We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   321 W Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25% Book Early
Ranked #22 of 112 hotels in Savannah
Marietta, Georgia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We were in Savannah to see my daughter's school Orchestra perform and stayed at this hotel. It was full of high school students, but all seemed quite enough. The room was very comfortable and clean. Had to pay for parking like the majority of the places to stay. Had a pool and hot tub, but we never used it. Close to everything. Only downfall was that breakfast was not included and it was pretty high considering the cost of the room. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    359
    240
    88
    46
    27
See reviews for
151
299
29
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Great place to stay....even though we only stayed for one night, it was awesome....we travel alot and will becoming back to this area again and would book here again...so close to everything in the historic district as well as the water frount..

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmyra, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We picked this hotel because of its location, and it proved to be close to the river, the tours and everything else we needed to see. Very helpful front desk and concierge and valets were attentive. Breakfast was nicely done (but not included). We were upgraded to a corner room - lots of space. The traffic noise was not so bad on the 5th floor, but we were away from the front street.

I am a Hilton Honors member and felt treated very well here. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie S, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
We love when our guests have an excellent stay with us. Thank you for leaving your review for other travelers and spreading your affection for our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Yes the traffic outside the hotel on West Bay Street can be busy and noisy. However, the location is great. Just one block from River Street, City Market and historic Broughton Street. The rooms at Hilton Garden Inn are modern, clean and very comfortable. Ask for a room on back side of hotel where it is very quiet and peaceful. The staff is friendly and very helpful. Most people use the hotel valet parking, because there is no free parking in the area. If you schedule a reunion, banquet or wedding - the service is really good and food is quite tasty for hotel food.

Room Tip: ask for room facing the back of hotel, a room facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle V, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

We’re thrilled you had an excellent stay while you were in Savannah. We will be sure to pass your compliments on to our Food and Beverage Department as well as our Banquet Staff. Thank you for leaving your review for other travelers and we hope to have you as our guest once again.

Best,
Danielle Valenchis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is up to standards and close to everything but the street noise is very bad. It's not so fun hearing people yelling and cars racing by at 3 am two nights in a row. I would probably look elsewhere on my next trip.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle V, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

We’re glad you enjoyed the hotel’s close proximity for Savannah’s most famous attractions and do apologize if it was noisy during your stay. The hotels in the Historic District can have more city noise than a less active part of town and in order to ensure our guests are comfortable, we always have ear plugs available at the Front Desk. We understand if you would like to try a different hotel on your next visit but we hope you will return to stay with us for a better second experience.

Sincerely,
Danielle Valenchis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

On a return trip from Florida we stayed in Hilton properties on our trip home stopping in Savannah GA (this review) and Embassy Suites in Charleston SC and Lexington KY (both very good). However our experience at the HGI Historic District Savannah was not as good as it should have been. They had underground parking which was good and the staff was friendly. However, when we arrived we were "upgraded" to a "hospitality suite" which basically appeared to be a room used for gatherings with a small sitting area and a Murphy Bed with no night tables by the bed. Since it was for one night we didn't care all that much. The room had a balcony with two chairs which should be a nice plus however, the chairs had broken webbing - it would seem to me that if management visited the rooms periodically they would have noticed this. But the straw that broke this was that I left my computer keyboard in the room. When we got to the Charleston Embassy Suites I asked for the phone for the HGI in Savannah and immediately called about the keyboard and gave them my room - this was about 2 hours after we checked out. They said they would check and get back to me. After not hearing for 2-3 hours I called back and they said they got housekeeping on the phone and said they did not find a keyboard.

About a week after getting home I finally decided to send a message to HHonors with my complaints and 3 days later was told the manager would get back to me. The manager did e-mail me on April 13 (we stayed there March 30) that amazingly that Housekeeping had in fact found the keyboard and it was placed aside for shipping. I guess my question is why didn't they ship it? They had my HHonors# and access to my phone number, e-mail and address. The manager said he would put me in for a "certificate" and would FedEx the keyboard. I did receive it on April 18 but no correspondence about the certificate.

Many reviews for the hotel were very positive so maybe this was the exception - I certainly hope so.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle V, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

We must apologize for your negative experience while staying with us. As you have noted by our reviews, we are known as an excellent hotel but sometimes even we can make an honest mistake. Your keyboard was placed in a secure location which explains why it was not easily found but once it was located, it was shipped out to you immediately. We apologize you were not satisfied with our Hospitality Suite and we will take a look at the furniture to make any necessary repairs. We hope you enjoyed the full kitchen included with the suite. The request for a “Be My Guest” certificate has been processed on our end and can take upward of 30 days to receive in the mail from Hilton Worldwide. We hope you will chose to stay with us again for a more positive experience that our reputation is built upon.

Sincerely,
Danielle Valenchis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The Hilton Garden is an excellent location to visit all the historic sites in Savannah. Convenient to dining and other unique tourist attractions in the downtown area. The hotel staff is very courteous, and attune to what to see and offers good recommendations on dining in the city.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District

Address: 321 W Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Savannah
#16 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#21 Family Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore historic downtown Savannah from Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District hotel, situated one block from River Street, City Market, and historic Broughton Street. Located just 20 minutes from Savannah International Airport, this hotel is within easy access of Savannah’s vibrant night life, shopping, dining, and entertainment options.Wake up to a delicious, full, cooked-to-order breakfast at Great American Grill® or sip on cool, evening drinks at this Savannah hotel’s inviting pub. Enjoy a fantastic selection of snack, treats, and microwavable meals in the 24-hour Pavilion Pantry® convenience store or feel invigorated with a revitalizing workout in the modern fitness center. Lounge in the outdoor pool or bathe in the warm, soothing whirlpool. Positioned near to a variety of businesses, this historic downtown Savannah hotel boasts five modern, versatile meeting rooms. Host a conference or special event for up to 120 guests and relax while professional planners take care of the details. Enjoy a comfortable, quiet space for work in the 24-hour Business Center and stay connected with complimentary WiFi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District Hotel Savannah
Savannah Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Savannah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.