We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location for SCAD move in” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Thunderbird Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Thunderbird Inn to your Saves list
The Thunderbird Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   611 West Oglethorpe Ave, Savannah, GA 31401 (Yamacraw Village)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
GreenLeadersSilver level
NH
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good Location for SCAD move in”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2009

Because we had to stay in more than one hotel on our trip down to Savannah, we shopped around for location and price. My son had stayed in the motel during the winter and he was okay with it. The room was comfortable, the staff was helpful and really, you can't beat the free parking. It is within walking distance to a free bus stop and to the local trolley stops. We were able to move our son in without problem from the location and then didn't need the car as we could walk to the civic center, restaurants and even to the river. The street noise is somewhat loud during the day, but not at night. It's true that people are rude enough to smoke outside of the rooms. The room itself was clean and we would stay there again. We just needed a place to sleep and didn't require other amenities. Fresh fruit with breakfast would help with the just donut menu.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    326
    120
    74
    46
See reviews for
182
376
47
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2009

We booked this on hotwire as well. It was just 3 blocks to the City market and about 5 to the River Front. It is on the rougher side of MLK Jr. Street but you still feel safe. Seeing the loud paint job outside I was skeptical. However, our room was clean, the beds were comfy and for once we got nice pillows at a hotel (hooray). The best part about this stay was that we did not have to pay for parking which, is something you EXPECT at the other places in the Historic District. Other places charge $6-8 per night for parking! I would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

Like many other reviewers, we booked this on hotwire. It's advertised as being in the historic district but really is just outside of it. It's a renovated old street motel along a busy truck route and reminiscent of motels in places like Las Vegas or Niagara Falls. As such, the rooms are pretty close to the street and there is a Greyhound station across the street. You will hear trucks go by. Normally I commend hotles for being non-smoking, but here people go outside to smoke and the old heavy doors slam shut and they are loud.

The staff were friendly which was nice. The rooms were ok; again, just an average motel sized room. The room seemed to be clean, but the tub could probably use a good bleaching or replacement. There is intenet in the rooms via ethernet cable which was fine with me. The lobby also has wireless so if you are close to that you could probably get it. Free breakfast is just a Krispy Kreme donut and a juice machine.

If you are used to staying at hotels rather than motels, this isn't for you. If motels are okay and you don't mind a 5-6 block walk or shuttle to the historic district, this would suffice.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

We arrived in Savannah at 9:30pm on a Sunday night. We , to be truthful, drove right by The Thunderbird and went downtown to check prices of other hotels. When those were higher than we wanted to spend, we arrived back at The Thunderbird and were charged $20 less than we would have elsewhere. When we opened the door, we were pleasantly surprised to find the room clean and updated. For the price, it was nice to have a place to park our car for free while we walked around Savannah the next morning.

Our only "complaint" would be that we were expecting more for a continental breakfast. When we arrived, there was water, apple juice, coffee, and Krispy Kreme donuts...hardly a breakfast for 2 travelers on the go. We ended up going downtown for breakfast and were quite disappointed to have to spend money on breakfast after having spent $89 for the room.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

My wife and I travel to Savannah from Kansas City at least once a year. It is our intention to move to Savannah in the very near future. Savannah, especially the River Front and the Historic District, is a very walkable city. The Thunderbird Inn is well located to take advantage of that walkability. It is a clean, well maintained motel with a great nostalgic feel that is still modern and comfortable. Staff is responsive, courteous and welcoming. Desk help while we were there last were local actors that perform in local and regional theatre and appear in independent films. This helped to reflect the rich artistic culture of a city that boasts one of the finest and most diverse arts institutes in the nation. Rates are quite reasonable, making The Thunderbird Inn an excellent value for a facility so well situated near the river. Whenever we go to Savannah, the Thunderbird Inn is our home away from home.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2009

The service was great, the rooms were kept clean and the donuts for breakfast were fresh. It was a quick walk to the City Market and Riverfront. We had no safety concerns. The rooms are a bit small, and our remote control wouldn't change the stations, but I'm sure the front desk would have helped us with that if we asked. If I were to return to Savannah, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, GA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2009

I really liked the retro atmosphere and how close it was to the heart of Savannah. I enjoyed a very comfortable room and extremely friendly staff. I was surprised at how affordable it was, and even more so that they didn't skimp on amenities like daily room service. It may not have all the finest upgrades, but it was clean and in a nice area. I do plan on returning to Savannah and reserving a room at the Thunderbird again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Thunderbird Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thunderbird Inn

Address: 611 West Oglethorpe Ave, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Yamacraw Village
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Savannah
#41 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Thunderbird Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meet-up at our delightfully quirky motel where refined Savannah's so-historic location and so-hip eccentricities hook up. Discounted Savannah lodging was never so much fun! Hotel rates include Moon Pies and Krispy Kreme donuts! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your The Thunderbird Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Thunderbird Hotel Savannah
Thunderbird Hotel Savannah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Thunderbird Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.