We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Local BBQ in Savannah” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Angel's BBQ

Angel's BBQ
21 W Oglethorpe Ln, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)
912-495-0902
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #138 of 774 Restaurants in Savannah
Price range: $0 - $8
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Neighborhood: Downtown
Hightstown, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Local BBQ in Savannah”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We visited Angel's BBQ during our vacation in Savannah. The other reviews are right -- hidden gem and hole in the wall. We had brisket (very tasty) accompanied by cole slaw and macaroni and cheese. Various BBQ sauces available to try on your meat. The owners are very friendly and willing to top off your ice of your sweet tea before you leave. If sweet tea isn't your thing, Angel's has long-neck Coca Cola bottles. Local kids come in during their lunch. Prices are reasonable. Glad we went here to vary up our meals during our vacation.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    54
    23
    13
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morgantown, West Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Awesome local BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

This place is a little tough to find, but it's well worth the search. Call and she'll give you directions. This is a true local place so don't expect much in the way of fanciness. The menu is small and you're served in a classy 3 section To-Go box. Dig in! We had the pulled pork and brisket, both were amazing. The sides we had were everything you'd expect from a small place. Greens, beans, slaw, and mac & cheese. We're definitely glad we found this place and it's very reasonably priced.

Make sure you plan to visit it. We were told that they only sell what they can make that day, so when they're out, they're out.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairport, New York
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Nice find for quick, tasty BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

We found Angel's on Trip Advisor after visiting the Juliette Gordon Low House and realizing that our original lunch plans wouldn't work, since we had taken more time in Savannah than planned.

The service was quick, the food a good deal and most importantly... Tasty. The pulled pork, mac & cheese and cole slaw were all quite good.

I'd definitely go there again when in Savannah.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

My boyfriend took me to Angel's BBQ and I have to admit, it was some of the best BBQ I've ever had. The staff was great and the food was just as great. It's our little spot to eat at when we're downtown. If you go there make sure to try the sauces. They're amazing.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peachtree City, Georgia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Finally found it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

This was a difficult establishment to find. The pulled pork was very good, we got it without sauce so we could taste the flavor of the meat. The brisket was a bit disappointing, they keep it moist by soaking it in a sauce that was very greasy, by the time I got to the bottom of the meat I couldn't finish it because of the grease. Collards were a little spicier than I think they should be but they were tasty. Probably would not visit again just because its not the styleof bBBQ that we prefer. What we had was very good overall.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Angel's BBQ also viewed

Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Angel's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angel's BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.