We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price, great location, wonderful staff and super pet friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Thunderbird Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Thunderbird Inn to your Saves list
The Thunderbird Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   611 West Oglethorpe Ave, Savannah, GA 31401 (Yamacraw Village)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off room rate
Ranked #51 of 112 Hotels in Savannah
GreenLeadersBronze level
Summerville, South Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great price, great location, wonderful staff and super pet friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is not a 4 star (not even a 3 star) hotel, but the staff is super! The price is right and the location is great. When we visit Savannah with and without our dog, we stay at the T-bird. The beds are comfortable and the rooms are clean. We park the car on Friday for our weekend stays and walk everywhere we want to go!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    291
    108
    70
    40
See reviews for
162
332
42
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We always stay at The Thunderbird Inn when we go to Savannah, GA. Great value. Great, friendly staff. Right in downtown Savannah, an easy walk to River Street. We stayed here during the Rock and Roll Savannah Marathon in 2011 and 2012. We love it!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Georgia
Top Contributor
259 reviews 259 reviews
115 hotel reviews
Reviews in 125 cities Reviews in 125 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was my fourth stay. I enjoy this motel quite a bit. The office staff is polite and friendly. The rates are great, especially if you book on line. The rooms are clean, and the beds are comfortable. What you pay for is exactly what you get. You need to check in early, because finding a parking spot can be difficult. The Historic District is within easy walking distance.

Room Tip: Book on line and request a downstairs room, otherwise you have to lug your stuff upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Excellent inn for the price! Clean, friendly stuff, FREE breakfast (Krispy Kreme's donuts and a variety of coffee, tea, juice, and syrups), very close to the Trolley tours (around the corner), and to the River View street. My wife and I are happy and satisfied! A+++

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Extremely friendly & helpful staff. Great rate, in walking distance to restaurants, pubs, shops etc. Very clean. Love the colors, style and design. Fun place! My husband and I spent 4 nights. No complaints! Would definitely stay again.

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Here's what I found in my 2-day stay and encounter with 4 of the personnel: constantly friendly and helpful with follow-up by Mike and Shana to be sure my requests were meant. The room was clean and loaded with extras--ironing board, iron, refrigerator, well modulated and easily controllable heat/AC, coffee maker, refrigerator, hair drier, Kleenex dispenser, comfortable beds, phone, radio, TV, good lighting wherever it was needed, easily operable and perfectly functional shower/bath, wall dispensers in shower for shampoo, shower gel and conditioner with large print for my faded eyes, proximity to tours and to historic section.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floyd, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

OK, sure, let's get this out of the way...this is not a luxury hotel. It is old and has small bathrooms. BUT, what it does have is some of the friendliest, most helpful, most enthusiastic staff that I have ever encountered, even at 5 star resorts.
The location is ideal for exploring the city. A 10 minute walk will get you just about anywhere. I would definitely stay here again, no problems at all.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Thunderbird Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thunderbird Inn

Address: 611 West Oglethorpe Ave, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Yamacraw Village
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Savannah
#43 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Thunderbird Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meet-up at our delightfully quirky motel where refined Savannah's so-historic location and so-hip eccentricities hook up. Discounted Savannah lodging was never so much fun! Hotel rates include Moon Pies and Krispy Kreme donuts! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Venere and Tingo so you can book your The Thunderbird Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Thunderbird Hotel Savannah
Thunderbird Hotel Savannah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Thunderbird Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.