We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay for seeing Savannah” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   321 W Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25% Book Early
Ranked #29 of 112 Hotels in Savannah
Charleston, Illinois, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay for seeing Savannah”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Very convenient place for staying in Savannah and walking to many of the sights. The staff were all very friendly, particulary the concierges - Trina, and especially Pam. They were both a GREAT help in making the most of the limited free time I had during a recent professional conference in Savannah. Quiet, clean, and comfortable accommodations.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river - some even have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    273
    108
    52
    28
See reviews for
168
344
33
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

Check-in was fast and easy after reserving on-line. The AAA discount knocked off $20.00 (but the $18.00/day valet fee almost wiped that out). The front desk and valet staff were super nice. The room (King with Whirlpool tub) was one of the cleanest I have ever seen. The bed was very comfortable. The hotel is in a great location very close to the Savannah River. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

This hotel was in a great location for our first visit to Savannah, we could walk from the hotel to all locations in Savannah. Staff were very friendly and welcoming, it was easy to park, we had a clean room with a comfortable bed and had an excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

This Hilton is located only a couple of blocks from the riverfront and one block from Market Street. It is the perfect location. You don't have to deal with noise or crowds.

Our room was very clean, the bed was comfortable, and there was a variety of pillows to choose from (soft/firm).

Breakfast is not provided but there are so many great restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The property itself has a very good location backing up to the Market and fronting on Bay. From this location, you can launch your daily walkabouts in Savannah easily.

Our room, King Suite, was appointed well with the customary accoutrement of a Hilton Honors property. Nice shower head and comfortable bedding. Quiet A/C.

Breakfast was quite good and included cook to order waffles, pancakes, omeletes, eggs and eggs benedict along with sides of bacon, ham and sausage.

While that is normally enough to satisfy me for a stay, for this long time HH member I cannot remember a nicer staff at any other HH property. From the valets to front desk to housekeeping, each staff member greeted us, were smiling and happy to answer any inquiry or go the extra yard. In addition, theavailability of a conceirge to assist guests puts this staff at a different level when it comes to a property in this classification. The staff sets this property apart from every other HH hotel I have visited and deserve accommodation. Excellent staff.

Room Tip: To avoid music noise at night from the adjacent market, ask for a northern facing (Bay Street) room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed here when there was a Hotwire deal. Price was great however it was for a 4 star and this hotel is not. They did not have our room ready. We waited 2 hours. The room was simple like a 3 star would be. We would probably not get this hotel again unless we had that low price. Some people paid double what we did so I can imagine how they felt. The city itself made up for the initial poor experience when we got to the hotel.

Room Tip: Check for deals before you book. Hotwire, Priceline etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle V, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are pleased you enjoyed the historic city and chose to stay with us for your visit to Savannah. We apologize you were mislead on the hotel’s rating but the AAA rating is 3 out of 5 diamonds for the hotel. The wait time for your room was unusually long and uncharacteristic for our hotel and we apologize for the inconvenience. We invite you to stay with us again for a more exceptional stay on your next trip to Savannah.

Sincerely,
Danielle Valenchis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

For paying $96/night (AAA rate in January), I was really happy with the quality of this hotel and the location truly can't be beat. It is right off the City Market square (pedestrian area with live music, bars, cafes, shopping, etc.) and also only a block off the River Walk. I don't think there is a better location to be in the historic area of Savannah.

The hotel was nice! A lot nicer than I was expecting for $96. For that price, we were on the 4th floor and had a balcony and small view of the river. It wasn't fancy but clean and what you would think you'd get from a Hilton Garden Inn. All of the staff were extremely nice and helpful.

The live music outside at night was a bit of an issue. We were on the 4th floor, our friends on the 6th (top) floor, and the music was on the other side of the hotel at a bar and it was still loud enough to keep us awake! It went on well past midnight and normally that wouldn't bother me, but that is really how loud it was. I assume (hope?) it is only weekends but just wanted to write about it as I could see some people really having a problem with it.

IMPORTANT NOTE for travelers: Save yourself $18/night and park on the street! Savannah city parking is free on the weekends - Saturdays included! Just be sure to read the signs as they do street sweeping and you could get a ticket if you're parked in that area during the street sweeping time. We found multiple spots only a few easy blocks away and left the car there all weekend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District

Address: 321 W Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Savannah
#21 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#25 Family Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore historic downtown Savannah from Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District hotel, situated one block from River Street, City Market, and historic Broughton Street. Located just 20 minutes from Savannah International Airport, this hotel is within easy access of Savannah’s vibrant night life, shopping, dining, and entertainment options.Wake up to a delicious, full, cooked-to-order breakfast at Great American Grill® or sip on cool, evening drinks at this Savannah hotel’s inviting pub. Enjoy a fantastic selection of snack, treats, and microwavable meals in the 24-hour Pavilion Pantry® convenience store or feel invigorated with a revitalizing workout in the modern fitness center. Lounge in the outdoor pool or bathe in the warm, soothing whirlpool. Positioned near to a variety of businesses, this historic downtown Savannah hotel boasts five modern, versatile meeting rooms. Host a conference or special event for up to 120 guests and relax while professional planners take care of the details. Enjoy a comfortable, quiet space for work in the 24-hour Business Center and stay connected with complimentary WiFi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District Hotel Savannah
Savannah Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Savannah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.