Alabama, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Satisified with every aspect of our stay at the hotel: clean and spacious room, location within walking distance to Savannah's historcial sites and very helpful staff. The staff was so helpful in making recommendatons as to what to see in Savannah. We would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I stayed here with my three girlfriends for a weekend trip. We were very satisfied with the hotel and the price. The hotel is your basic chain hotel so don't expect anything fancy. However it was clean and the staff was friendly. The hotel is in a great location and in walking distance to everything, but put on your walking shoes (although I'm from Florida and wore sandals everywhere). You get FREE hot breakfast every morning and although it's not awesome, it gets the job done...It's quick service, buffet food-people shouldn't complain and kind of expect that that's what you're getting.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Everyone was very helpful especially Juliet at the desk. The room was nice and very clean. Everything was great except, I have to say, the breakfast. If you like a cold breakfast then you are fine, but the eggs were not so good, but that was the only thing about this place that I wasn't pleased with. Otherwise I recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The hotel is in a good location in downtown Savannah. As a Hampton, it is a budget hotel, but it doesn't always go for a budget rate. Your happiness will depend on the rate you pay. There is very limited onsite parking and most nights you will have to park in the lot across the street. Parking is only $5 however. The front desk attendants were nice and the lobby has character. The maids seemed to do a fine job. There is an exercise area with about 6 pieces of equipment, but everything was in good order. The downside to this hotel is the room furnishings. They are fairly cheap, especially the mattress which is soft and lumpy and the chair that is uniquely painful to sit in. The window air unit is quite noisy as well. In short, you get what you pay for, but don’t pay too much.

Room Tip: I prefer the odd numbers on higher floors. The evens are along a somewhat busy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

This Hampton is VERY conveniently located for visitors to Savannah or parents of SCAD students. It's fine: clean, friendly, and well-managed. But be sure to avoid the rooms that are on the Oglethorpe Ave side, especially on the lower floors (e.g. even-numbered rooms starting with "1"). We were in one of these the 1st floor rooms and sleeping (trying to) 25 feet from trucks, motorcycles, etc. on this major truck route. Since we were staying only briefly we didn't try to change rooms - I'm sure they would've accomodated us if they could.
Parking, and this is very typical of downtown Savannah, you may be parking in one of the overflow lots that feel a little sketchy at night. Again, we had no problems, but just be prepared.

Stayed April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Stayed here while visiting our daughter who attends SCAD. We really enjoyed our stay here. It was convenient to everything we wanted to do in Savannah. We could walk over to our daughter's dormitory, to restaurants, to shopping, and just around the beautiful historic district. The room was spacious and extremely comfortable. There is not much parking right in the lot next to the hotel, but they have space in a lot across the street, which was easy enough. The car was safe and secure. They serve a large breakfast buffet each morning, which was adequate. It gets VERY crowded in the breakfast room. Make sure you go visit the Juliette Gordon Lowe House if you want to see one of the historic mansions. This is the birthplace of Girl Scouts, and the tour is well worth it. Ask for Fiona. She is the best tour guide.

Room Tip: The rooms as quite soundproof. One on a higher floor will be a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District

Address: 603 West Oglethorpe Avenue, Cross street: Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Savannah
#20 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#26 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites hotel in Savannah Historic District is near Savannah's famous River Street, City Market, SCAD, and more. Rest easy in the comfort of your room and wake up to a hot free breakfast each day before exploring historic Savannah. On a hot day, choose to take a swim in our outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District Hotel Savannah
Hampton Inn And Suites Savannah Historic District
Hampton Inn Savannah
Savannah Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.