We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location. Below average stay.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Savannah Bed & Breakfast Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Savannah Bed & Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
Savannah Bed & Breakfast Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   117 West Gordon Street at Chatham Square, Savannah, GA 31401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$119 Innkeeper Special
Ranked #19 of 39 Savannah B&B and Inns
florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Location. Below average stay.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We rented the Connor House for 3 nights with the intent of also having a SCAD graduation party there. I cannot complain about the service at the inn and the breakfasts, but the accommodation were sub par. The kitchen area was very poor and provided not even the minimum to cook. The dishwasher, a burner and the timer on the stove were non functioning and there were no pot holders. We had to use bath towels and burned our hands. Thankfully, we had it catered but had great difficulty even warming anything up. The space itself worked out well, but overall it seemed a bit worn and shabby. My family all complained about the bed comfort. It was an easy walk to graduation but do not plan to use this as a vacation rental.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob_McAlister, Owner at Savannah Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
As the owner I am glad you enjoyed our wonderful location if not the kitchen in the Connor House. Apologies for the broken dishwasher and lack of potholders. Given that our guests tend to sample the fine dining that Savannah has to offer I shall be removing the dishwasher. I am surprised that the stove did not work as it is a new one. Many thanks for pointing this out and pot holders will be provided for our future guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    180
    58
    16
    11
See reviews for
75
367
20
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We only stayed in this B&B for one night. When I tried to make a reservation for a one-night stay in Savannah during Memorial Day weekend, either I couldn't find one that didn't require a minimum of two-night stay, or the price is outrageous. However, Savannah B&B had one room for us and it was perfect. Here we truly experienced the southern hospitality.

We stayed in Camelia Room and the price was very reasonable considering the perfect location and holiday weekend. When we stay in B&B, we always love the fact that they offer treats. This time, we had afternoon tea with sweets, and also late night milk with chocolate chip cookies. The B&B has a lot of chairs so that you can sit in the courtyard and enjoy the beautiful day and treats.

You have two choices for breakfast: Chef's choice and the alternative (usually something healthier and lighter). When you fill out the breakfast form the day before, you also have to indicate the time slot that you would like to enjoy your breakfast. I think the breakfast is lacking a little bit.

Overall we did enjoy our stay a lot, and this B&B made us love Savannah even more. Oh the only complaint we had was that the ice machine was broken when we tried to fill out our cooler before we left Savannah.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

This was my first stay at a Bed and Breakfast. It was a very lovely bed and breakfast and the staff was very nice and very helpful. Room was convenient, bed was comfortable. This is the absolute best location in Savannah. Every single thing was within walking distance. We never used our car the time we spent there. In fact, the only time we got into the car was a road trip out to Tybee Island.
My only complaint, a very small one, is for them to have coffee up and ready for us very early risers. My husband and I are usually out the door jogging at an early time. We would have liked just the coffee to be out in their dining area at 6am. A small thing, but huge to us coffee drinkers.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We enjoyed a lovely one night stay at this B&B. The room has a good size and the bathroom was fairly large. It even included book shelves that were fully stocked for our reading pleasure. The bed was comfortable and there was a nice size closet. When we arrived we were offered blonde brownies which were quite tasty. They also had cookies and milk in the evening. The location is excellent and very close to everything. Parking can be a struggle, as its on the street, but we found a few open spots. Our breakfast was large, but lacking with overcooked bacon and so-so pancakes. Thankfully they also had a bar of yogurt and cereal. Overall we really enjoyed our stay and would likely stay here again if we visited Savannah a second time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Great location within the historical district, this B&B is a combination of several circa 1850 row houses , including rear carriage houses. More a boutique hotel than a traditional B&B, with over 20 rooms. Given its age, the waft of sewer sometimes invades the room, well it did ours (Jasmine Room) anyway.

Rooms are nicely decorated, and ensuite bathroom well appointed and spacious. Breakfast was very nice, offering 2 choices only or cereal. We stayed 2 nights and would certainly return. The innkeepers are somewhat removed from interface with guests, but this is no doubt due to the size of the inn and number of guests it can hold.

Overall, recommended, but if you don't like cats (there are 4) you might want to reconsider staying here. Curved stairs from street to front door make it difficult if you, like us, have not learned how to travel light.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Let me start by saying if you have difficulty walking up a couple of flights of stairs multiple times a day, this may not be the spot for you. When staying in Savannah, I think it's necessary to stay in a B&B over a generic hotel chain, and this was just the trick. There were three of us traveling and stayed in the Azelea room which was great with two bedrooms. Our bed was so comfortable and the room worked well. The lighting wasn't the best in terms of getting ready, but that's a minor thing in my book. The food was good and the staff was friendly. I would definitely recommend to anyone traveling to Savannah.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

very nice place to stay. Very clean. Would definitely stay there again. Staff was very helpful. We had a little problem on check in because our room was being repaired but they gave us an upgraded room and made us very happy. enjoy their banana bread french toast for breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Savannah Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savannah Bed & Breakfast Inn

Address: 117 West Gordon Street at Chatham Square, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Savannah Bed & Breakfast Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savannah's Premier Bed & Breakfast Inn at Chatham Square, is in the heart of the historic district. Dating from 1853, the Inn is a block away from the splendor of Forsyth Park. The Inn combines the elegance of a historic private home with the comfort of a gracious inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Savannah Bed & Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savannah Hotel Savannah
Savannah Bed And Breakfast Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Savannah Bed & Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.