We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Savannah Bed & Breakfast Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Savannah Bed & Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
Savannah Bed & Breakfast Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   117 West Gordon Street at Chatham Square, Savannah, GA 31401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 39 Savannah B&B and Inns
massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Highly recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

This 15 room bed and breakfast comprises three adjoining buildings at the edge of the Historic District. Walking distance to everything, and just far enough from the craziness of the St. Patrick's Day festivities. We were two blocks from the beginning of the parade, and just across the street from the Mercer-Williams house, scene of the true life drama, Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil, or, as it is known in Savannah, "the book." The house is well worth a visit. Our room was delightful, and we were served green grit and homemade hash for St. Patrick's Day breakfast.

Room Tip: We had the Parkview room, which was listed as a value room. Don't know how much nicer the more e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    192
    67
    17
    13
See reviews for
81
395
24
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

This charming little Inn was better than we imagined and I was sad that we had only booked two nights! The entire staff- especially Paula and Frederick were amazing. Because we stayed during St. Patrick's day weekend we were able to enjoy the festive breakfast that included green grits, corn beef hash and an awesome musician playing the fiddle. It really got us into the spirit.

The thing we loved most of all was our room. We stayed in the Egyptian room which was so cozy that I didn't really want to leave. The bed was a gorgeous canopy with incredibly soft sheets and a yummy pillow top that was the most comfortable bed I've experienced apart from my own at home. The bathroom was large and clean and I was surprised to enjoy the soft carpeting underfoot in the bedroom.

The breakfast is great, I enjoyed the quiet tea time and the warm cookies in the evening are an extra treat that we enjoyed. Parking was adequate. My only complaint was that if you are not fit, it is very difficult to climb the narrow stairway to the third floor. I recommend requesting a room located on a lower floor. I would definitely stay here again, and again and again!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Stay over the weekend before St. Patrick's day. This was our second time in this B&B and the reason we chose it is because we needed accommodation for a party of three adults. We have been to Savannah about 7 times and our place of stay usually depends on price and then location. This time around was mainly because this B&B has suites that can accommodate three adults (or large parties) when you do not want to book two separate rooms in a hotel due to pricing.
Just like our first time (some years ago), the place is clean and quaint. The breakfast staff were always helpful and friendly. Some of the check-in staff seemed harried at times but this could have been because they were booked.
As they explain to you, on busy days you should expect to wait about 30 minutes for your breakfast to be served. Out of our 4 mornings in which we had breakfast, only one we had to wait the 30 minutes. On the other days, breakfast came out in under 10-15 minutes.
I do recommend this place. Keep in mind, as stated on other reviews, that this B&B is located near on the southern(?) edge of the downtown district where the majority of restaurants are. However, we did not mind the walk and there are also other restaurants near this B&B, such as Mrs. Wilkes (yum).

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

I went to Savannah on a little solo getaway and stayed at the Savannah Bed and Breakfast Inn. I have nothing but good things to say. The staff is super friendly and helpful. I stayed in the Parlour room and it was super clean and adorable. I love that they have a healthy breakfast option and begin service early. It is located over by Forsyth park and within walking distance of everything. I would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needham, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful 3 days at this Inn. Our room was lovely - done in an Asian motif. Staff was friendly and very helpful. The stairs to the 2nd floor are steep. They brought our suitcase up to the room and back down at the end of our stay. Breakfast was good but not great. The location is perfect for walking the city. There is also a free bus that runs about every 20 minutes that goes to the major points of interest.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa FL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We have stayed in Savannah's historic district multiple times, and find this location excellent. The neighborhood is residential, close to Forsyth Park, and within walking district of most sights in the district. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful, and parking was not nearly the problem others have stated. The trick is to leave the car parked once you find a spot. The room was of adequate size and furnished comfortably. There is individual climate control in the room, which is a bonus to find in homes this old. There is an afternoon tea with goodies, and evening cookies. The breakfast was adequate, but lacked variety and pizzazz, and you should consider an alternate Sunday Brunch location. There were several small inconveniences, but none were beyond repair. The TV controller didn't work, and there is no phone or safe in the room. There is nice storage space in the bathroom vanity, yet no paper products (even tp) were available - you have to ask for it. There was no guide to services in the room, although they did offer menus from nearby eateries. They asked you to take a survey, but no pen or stationary was supplied to complete it. When asked about the lack of stationary, we were told that it was not supplied because "the pens tend to disappear". Nearly every hotel or Inn we've stayed at worldwide offers such expendable items, which should be expensed as advertising materials in any event. Our overall judgment is that the Inn is quite good, but could be great with a few easy adjustments.

Room Tip: Noisy street sweepers run along Gordon Street before 6am on Sat & Sun mornings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

The Inn is located about a 15 min walk from the river front and next to Chatham park, making this an idea spot. Away from the crowds but close enough to walk to many restaurants and sites.

Nicely updated rooms with the 1853 charm still there. The stairs were part of the ambience for me, so if you're not physically active, maybe another place would be better for you. Narrow and steep.

The staff was always friendly and helpful. Felt like you were at Grandma's house.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Savannah Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savannah Bed & Breakfast Inn

Address: 117 West Gordon Street at Chatham Square, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Savannah Bed & Breakfast Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savannah's Premier Bed & Breakfast Inn at Chatham Square, is in the heart of the historic district. Dating from 1853, the Inn is a block away from the splendor of Forsyth Park. The Inn combines the elegance of a historic private home with the comfort of a gracious inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Savannah Bed & Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savannah Hotel Savannah
Savannah Bed And Breakfast Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Savannah Bed & Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.