We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay for a great value!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Thunderbird Inn

Save Saved
You added The Thunderbird Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Thunderbird Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   611 West Oglethorpe Ave, Savannah, GA 31401 (Yamacraw Village)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
30% off room rate
Ranked #52 of 112 hotels in Savannah
GreenLeadersBronze level
Rome, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great stay for a great value!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We always stay at The Thunderbird Inn when we go to Savannah, GA. Great value. Great, friendly staff. Right in downtown Savannah, an easy walk to River Street. We stayed here during the Rock and Roll Savannah Marathon in 2011 and 2012. We love it!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    301
    275
    107
    62
    39
See reviews for
150
307
39
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Georgia
Top Contributor
255 reviews 255 reviews
114 hotel reviews
Reviews in 122 cities Reviews in 122 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was my fourth stay. I enjoy this motel quite a bit. The office staff is polite and friendly. The rates are great, especially if you book on line. The rooms are clean, and the beds are comfortable. What you pay for is exactly what you get. You need to check in early, because finding a parking spot can be difficult. The Historic District is within easy walking distance.

Room Tip: Book on line and request a downstairs room, otherwise you have to lug your stuff upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Excellent inn for the price! Clean, friendly stuff, FREE breakfast (Krispy Kreme's donuts and a variety of coffee, tea, juice, and syrups), very close to the Trolley tours (around the corner), and to the River View street. My wife and I are happy and satisfied! A+++

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Extremely friendly & helpful staff. Great rate, in walking distance to restaurants, pubs, shops etc. Very clean. Love the colors, style and design. Fun place! My husband and I spent 4 nights. No complaints! Would definitely stay again.

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Here's what I found in my 2-day stay and encounter with 4 of the personnel: constantly friendly and helpful with follow-up by Mike and Shana to be sure my requests were meant. The room was clean and loaded with extras--ironing board, iron, refrigerator, well modulated and easily controllable heat/AC, coffee maker, refrigerator, hair drier, Kleenex dispenser, comfortable beds, phone, radio, TV, good lighting wherever it was needed, easily operable and perfectly functional shower/bath, wall dispensers in shower for shampoo, shower gel and conditioner with large print for my faded eyes, proximity to tours and to historic section.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

OK, sure, let's get this out of the way...this is not a luxury hotel. It is old and has small bathrooms. BUT, what it does have is some of the friendliest, most helpful, most enthusiastic staff that I have ever encountered, even at 5 star resorts.
The location is ideal for exploring the city. A 10 minute walk will get you just about anywhere. I would definitely stay here again, no problems at all.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This hotel had the comfort level of a $70 room, so I was disappointed by the value. The only thing they are reputable for is the retro style of the hotel, which didnt do much for me. The staff is warm and friendly, but the beds in my room were older and sank to the middle, the sheets didnt fit properly, the blanket was all lumpy on one side from use, and I didnt like the soaps. I think the things that really count in a hotel stay are quality of sleep, cleanliness, and comfort, and I didnt feel rested or comfortable. The pet fee is $50, which I think is waaay overpriced, and therefore did not bring our dog. It is unfortunately one of the cheaper hotels in the downtown area, which is the only reason we stayed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbirdmanager, General Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
I hate that you had such a bad experience. I wish I would have known while you were intown. If you would like to talk about it I can be reached at mark@thethunderbirdinn.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Charming, Budge...
Show More
Oglethorpe Inn & Suites
Oglethorpe Inn & Suites
#26 of 112 in Savannah
4.0 of 5 stars 470 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
Downtown
Country Inn & Suites - Savannah Historic
Free Breakfast...
Show More
Historic District - North
BEST WESTERN Plus Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free Brea...
Show More
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Budget, Free Br...
Show More
Downtown
Quality Inn Heart of Savannah
Charming, Pool...
Show More
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Thunderbird Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thunderbird Inn

Address: 611 West Oglethorpe Ave, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Yamacraw Village
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Thunderbird Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meet-up at our delightfully quirky motel where refined Savannah's so-historic location and so-hip eccentricities hook up. Discounted Savannah lodging was never so much fun! Hotel rates include Moon Pies and Krispy Kreme donuts! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Thunderbird Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Thunderbird Hotel Savannah
Thunderbird Hotel Savannah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Thunderbird Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.