We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   321 W Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25% Book Early
Ranked #20 of 111 hotels in Savannah
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

This hotel was in a great location for our first visit to Savannah, we could walk from the hotel to all locations in Savannah. Staff were very friendly and welcoming, it was easy to park, we had a clean room with a comfortable bed and had an excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    326
    218
    80
    41
    26
See reviews for
132
265
28
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

This Hilton is located only a couple of blocks from the riverfront and one block from Market Street. It is the perfect location. You don't have to deal with noise or crowds.

Our room was very clean, the bed was comfortable, and there was a variety of pillows to choose from (soft/firm).

Breakfast is not provided but there are so many great restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nome, Alaska
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The property itself has a very good location backing up to the Market and fronting on Bay. From this location, you can launch your daily walkabouts in Savannah easily.

Our room, King Suite, was appointed well with the customary accoutrement of a Hilton Honors property. Nice shower head and comfortable bedding. Quiet A/C.

Breakfast was quite good and included cook to order waffles, pancakes, omeletes, eggs and eggs benedict along with sides of bacon, ham and sausage.

While that is normally enough to satisfy me for a stay, for this long time HH member I cannot remember a nicer staff at any other HH property. From the valets to front desk to housekeeping, each staff member greeted us, were smiling and happy to answer any inquiry or go the extra yard. In addition, theavailability of a conceirge to assist guests puts this staff at a different level when it comes to a property in this classification. The staff sets this property apart from every other HH hotel I have visited and deserve accommodation. Excellent staff.

Room Tip: To avoid music noise at night from the adjacent market, ask for a northern facing (Bay Street) room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed here when there was a Hotwire deal. Price was great however it was for a 4 star and this hotel is not. They did not have our room ready. We waited 2 hours. The room was simple like a 3 star would be. We would probably not get this hotel again unless we had that low price. Some people paid double what we did so I can imagine how they felt. The city itself made up for the initial poor experience when we got to the hotel.

Room Tip: Check for deals before you book. Hotwire, Priceline etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle V, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are pleased you enjoyed the historic city and chose to stay with us for your visit to Savannah. We apologize you were mislead on the hotel’s rating but the AAA rating is 3 out of 5 diamonds for the hotel. The wait time for your room was unusually long and uncharacteristic for our hotel and we apologize for the inconvenience. We invite you to stay with us again for a more exceptional stay on your next trip to Savannah.

Sincerely,
Danielle Valenchis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

For paying $96/night (AAA rate in January), I was really happy with the quality of this hotel and the location truly can't be beat. It is right off the City Market square (pedestrian area with live music, bars, cafes, shopping, etc.) and also only a block off the River Walk. I don't think there is a better location to be in the historic area of Savannah.

The hotel was nice! A lot nicer than I was expecting for $96. For that price, we were on the 4th floor and had a balcony and small view of the river. It wasn't fancy but clean and what you would think you'd get from a Hilton Garden Inn. All of the staff were extremely nice and helpful.

The live music outside at night was a bit of an issue. We were on the 4th floor, our friends on the 6th (top) floor, and the music was on the other side of the hotel at a bar and it was still loud enough to keep us awake! It went on well past midnight and normally that wouldn't bother me, but that is really how loud it was. I assume (hope?) it is only weekends but just wanted to write about it as I could see some people really having a problem with it.

IMPORTANT NOTE for travelers: Save yourself $18/night and park on the street! Savannah city parking is free on the weekends - Saturdays included! Just be sure to read the signs as they do street sweeping and you could get a ticket if you're parked in that area during the street sweeping time. We found multiple spots only a few easy blocks away and left the car there all weekend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalton, Georgia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This is not the cheapest hotel in the area but we found it to be 100% worth the price.The valet parking could be a nuisance if you plan to drive in&out alot.I suggest having your stuff organized so that you bring in anything you need from the car when you arrive(jackets,sunglasses,etc.).Check-in was fast&smooth,the room was clean&spacious.The tolietries were from Bath&Body Works&Neutrogena-nice touch.The hotel was great but the overall best part is the location.We walked everywhere.Very close to River Street&many restaurants.Tons of things to see within walking distance.Hotel has a pantry next to the check-in desk if you have the munchies in the middle of the night(Ben&Jerry's ice cream..mmm).We had originally thought that staying at one of the historic inns would make our trip more enjoyable but now we both agree that because of the location&everything working out so perfectly with our stay here we will stay at this Hilton on our next visit too. **BTW,we had breakfast in the lobby twice&it was the best meals of our trip to me.They have a small buffet but you can also request stuff cooked to order.They have several fruit choices,cereals,pastries&juices available self-serve as well as coffee,teas&other drinks by request.

Room Tip: We stayed on the front side of the hotel above the lobby&it was pleasant-no noise problem. Be su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I spent 3 nights in this hotel and the experience was excellent. The breakfast is very good for
a price of $9.95 plus tax you cant ask more. Customer service since you arrive till you leave is
outstanding. If you are flying to Savannah the airport to the center of the city is about 20 minutes and taxis have a flat rate of $28.00. I arrived there at midnight and getting a taxi was a little troublesome but not impossible.The city of Savannah is amazing itself with a lot of history.
Please visit the catholic cathedral to see its interior and the gothic Synagoge both are impressive...Have a good trip and enjoy Savannah!!!!!

Room Tip: ine was on the 4th floor and it was ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District

Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District Hotel
Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District Hotel Savannah
Hilton Garden Inn Savannah
Savannah Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Savannah
Savannah Hilton
Address: 321 W Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Savannah
#24 Family Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore historic downtown Savannah from Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District hotel, situated one block from River Street, City Market, and historic Broughton Street. Located just 20 minutes from Savannah International Airport, this hotel is within easy access of Savannah’s vibrant night life, shopping, dining, and entertainment options.Wake up to a delicious, full, cooked-to-order breakfast at Great American Grill® or sip on cool, evening drinks at this Savannah hotel’s inviting pub. Enjoy a fantastic selection of snack, treats, and microwavable meals in the 24-hour Pavilion Pantry® convenience store or feel invigorated with a revitalizing workout in the modern fitness center. Lounge in the outdoor pool or bathe in the warm, soothing whirlpool. Positioned near to a variety of businesses, this historic downtown Savannah hotel boasts five modern, versatile meeting rooms. Host a conference or special event for up to 120 guests and relax while professional planners take care of the details. Enjoy a comfortable, quiet space for work in the 24-hour Business Center and stay connected with complimentary WiFi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, Tingo, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.