We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location; great accommodations.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oglethorpe Lodge

Save Saved
You added Oglethorpe Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Oglethorpe Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   117 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 112 hotels in Savannah
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent location; great accommodations.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Perfect location in the old historic district, within easy walking distance to great restaurants, pubs and parks. Spacious, very clean and comfortable, with full kitchen and appliances that work, several flat screen TVs and WiFi. Comfy beds and linens, plenty of blankets, towels, etc. Easy keyless code entry. The walled courtyard is newly landscaped. Perfect for families or couples. Owners and staff are very accommodating and responsive. So much better than a hotel!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
5
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Excellent location - right in the heart of it all. Spacious accommodation with huge living room, 1 1/2 baths, large master BR, well appointed, full kitchen, and terrific courtyard. A hidden treasure!!

Room Tip: 3 floors - one suite per floor. 1st and 2nd have 2 bdrms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We have stayed in Savannah several times before but have never had a better location. The lodge is across the street from the middle of River Street and only a few blocks from the City Market. While the building is a little dated it was very clean, well stocked with toileteries and comfortable foam martresses. The kitchen could have been a little more stocked with pots, pans, and bowls but we made do. When returning to Savannah we would be happy to stay here again.

Room Tip: One parking space for each of the 3 units. If you have an additonal vehicle the Byran Street city pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Loved the location!!! The price is great for one of the best spots in town. Parking is very convenient also. Be advised, the kitchen has a very limited selection of cooking supplies. If you are planning on cooking your meals, you may want to inquire about the specific items provided in your suite.If you plan on bringing your own beverages, you will find plenty of glasses, ice, and refrigerator space. The beds are very comfortable with plenty of fluffy pillows and blankets. The bath towels are very soft and big. They were comparable to luxury hotel towels. I would really like to see privacy blinds in the ground floor kitchen windows when we return. The view of the patio is pleasant, however it would be nice to freely enjoy the suite without being on display for the other guests on the patio. This lodge is an incredible value. We are looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Ground floor could use privacy blinds
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oglethorpe_Lodge, Manager at Oglethorpe Lodge, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Hi Casey,

We did take your suggestion to heart and we have added the privacy blinds in the kitchen. We would love to have you back to see them!

Thanks for staying with us and taking the time to review us. If we can help with anything further, please let us know!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Majorca, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We absolutely LOVE the Oglethorpe Lodge and look forward to many return trips! My husband and I stayed on the top floor. We had absolutely no trouble finding the Lodge, or parking there for the week. We were able to walk everywhere and enjoy all that Savannah has to offer and felt very safe in the area. Our parents joined us on the weekend and stayed in Suite 902 and Suite 901. The Lodge Management let us borrow a large cooler and two fold-out tables to host a brunch for my brother's birthday, on the weekend! It was great having a small kitchen to cook in and the courtyard was the perfect place for us all to hang out. We look forward to going back soon and am recommending it to family friends who are getting married in Savannah next Spring!

Room Tip: The top floor (903) has a great view of Bay Street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We rented all three units at the Oglethorpe Lodge. It was a great place to stay for our daughter's wedding weekend. My wife, daughter and I stayed in the two bedroom middle floor Suite 902. The groom and best man stayed in the top floor Suite 903. My wife's sister and family stayed in the first floor unit Suite 901. We all had our own separate space with a common yet private gathering area in the courtyard. The owners provided folding tables and a large cooler that we used for entertaining out of town guests in the evenings. My wife and I have stayed here previously and would definitely stay here again during our next visit to Savannah. The Lodge is in a great location and is close to all the amenities of Savannah.

Room Tip: Suite 901 being on the ground floor has the easiest access. Suite 902 has two full baths which is n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I needed a place to stay for about a month due to a work project. After being referred to Oglethorpe Lodge and reviewing their website felt this would be a perfect place for me to stay. The first three weeks were great. All the literature and signs posted indicate each Condo receives one parking spot. If you need additional parking there is a public lot right behind the condos, and unauthorized parking will have cars towed. I arrived back to the condos one Saturday afternoon after doing my laundry and grocery shopping to find someone had parked in the spot indicated for the unit I was straying in. All the spots were taken. When I contacted the lodge Managment and explained the situation to them I was advised to park in the public parking garage and I would be reimbursed my cost because they didn't want to inconvenience anyone. But it was ok to inconvenience the person who had been staying there for three weeks and still had a week to go. I was highly disappointed at this attitude towards a long term guest.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oglethorpe_Lodge, Owner at Oglethorpe Lodge, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We value the opinions of our guests and truly apologize for the inconvenience. As an explanation, we were not able to contact the other guests and were not sure which vehicle to have towed.

Because our goal is guest satisfaction, we offered to reimburse you for the parking expense and offered a $25 Visa Gift Card for the inconvenience. We did want to let you know that we are exploring options to ensure this parking matter does not happen again moving forward.

We hope you will consider us for future stays. We truly do appreciate the business and your long term stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oglethorpe Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oglethorpe Lodge

Address: 117 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 112 hotels in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Oglethorpe Lodge 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oglethorpe Lodge is a three floor vacation rental with one suite per floor. The Lodge was named for the founder of Georgia, James Oglethorpe and was established in 1853, but is now an updated vacation rental. Oglethorpe Lodge is across the street from the Savannah River, River Street and the Riverfront. River Street offers several restaurants, bars, art galleries and boutiques within easy walking distance.When staying at the Oglethorpe Lodge, you can expect a clean and comfortable room with plenty of space and amenities. The suite includes a full kitchen and living space for visiting with friends and family. Extra sleeping space is included with a pullout sofa in the room. The Oglethorpe lodge has off-street parking behind the lodge, where guests can enter their suites. In this same area is a bricked in courtyard, where outdoor meals or visits can take place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Oglethorpe Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oglethorpe Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.