We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“free breakfast, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   603 West Oglethorpe Avenue, Cross street: Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd, Savannah, GA 31401   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Getaway Savings
Ranked #26 of 114 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“free breakfast, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I stayed here with my three girlfriends for a weekend trip. We were very satisfied with the hotel and the price. The hotel is your basic chain hotel so don't expect anything fancy. However it was clean and the staff was friendly. The hotel is in a great location and in walking distance to everything, but put on your walking shoes (although I'm from Florida and wore sandals everywhere). You get FREE hot breakfast every morning and although it's not awesome, it gets the job done...It's quick service, buffet food-people shouldn't complain and kind of expect that that's what you're getting.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    273
    85
    40
    9
See reviews for
236
259
27
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Everyone was very helpful especially Juliet at the desk. The room was nice and very clean. Everything was great except, I have to say, the breakfast. If you like a cold breakfast then you are fine, but the eggs were not so good, but that was the only thing about this place that I wasn't pleased with. Otherwise I recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The hotel is in a good location in downtown Savannah. As a Hampton, it is a budget hotel, but it doesn't always go for a budget rate. Your happiness will depend on the rate you pay. There is very limited onsite parking and most nights you will have to park in the lot across the street. Parking is only $5 however. The front desk attendants were nice and the lobby has character. The maids seemed to do a fine job. There is an exercise area with about 6 pieces of equipment, but everything was in good order. The downside to this hotel is the room furnishings. They are fairly cheap, especially the mattress which is soft and lumpy and the chair that is uniquely painful to sit in. The window air unit is quite noisy as well. In short, you get what you pay for, but don’t pay too much.

Room Tip: I prefer the odd numbers on higher floors. The evens are along a somewhat busy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

This Hampton is VERY conveniently located for visitors to Savannah or parents of SCAD students. It's fine: clean, friendly, and well-managed. But be sure to avoid the rooms that are on the Oglethorpe Ave side, especially on the lower floors (e.g. even-numbered rooms starting with "1"). We were in one of these the 1st floor rooms and sleeping (trying to) 25 feet from trucks, motorcycles, etc. on this major truck route. Since we were staying only briefly we didn't try to change rooms - I'm sure they would've accomodated us if they could.
Parking, and this is very typical of downtown Savannah, you may be parking in one of the overflow lots that feel a little sketchy at night. Again, we had no problems, but just be prepared.

Stayed April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa
Level Contributor
142 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Stayed here while visiting our daughter who attends SCAD. We really enjoyed our stay here. It was convenient to everything we wanted to do in Savannah. We could walk over to our daughter's dormitory, to restaurants, to shopping, and just around the beautiful historic district. The room was spacious and extremely comfortable. There is not much parking right in the lot next to the hotel, but they have space in a lot across the street, which was easy enough. The car was safe and secure. They serve a large breakfast buffet each morning, which was adequate. It gets VERY crowded in the breakfast room. Make sure you go visit the Juliette Gordon Lowe House if you want to see one of the historic mansions. This is the birthplace of Girl Scouts, and the tour is well worth it. Ask for Fiona. She is the best tour guide.

Room Tip: The rooms as quite soundproof. One on a higher floor will be a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed in this hotel on April 8 & 9, 2013. The staff was very friendly. We enjoyed our stay and would stay here again. The gentleman that checked us in was a pleasure. The only problem we had was the frig was loud. We would suggest putting at least one comfortable chair in the room.

Room Tip: The king is a great choir
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We had an absolutely wonderful stay at your hotel and would definitely stay there again. It was just me and my daughter having a nice trip to Savannah--we felt safe and well taken care of. We slept like babies after a day of sightseeing. Perfect!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAVHIS, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments regarding our wonderful property that we are so proud of! We couldnt be happier that you enjoyed your stay in the beautiful historic city of the south! We hope that you will come back and see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District

Address: 603 West Oglethorpe Avenue, Cross street: Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Savannah
#16 Business Hotel in Savannah
#23 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites hotel in Savannah Historic District is near Savannah's famous River Street, City Market, SCAD, and more. Rest easy in the comfort of your room and wake up to a hot free breakfast each day before exploring historic Savannah. On a hot day, choose to take a swim in our outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District Hotel Savannah
Hampton Inn And Suites Savannah Historic District
Hampton Inn Savannah
Savannah Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.