We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time at School” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 700 Kitchen Cooking School

700 Kitchen Cooking School
Mansion on Forsyth Park, 700 Drayton Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)
+1 912-721-5044
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Chef Peter Russo, director of 700 Kitchen Cooking School, presents both individuals and groups with an exclusive opportunity to enjoy entertaining and engaging culinary programs in a state-of-the-art environment. From interactive hands-on culinary classes for individuals or teams, to unique culinary programs for groups, 700 Kitchen Cooking School offers new tastes, flavors and techniques for everyone regardless of experience.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great time at School”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

4 family members attended as part of Road Scholar group. As a manly man thought of not attending since I don't cook. Glad I did. Very entertaining and best food we had on whole trip. Highly recommend you attend.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cp93, Manager at 700 Kitchen Cooking School, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
I too am glad you decided to join us! Thanks for sharing your thoughts and recommendation of the class!

Chef Darin
Savannah, GA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    925
    16
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Chef Darin is the Man!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Wow…fantastic!!!
I had the chance participate in a in a “low country” cooking class a few days ago and boy did I have fun. Chef Darin is hilarious and I felt like I was participating in a tv-cooking show.

I love cooking and his class was both super-enjoyable as well as very informative. I came away with a ton of new cooking tips and a very full and satisfied stomach! Put this top of your to-do list when you come to Savannah!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cp93, Manager at 700 Kitchen Cooking School, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thanks for joining me in the Low Country class! I'm glad to hear you felt fully immersed in the experience and took away useful skills and knowledge. It was a pleasure to share a taste of the Low Country with a Kiwi! Safe travels!

Chef Darin - Savannah, GA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Low Country Cooking School!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Chef Darin was a delight. He made the class enjoyable and was neither pretentious in his presentation nor knowledge. It was great fun and the meal was fabulous! We will definitely return and recommend to all!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, LA
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Anyway, like I was sayin', shrimp is the fruit of the sea. Dey's uh, shrimp-kabobs...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Booked this class based on previous reviews and Chef Darin definitely lived up to his #1 ranking! My wife and I had a wonderful time learning how to prepare new recipes during the Tapas, Mezze & More class. The class is educational, interactive, and most of all FUN! The best part is the end when you get to eat the delicious food! I highly recommend this class to everyone visiting Savannah in the future. The Mediterranean Spice Roasted Olives and Rosemary Shrimp Skewers were my favorites.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Five-Star Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

We took a group of folks from around the country to 700 Kitchen Cooking School. Chef Darin was terrific. It's the second time I've done his class and I enjoyed it both times. He is professional, educational, entertaining, and very engaging - all at the same time. From holding a properly measured cup of flour upside-down over a persons head (well, we had a little oop's) to the proper use of a French knife and classic baking techniques. The kitchen is plenty large enough for the group to enjoy the class or wander a bit. We could choose our menu and selected all southern classic's and the folks from Seattle and Dallas loved them all. My favorite part is feeling like Darin is enjoying himself each time he does the class. Whether you are a local looking for a fun evening out, or visitors to Savannah that one a true Southern experience, I highly recommend this favorite.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cp93, Manager at 700 Kitchen Cooking School, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you for choosing to bring your clients for a hands-on class! There's nothing quite like gathering around a kitchen table over great food to relax people and help them have a good time. Food and cooking should be fun and non-intimidating and that's exactly what I strive for. THE BEST part of my work is seeing the "aha" moment in others and helping them to be inspired to get in the kitchen and cook too. I LOVE what I do and am glad that it shows!

Thanks for the compliments and for making it a part of your group activity. I look forward to the next time!

Chef Darin
Savannah, GA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 700 Kitchen Cooking School also viewed

 

Been to 700 Kitchen Cooking School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 700 Kitchen Cooking School, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.