We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pet-Friendly and accomodating staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Thunderbird Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Thunderbird Inn to your Saves list
The Thunderbird Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   611 West Oglethorpe Ave, Savannah, GA 31401 (Yamacraw Village)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
GreenLeadersSilver level
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Pet-Friendly and accomodating staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Nice place when traveling with dogs and kids. Our air conditioning unit was not working properly after we had checked into our room. The young lady at the front desk promptly moved us to another room and all was great.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    326
    120
    74
    46
See reviews for
182
376
47
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

this place was great! the front desk staff, Leo and Leslie, were so nice and so helpful! they really went out of their way to make us feel welcome, were super bubbly and fun, and were a great welcoming committee. the rooms are small, but very clean and the location is perfect to hop on your bike and head to the historic district, and the price is very reasonable. i loved this place and will definitely be coming back.

Room Tip: i booked through orbitz and the room was about $20 cheaper than thunderbirds website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

As a biker I'm always concerned with where my bike will be parked. Shanna made sure the bikes were in a safe place. The room was fine as I've never stayed in a Retro-Hotel. It was fun, and comfortable. I would recommend this place and will stay there again when in the area.

Room Tip: Didn't have a choice of rooms, but 111 was just fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hallandale Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

The rooms are very comfortable and the bed was awsome !!!! The hotel was very close to
the trolleys. The front desk attendant Leo was very helpful and professional. Next time we go to Savannah will stay there !!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

You know, this past weekend was the first time I had the privilege of staying at the Thunderbird. I love the little extras you guys do. The bed and pillows are great! The RC cola and Moonpies were a nice surprise. And your staff are really eager to help whenever we needed anything. Shona we great in locating a cot for me! Tell her thanks again. I got several compliments from those attending AttendBandWagon.com about how cool Thunderbird is. Proud to be able to have worked with you!

Thanks.

Charlie

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

we were passing thru savannah for one day. A friend suggested this inn. When we arrived we thought the friend was mistaken. It looks so wrong! The front desk gave us a key to check out the room. It was so RIGHT!!!! The bedding was incredibly comfortable, the room clean beyond expectation! The location to everything in town can't be beat! The price was outstanding! The moonpie at check-in added to the experience. breakfast included krispie kreme donuts...need I say more?! Be sure to stay in the ThunderBird Inn!! Savannah has a free bus system to take you to the riverwalk, it drops you off one block from the inn.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warner Robins, Georgia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Thunderbird from Feb 25-27, 2012. The location can't be beat for access to River Street and the downtown shopping area. The price was much lower than could be found at other area accommodations. We had a quiet, corner room (121). The toiletries were wonderful except for the lack of hand soap in the bathroom. Everything in the room worked properly. There were no cigarette smoke smells from sneaky guests. The area seemed a little sketchy, but as long as you head towards River Street and such, you're OK. Overall, The Thunderbird Inn is a great stay for the price and location. I would recommend it for families or couples on a budget!

Room Tip: 121 is a great, quiet corner room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Thunderbird Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thunderbird Inn

Address: 611 West Oglethorpe Ave, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Yamacraw Village
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Savannah
#43 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Thunderbird Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meet-up at our delightfully quirky motel where refined Savannah's so-historic location and so-hip eccentricities hook up. Discounted Savannah lodging was never so much fun! Hotel rates include Moon Pies and Krispy Kreme donuts! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your The Thunderbird Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Thunderbird Hotel Savannah
Thunderbird Hotel Savannah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Thunderbird Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.