We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Smell of laundry” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   603 West Oglethorpe Avenue, Cross street: Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd, Savannah, GA 31401   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Get up to 10% off!
Ranked #30 of 112 hotels in Savannah
Dania Beach, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good Smell of laundry”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stopped for a night in Savannah, Walking in caught us with fresh smell of laundry, It is all over the place, the rooms, path ways ... The room was great, very clean, really comfortable, great breakfast, very nice staff, the place was decorated and welcoming. We were advised to walk down the street and find Huey on river walk, which turned out to be super nice with excellent food, if u don't mind waiting 45 for a table (waiting area is entertaining). We took the elevator up stairs, and back to the streets. Savannah down town is beautiful, great vibe.
About the distance from the hotel... welll... we enjoyed the walk, but coming back late felt .. a bit dark. If u can take this hotel and just move it a bit ... towards the river... It would be perfect.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela31328, Sales Coordinator at Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Orit B,

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stayed with us. We strive to keep our hotel the freshest and the cleanest, so we are glad that you noticed! We hope to see you again in 2013 and wish you all the best in the coming year. See you soon! :)

Sincerely,

Your friends at the Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    276
    208
    71
    29
    6
See reviews for
200
194
24
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Great hotel with a gorgeous welcoming lobby. Rooms are nice and very clean. It was very quiet as well. Good area for walking the historic district too. The only downfall is the breakfast area dose not have seating for as large as the hotel is. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela31328, Sales Coordinator at Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing us as your accomodation hotel while staying in Historic Savannah! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again in the near future!

Happy New Year,

Your friends at the Hampton Inn & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australian
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed for two nights on our way from Florida to South Carolina. This was very nice place with friendly staff. The free breakfast was great,

We were travelling with our teenage daughters so we paid for the larger queen size room which was only $10 per night more expensive on the internet. When we go there they only charged us the high rate for one night and $20 less for the second night. The only word of warning is the rate shown on the internet does not include the taxes which worked out at about $10 per night. The parking was $5 per night which was reasonable.

The larger room was great with plenty of room, a table as well as a work desk and a sofa bed. The room was very clean and quiet. The queen beds were good, but the sofa bed was a bit uncomfortable. The location is the historic district was great.

Room Tip: Watch for the extra taxes and state fees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela31328, Sales Coordinator at Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Greetings,

We are so glad that your family decided to stay with us on your way back home to South Carolina! I do apologize for the tax inconvienence. Our full, hot breakfast proves to be a guest favorite and we are glad that you enjoyed it! Savannah is great city for families and we hope to see yours again soon. We wish you only the best in 2013!

Happy New Year,

Your friends at the Hampton Inn & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton Beach, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Just a couple of blocks from hotels nearly twice the price, this hotel is an excellent value. They charged us only $5 for parking when others routinely charge $10-15. Plus there was no charge for internet, a very good, restaurant-grade complimentary breakfast each morning and free gourmet coffee in the lobby at all times. The spacious and well appointed living room area downstairs was a nice place to read the paper and catch the news each morning. The rooms were spacious and nicely decorated and the mini-fridge was a nice perk. The staff was FABULOUS. This hotel looks feels like the much more expensive ones, but has tremendous value via the low rate, free breakfasts/coffee and a fridge to keep food/drinks in the room. It's location is perfect. Cross the street and your at City Market. Head north a few blocks to Mercer House of Forsythe Park or south a few to River Street.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela31328, Sales Coordinator at Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Hello Dennis,

Thank you for writing such a kind review of our property! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are fortunate to have such a wonderful staff, they truly do leave lasting memories with our guests! I hope that you enjoyed our Christmas decorations while you were here. :) Have a fun & safe New Years Eve. We look forward to seeing you in 2013!

Happy New Year,

Your friends at the Hampton Inn & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

This is the second Hampton Inn I stayed during my trip to Savannah (the first one is Hampton Inn Midtown which is also great). The location is good. It's near all the attractions and many fine restaurants are wintin walking distance. The parking is onl $5.

The room is big, clean and comfortable. The breakfast is nice and hot. The staff is friendly.

I would stay here again next time I am in town.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesley Chapel, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

The hotel staff was nice, the room was upgraded free of charge and nice the breakfast was nice...this was just a big wow factor for our first visit to Savannah. We actually had accommodations at the Cambria but canceled them upon checking into our room. I really had no issues or complaints. It was centrally located and the staff told us which spots were great to visit and which areas were sketchy.

Room Tip: The 5th floor is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Needed a room for one night trip to pick our son up from SCAD. Forgot to make reservations ahead of time so were worried we wouldnt be able to find a room last minute but much to our surprise...we found one here. And boy are we glad we did! Staff was AMAZING, HONEST, HELPFUL! Plus, they offered a SCAD discount that I wasnt expecting...yeah! Hotel was very nice also. Will definitely be returning many many times!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District

Address: 603 West Oglethorpe Avenue, Cross street: Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Savannah
#25 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#25 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites hotel in Savannah Historic District is near Savannah's famous River Street, City Market, SCAD, and more. Rest easy in the comfort of your room and wake up to a hot free breakfast each day before exploring historic Savannah. On a hot day, choose to take a swim in our outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District Hotel Savannah
Hampton Inn And Suites Savannah Historic District
Hampton Inn Savannah
Savannah Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.