We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT LOCATION, SUPER ROOM, BREAKFAST LACKING” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Savannah Bed & Breakfast Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Savannah Bed & Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
Savannah Bed & Breakfast Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   117 West Gordon Street at Chatham Square, Savannah, GA 31401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 39 Savannah B&B and Inns
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“GREAT LOCATION, SUPER ROOM, BREAKFAST LACKING”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

If you are reasonably mobile and enjoy walking this is a great option. We stayed in the Tree Top room, which is really a suite, with generous bedroom and a large separate lounge/kitchenette. It is up two floors but worth the climb. The bathroom was a little snug and the shower a bit feeble, but bearable.
Savannah is a great town for walking, without the ubiquitous and infuriating traffic light junctions prevalent in larger towns. Drivers are very civil and pedestrian friendly. As stated in other reviews River Street is around a mile away but we simply took a different route each time we walked there, this way we got to see all of the beautiful squares and stumbled upon the less busy bars and and cafes, which worked out great. Chatham square, where SB&BI is located is lovely.
I have given 4 stars because of the breakfast. The format is great, as visitors from the UK we found that sitting at big tables and chatting to American residents was terrific, and an excellent source of travel tips and places to (and not to) visit.
The breakfast itself is served up as a complete meal, either 'sweet', 'savoury' of 'healthy', you have no say in what is provided. This makes it seem as though you are receiving rations, with no ability to get that second glass of orange juice, or yoghurt instead of pancakes etc. I can't see the attraction in this approach, why not just have a buffet, like virtually everywhere else, or take specific orders, cut down the waste and keep people happy. This is a bind as this B&B is not cheap so you would expect to be set up for the day before you set out. We stayed 5 nights, three average breakfasts, one awful St Patricks Day buffet and went elsewhere on the last day.
If the breakfast were sorted, great, as it is a recommendation is marginal, unfortunately.

Room Tip: Tree Top is huge, ideal for a longer stay, but two floors up fairly narrow stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    192
    67
    17
    13
See reviews for
81
395
24
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newton, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Nice location - close to Forsyth Park but a hike to the river. This is a string of 3 or 4 row houses put together as a B&B. The rooms were not-so-clean, the walls marked up. The bathroom moldy, the quality of fixtures and hardware 3rd rate. The "staff" was a motley assortment of employees - no innkeeper and partner to welcome you, The chairs in the breakfast area were too uncomfortable to spend any time in, which is just as well as the breakfast was not up to B&B standards. You'd be better off going to Waffle House or Denny's if you're really interested in breakfast. After two nights we moved to the Marriott Courtyard, which seemed like the Ritz by comparison, and was $100 less per night.

Room Tip: No pool or fitness. TA forced me to rate them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

My family stayed at the Savannah Bed and Breakfast Inn for 2 nights in March. My wife and 4 year old stayed in the Mossy Oak Suite which was very large and quite comfortable. My aunt and uncle stayed in the Library Room which was cozy and quiet in the main house.

From check-in to check-out the staff was attentive and very helpful. They took us through the property and then got us settled into our rooms. They also were great when it came to places to see and how to get there.

The included breakfast was absolutely delicious and they had multiple choices for all tastes and diets. The courtyard was a nice place to relax and eat.

In terms of location we thought it was perfect. The Inn is on the south side of the historic district but walking distance to everything. My wife, 4 year old daughter and aunt/uncle who are in their mid 70's had no problems walking to all the major sites. It was actually quite nice to stroll the streets and check out the squares etc along the way.

Would highly recommend staying at the Savannah B&B Inn for a few days while visiting Savannah.

Room Tip: Mossy Oak Suite was huge and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed in the Tree Top Suite for 2 nights and it was magical. Of course Savannah is an amazing city and our stay at Savannah B&B Inn made it more so. Our room was clean and well appointed with fresh linens and beautiful furnishings. The staff was great and our breakfasts left us full until well after noon! My husband really liked the chocolate chip cookies in the afternoons too. We will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Our Tree Top Suite was up two flights of stairs but that wasn't a problem for us and the privacy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrill, Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

It was just as I imagined the house to be. We were treated like queens by the staff. Three mid 60's women on a special vacation. I don't think I could make any suggestions to make it any better. We loved it. The house sleeps 8 so it was more than we needed but we wanted to make
this a special experience. Be warned there are stairs but the staff handled our baggage for us and after all it is a three story row house. The first morning I was sitting on the porch enjoying the garden area before anyone else was up. I heard the kitchen staff getting ready for breakfast so I went to the door in my pjs and asked if I could get a cup of coffee before breakfast hours. Although the house had a coffee maker and coffee in the kitchen, they were more than glad to invite me into the kitchen for an early cup of coffee. After that they brought a pot of hot coffee to the house as soon as I showed up on the porch. We were served our breakfast in the house and enjoyed eating in our pjs and planning the days events. This is truly a special place with exceptional staff. What a great memory I have of this place!!

Room Tip: Jasper House is the perfect place to experience a dream vacation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We spent 3 wonderful nights at the Savannah Inn in the Jasper House. The staff was delightful and always willing to take care of our needs. The breakfasts were absolutely wonderful, different every day and alwasy included fresh fruit with plenty of hot coffee. We chose to eat in our house and breakfast was always brought hot and with a smile! Our rooms were very comfortable and clean - we loved being in the historic atmosphere. Loved sitting out on the balcony,even one night decided just to stay in and enjoy the atmosphere. The oriental pieces and books in the rooms along with the period furniture were wonderful additions. The history of the Inn and about
Mr. McAllister made it even more inviting for us. When we come to Savannah again there is doubt where we stay- Savannah Inn.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We snuck away for a weekend to Savannah. The hospitality at this large bed and breakfast was very good. We stayed in the Master's Suite, a very large room with a four post-er bed with a mattress as high as my chest. The breakfast was Fanstastic! You order the night before. The location is nice -- very close to Forsyth park and not too far a walk to downtown.

Room Tip: Master's Suite is right above the dining area, and the dining area is loud in the morning. so i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Savannah Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savannah Bed & Breakfast Inn

Address: 117 West Gordon Street at Chatham Square, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Savannah Bed & Breakfast Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savannah's Premier Bed & Breakfast Inn at Chatham Square, is in the heart of the historic district. Dating from 1853, the Inn is a block away from the splendor of Forsyth Park. The Inn combines the elegance of a historic private home with the comfort of a gracious inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Savannah Bed & Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savannah Hotel Savannah
Savannah Bed And Breakfast Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Savannah Bed & Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.