We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Choice in Savannah” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   321 W Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25% Book Early
Ranked #29 of 112 hotels in Savannah
ponte vedra, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Choice in Savannah”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Clean, convenient to all the activities both on the river and to the Historical District. Very friendly and accommodating staff. Super comfortable king size bed. We are hotel snobs, but refuse to pay $300++ per night for a short getaway. Didn't have to! Great value for the buck!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie S, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you so much for leaving your review for other travelers. We hope we will see you again next time you visit Savannah.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    368
    248
    97
    48
    28
See reviews for
158
314
31
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
291 reviews 291 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This hotel is definitely a DO OVER! Second time staying in the Savannah area (one work/one fun) and would stay here again. Love the location of being close to City Market, Ellis Square and River Street. Everything is in walking distance once you park your car. We were also able to get a fabulous fun in the morning to Forsyth Park and the gorgeous fountain - it's just a little over a mile away from the hotel. Felt it was no problem with a couple of laps of the park to get 5 easy miles in.

It was the last night of our honeymoon and the hotel graciously provided a bottle of champagne for us to enjoy the evening. Definitely not expected.

Thank you HIG - look forward to seeing you again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The location of this property is great. It is clean and friendly. For the price, it is an awesome deal. If you can, request a balcony or corner room for extra comfort. There were some minor kinks but they were worked out. We even had them store some pizzas from Vinny Van Go Gos to take back with us when we left for home.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I have been to Savannah many times and always try to stay somewhere different. This was my second time staying here and it appears that the hotel has undergone a renovation. I requested, and received, a balcony room which was great since the weather was so nice. Valet and check-in were seamless and speedy. Staff was very nice. The room was spotless. While not fancy, the bed was comfortable and the rate was fair for what I received. Breakfast was not included but looked good and had a large selection to justify the $12.00 charge. This hotel is very well situated right on City Market and across the street from River Street. Excellent pizza at Vinnie's is 50 yards away. Excellent value for the location and service. This may be my new home away from home.

Room Tip: Rooms on other side of Bay Street are certainly quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metairie, Louisiana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

When we first checked-in, we smelled a strong stench of mold, or mildew. The staff handled it very well, and very promptly, and let us go around to other rooms until we found one that was suitable.

The beds were comfortable, the rooms were well-stocked, the staff was attentive, and it's just one very, very short walk to the Savannah River. I really didn't find any other hotels for the price in this location, and caliber.

We really enjoyed the rooftop pool & hot tub area, too. We went after the peak tourist season, so it wasn't crowded with screaming children like hotel pools usually are (sorry, but you know it's true).

My only complaint is that I wish they had a light continental breakfast included. They do have a breakfast buffet with bacon, eggs, etc., but you have to pay about $10 for it. I can't speak for whether or not it's worth it in terms of taste, since I declined. I'd rather walk to Goose Feathers or something for breakfast if I'm going to pay. They do have free coffee in the lobby, though.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie S, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for your review. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We apologize that you experienced and odor upon arrival but are pleased to read that our staff was able to assist you in finding the perfect room! We have also passed along your comments to our Food & Beverage Manager for review. Thank you for choosing our hotel and we hope we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomasville, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This is the third time I've stayed here and each time surpasses the other. Great guest rooms, restaurant and balcony. Close to the outdoor street stores and restaurants. Parking is convenient and each floor has a smoking balcony. Will be back for another stay both for business and for a getaway weekend!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskegon, Michigan
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We picked the Hilton for our honeymoon, expecting something a little more upscale. The Hilton Garden Inn was just your typical hotel, nothing special. We were a bit disappointed and would have picked a different hotel that included breakfast, for the lack of impression the Hilton left. Wasn't happy with the staff that checked us in (very distracted and not helpful). The staff the rest of the stay were friendly and helpful. Nice, close location to River Street.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie S, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you were not pleased with our hotel. We typically receive great feedback from our guests and apologize that you left unsatisfied. We hope you will give us another opportunity to host you in Savannah and provide you with an excellent experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District

Address: 321 W Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Savannah
#20 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#25 Family Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore historic downtown Savannah from Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District hotel, situated one block from River Street, City Market, and historic Broughton Street. Located just 20 minutes from Savannah International Airport, this hotel is within easy access of Savannah’s vibrant night life, shopping, dining, and entertainment options.Wake up to a delicious, full, cooked-to-order breakfast at Great American Grill® or sip on cool, evening drinks at this Savannah hotel’s inviting pub. Enjoy a fantastic selection of snack, treats, and microwavable meals in the 24-hour Pavilion Pantry® convenience store or feel invigorated with a revitalizing workout in the modern fitness center. Lounge in the outdoor pool or bathe in the warm, soothing whirlpool. Positioned near to a variety of businesses, this historic downtown Savannah hotel boasts five modern, versatile meeting rooms. Host a conference or special event for up to 120 guests and relax while professional planners take care of the details. Enjoy a comfortable, quiet space for work in the 24-hour Business Center and stay connected with complimentary WiFi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District Hotel Savannah
Savannah Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Savannah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.