We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and location. Who doesn't love kitch!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Thunderbird Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Thunderbird Inn to your Saves list
The Thunderbird Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   611 West Oglethorpe Ave, Savannah, GA 31401 (Yamacraw Village)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 114 Hotels in Savannah
GreenLeadersSilver level
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great value and location. Who doesn't love kitch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This was a really cute hotel. We really enjoyed our stay. We were able to walk everywhere from there and it's really not that bad of a walk. Bed was decently comfortable. Room was clean enough. Didn't hear anything at night. We were in room 208. Then again neither of us are light sleepers. We did have moonpies and RC cola's in our room which was a fun touch. Bathrooms were small, but manageable. Staff was nice. Got donuts after checking out, but they were offered to us. They weren't sitting out. Only one odd thing, no soap at the sink. In order to wash your hands, you had to get the body wash from the shower. Not sure that's the most friendly of set-up's, but it is what it is. Would we stay here again - yes. Will we - probably not. Want something a little closer to the historic district - if the price is comprable to Thunderbird Inn. If not, we'll be there again! Happy travels.

Room Tip: Parking is free. Ask for the Krispy Kreme.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    347
    134
    81
    50
See reviews for
195
401
54
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
188 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Stayed 2 nights in November on our driving tour and booked after reading the reviews here. Receptionist very pleasant at check in and very helpful, but the motel is on a very busy main road so noise could be an issue for many people. The motel is no more, no less than your average motel and we are baffled by those people who call it funky - mmmm....it really is a normal motel that plays 'musak' on the loud speakers (turned off around 9pm). Room was a reasonable size with all the usual amenities. To walk to the river is a good 20-25 mins - and we are quite fit, so you should keep this in mind. Breakfast was abysmal - just sweet bagels & donuts (nothing savoury), coffee & juice. We asked the helpful receptionist if she could recommend anywhere for a decent breakfast and we went to Goose Feathers (excellent). We would only have given this motel 2 stars, but the reception staff gained them an extra point!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Loved the overall idea of this hotel instead of trying to hide the dated look of the building they embraced it great price clean well kept everyone nice only down side is traffic noise I didn't mind we where getting up early anyway worked for my budget

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The Thunderbird is high on kitsch, service and value! The room is no frills, but quiet and clean, and the service was outstanding. There's tons of snacks throughout the day - coffee, donuts, popcorn, hot chocolate, and of course moonpies. The hotel is on the outskirts of historic Savannah, so be prepared to walk a bit to get in to see the squares, but the walk felt safe and was nice after enjoying heavy meals. If you're looking for a budget place, and plan on spending most of your time out and about, the Thunderbird is the place for you!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Staff is very friendly and helpfull, welcom drink and bag of popcorn upon arrival. Sixties-like atmospher and decent walk to the city center. Thats the good part. Our room was dark and small, damp and funky smelling, loud music outside, slow or faltering wifi. Queen beds were too soft and too small (I’m only 185 cm). Its situated next to a quite busy street with a lot of noise at night and early morning. Breakfast is coffee and donuts. We booked for 2 nights, glad I could cancel the second night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbirdmanager, General Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
I am sorry that we missed the bill for you. Our beds are an area that usually get rave reviews about. I am sorry that you didn't enjoy them. We replace them often to keep them at the best firmness.

Also, if the room was damp smelling, that to isn't normal. I will have the staff pay more attention to this so it is right moving forward.


regards,

Mark Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I got there through Hotwire last minute downtown stay in Savannah: what an excellent surprise. Clean, funky rooms, friendly staff, great location with Moon Pies. Other motel customers were also nice. I saw couple's with dogs. Don't get wrong outside appearance...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palm springs
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Purchased a "hotwire" room in Savannah, GA and was sold the Thunderbird Inn. I didn't have time to research the Thunderbird so I didn't know for sure what I was getting since it was not a name brand property. Boy were we pleasantly surprised. I can't say enough good about this place. Once you open your car door to walk into the lobby to register, you are welcomed back to the 60's and 70's with music in the parking lot marking the retro theme of the hotel. The clerk was ver friendly, efficient and gave us a quick overview of the location of the hotel and how we could walk to almost anything, which was the case. The room was very comfortable, They had great coffee and Krispy Kreme pastry in the lobby for breakfast. We had stayed in Savannah before and paid triple the rate had 3 star property and we didn't enjoy near as much as we did here. It's definately a "motel" design, but very unique and fun.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
BEST WESTERN PLUS Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Quality Inn Heart of Savannah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
B Historic Savannah
#57 of 114 in Savannah
4.0 of 5 stars 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Thunderbird Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thunderbird Inn

Address: 611 West Oglethorpe Ave, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Yamacraw Village
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Thunderbird Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meet-up at our delightfully quirky motel where refined Savannah's so-historic location and so-hip eccentricities hook up. Discounted Savannah lodging was never so much fun! Hotel rates include Moon Pies and Krispy Kreme donuts! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Thunderbird Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Thunderbird Hotel Savannah
Thunderbird Hotel Savannah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Thunderbird Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.