We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice for stay in Savannah” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   321 W Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25% Book Early
Ranked #24 of 112 hotels in Savannah
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
109 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“Great choice for stay in Savannah”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Great location and very easy to find for first visit to Savannah. Checkin was quick and efficient and allocated room on street side which was changed to the back with no fuss as light sleeper.

Room was on second floor facing the pool area but no noise in the morning and the pool is closed at 11 p.m. Room was modern and spacious, very high ceiling !! Little fridge for water and big flat screen tv. Bathroom well lit, clean and everything in working order. The swimming pool was pleasant with loungers and chairs with a view over the car lot behind the hotel.

Breakfast was excellent, great eggs cooked to order and lots and lots of choice both cooked and chilled items. Staff were all nice and very helpful. Did not use valet as in town from Friday to Sunday and the street parking is free during that time. Easy to walk to everything from here be it restaurants or bars by the river so very pleased.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    361
    241
    89
    47
    27
See reviews for
152
299
31
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Milledgeville, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

The check in and check out process was quick. The rooms were clean. The breakfast is $9.00 but it is worth it! The 6th floor balcony has a great view facing the river. A lot of stores and restaurants within walking distance of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Location is perfect, staff is nice very personable.

However, it seems to us that high season is the summer and they were understaffed for being a full hotel, needed more luggage carts, valets, and oh yes, coffee, the free coffee was always out when I tried it.

Asked for a roll-out in reservation, still don't know how that works that Hilton allows you to ask but does nothing to accommodate.

Did not try restaurant or Bar service so we cannot comment on that.

Not a bad spot, would stay again but would try another hotel first, had better stay at Holiday Inn Express next door last year.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie S, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thank you very much for leaving your review however, I’m afraid you may be referring to another property in the Savannah Historic District. The Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District is not located next to a Holiday Inn Express. We do apologize that wherever you stayed though did not provide you with an excellent experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Decided to stop in Savannah on our way home from Florida. The hotel was in the perfect location to the historic district and there was plenty to do in the area. The staff was welcoming and all were happy to be there. The service was great from the housekeeping to the front desk - always greeted with a smile.
Although we were only there overnight, it is definitely a place we will return to in the future.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie S, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
We're so glad to hear that your visit to Savannah, although short, was pleasant. Thank you for leaving your review of our Hilton Garden Inn Historic District and we look forward to seeing you all in Savannah again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at this hotel. It is centrally located and you can walk everywhere. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is very clean. Great egg white omelettes for breakfast!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Experience was nice but ran into some small insect problems in the room. Not a major infestation but not what I have experienced in the past from this Brand. I would still recommend this hotel based on the excellent breakfast (was not included in stay but well worth the money) and location in Historic District.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie S, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
We deeply apologize that you experienced some insects while staying with us on your recent trip. We can assure you that our property is regularly treated and every precautionary measure is taken to ensure our rooms are free of any bugs. Again we do apologize and hope that you will give us another opportunity to host you in Savannah on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Savannah..... one of my favorite places. I normally stay at another hotel but it didn't have any rooms so I thought to try this place. I am so glad I did! This is only the second Hilton I have stayed at, but the room was perfect. It was clean and comfortable and had a balcony facing the river where we could see the 4th of July fireworks. It is close to everything in the historic district, and within walking distance of many great places to eat and visit.

The staff was great. The front desk clerks were warm and welcoming and the valets were quick to get my car and always had a smile and a hello for me. The only disappointment was the lack of a real bar. There was a small counter in the corner that had a few bottles, but it closed before 8:00 and if you want a drink you have to go to the hotel next door. Might as well walk a few blocks to Moon River for a beer then.

I have seen reviews with complaints of the street noise. I was on the 5th floor and always travel with a fan so I didn't hear anything. Actually one morning I slept until 8:00 am. However, if car noise will bother you, you may want to request a room facing away from Bay Street.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District

Address: 321 W Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Savannah
#15 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#20 Family Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore historic downtown Savannah from Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District hotel, situated one block from River Street, City Market, and historic Broughton Street. Located just 20 minutes from Savannah International Airport, this hotel is within easy access of Savannah’s vibrant night life, shopping, dining, and entertainment options.Wake up to a delicious, full, cooked-to-order breakfast at Great American Grill® or sip on cool, evening drinks at this Savannah hotel’s inviting pub. Enjoy a fantastic selection of snack, treats, and microwavable meals in the 24-hour Pavilion Pantry® convenience store or feel invigorated with a revitalizing workout in the modern fitness center. Lounge in the outdoor pool or bathe in the warm, soothing whirlpool. Positioned near to a variety of businesses, this historic downtown Savannah hotel boasts five modern, versatile meeting rooms. Host a conference or special event for up to 120 guests and relax while professional planners take care of the details. Enjoy a comfortable, quiet space for work in the 24-hour Business Center and stay connected with complimentary WiFi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District Hotel Savannah
Savannah Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Savannah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.