We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice New Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   321 W Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25% Book Early
Ranked #31 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Albany, Georgia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Very Nice New Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This is a relatively new hotel so everything is very nice. Rooms are very nice, breakfast buffet was good and resonably priced. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Valet parking in their underground garage is required. Consider it part of staying in a nice hotel in the city, like so many other cities. Once parked, we did not need our car again until we left two days later.

The hotel is located directly in front of City Market, where much of the night life and restaurants are. Everything else in the Historic District is a walk away.

And now the bad. Bay Street. This is an extremely busy and noisy thoroughfare. A room on the back of the hotel facing the town would no doubt be much quieter than the rooms facing the river, which are directly over the street. Luckely, I travel with ear plugs for just such circumstances, so I got through it. Any of the hotels alobg Bay Street will have the same noise issue. This hotel would have gotten a 5 if not for the road.

I would certainly stay here again. I will ask for a room in the back, and keep my earplugs near.

Room Tip: Face the city, not the river. The view of the river is nice, but it is not worth the noise at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle V, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are very happy to hear you enjoyed our spacious rooms and location of the hotel. We do apologize that you didn’t love the Bay Street side of the hotel. Next time you stay with us, you can enjoy a different view of Savannah and face City Market and overlook the Historic District. We never want our guests to sleep unsoundly! Thank you for leaving your review and we hope to see you again soon.

All the best,
Danielle Valenchis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

934 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    296
    123
    62
    29
See reviews for
183
376
35
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Duluth, Georgia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Kristina Rhodes was so nice. She told me how to get around in the Savannah area. She told my business partners and I about a food place called Fiddlers which was great. She gave us a very easy route to St. Simons beach. The rooms were clean with a great pool,jacuzzi, and workout facility. Thank you Kristina for a great stay here. I plan to visit again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

The location is perfect for walking around downtown Savannah! We walked everywhere and this was perfect. It is between two major nightlife areas and we definitely felt safe walking around late at night.

The pool area was small, but nice. It got a little bit crowded, but nothing too crazy.
Rooms were nice. Service was on par with other HGIs around the country. You're not going to get anything specially fancy, but everything was as to be expected. I will definitely stay here again when in Savannah.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle V, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Hello Guest,

We are very pleased that you loved the location of our hotel and enjoyed all the services of our Hilton Garden Inn. We strive to give our guests the best in service when they stay with us and we thank you for sharing your experiences with other travelers. We hope to see you again soon!

All the best,
Danielle Valenchis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

You area close enough to riverwalk to enjoy savannah and yet far enough to get a good nights rest after a long day. The staff was accommodating and gracious. The food was good (if you have time it still would be cheaper to it out of the hotel). Rooms were updated, clean, and modern.Take advantage of the valet parking especially with parking being so hard to find in that area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle V, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
We’re glad you enjoyed being one block from River Street and found the hotel comfortable and clean. We love the photo you took of the room – so welcoming it makes us want to take a nap upstairs! Thank you for staying with us and leaving your review for other travelers. We hope you will return again soon.

All the best,
Danielle Valenchis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I cannot say enough positives about the Hotel Staff from the Front Desk, Valets, Bar/Restaurant to Housekeeping Personnel. The Hotel is well kept and the location is convenient to a number of shops and restaurants. However, the road noise is unbelievable and for our next trip to Savannah we will be staying elsewhere in the city. I booked our September reservation way back in March and specifically asked for a quiet room on the City Market side of the hotel. I even called the hotel a week in advance asking for that. Our room was on the 5th floor right on busy West Bay Street with a view of the river, power plant stacks, the run-down hotel across the street, and the never-ending heavy truck traffic. I even resorted to wearing ear plugs on our 1st night, but even 5 floors up you could hear and feel the truck traffic. The 2nd night had the added police car chase down below. So overall a nice hotel in a terrible location.

Room Tip: If they cannot guarantee the City Market side do look elsewhere or pack hearing protection and a whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle V, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
We’re glad you enjoyed our excellent staff and the clean upkeep of the hotel. Being one block from River Street and adjacent to City Market, there is traffic noise from Bay Street and we apologize you found this uncomfortable. Rooms are assigned on the day of arrival and although we try our best to accommodate all the requests of our guests, sometimes due to availability we cannot fulfill every one. We deeply apologize you did not receive a room on the City Market side and felt unsatisfied in your stay. We hope you will enjoy your future visits to Savannah.

All the best,
Danielle Valenchis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greer, South Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is the ONLY hotel I can give 100% to regarding excellent customer service From the minute we pulled into the hotel to park someone from the Valet service greeted us as we got out of our car. Otis welcomed us to the Doubletree, unloaded our bags, and told us to please check in and he would bring our luggage to us. He was up with our luggage within 15 minutes of us arriving in our room. We were greeted promptly at the front desk and were on our way to our room with our complimentary cookies within 10 minutes. The room was clean, the beds were perfect and the view was outstanding. We were overlooking the bridge and the river. .We had breakfast he following morning and were waited on by Michelle, who had to be one of the most efficient and friendly waitresses we're ever had. The cleaning staff was friendly and everyone who works at the Doubletree spoke to us as we walked by. The day we were to checkout they allowed us to keep our car in the parking garage until 2:00p.m. while we went to shop one last time. I realized, when I returned, I locked my keys in my car. The Valet attentant, Nathaniel, went above and beyond in helping me call someone to come help us. After waiting 30 minutes for the service to arrive, the facilites person said he would help us get into the car. We were leaving the Doubletree 20 minutes later. I truly have not ever had a better experience than staying at this particular Doubletree Hotel. Thank you to each of you for your excellent customer service.

Room Tip: If you want the ultimate customer care, clean rooms, great food, convenient location to River Street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Hotel billed me $50 for incidentals that I did not use, They failed to remove charges after my complaints for three weeks, although their stated policy is three days. I do not have the time to track which hotel misbills me. They admitted their error and the refuse to honor their own 100% satisfaction guarantee. This cost me mutiple phone calls with Hilton, the Historic Garden Inn and my credit company. Put on hold and dropped, very poor service.

If you stay there, check your credit card for the next mionth!

Room Tip: stay on first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle V, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

We deeply apologize that you encountered problems regarding the incidentals charge. Our policy states we reverse all incorrect charges within 3-7 business days and from there it goes to the company or bank. Please know, that some companies can take up to 30 days to remove charges from a credit card. Instances like this are out of character for our hotel and we sincerely apologize you didn’t receive the Hilton Garden Inn stay you deserve. It is our hope that you will return to the Hilton Garden Inn for an improved experience of our excellent staff and services.

Sincerely,
Danielle Valenchis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District

Address: 321 W Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Savannah
#22 Family Hotel in Savannah
#26 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore historic downtown Savannah from Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District hotel, situated one block from River Street, City Market, and historic Broughton Street. Located just 20 minutes from Savannah International Airport, this hotel is within easy access of Savannah’s vibrant night life, shopping, dining, and entertainment options.Wake up to a delicious, full, cooked-to-order breakfast at Great American Grill® or sip on cool, evening drinks at this Savannah hotel’s inviting pub. Enjoy a fantastic selection of snack, treats, and microwavable meals in the 24-hour Pavilion Pantry® convenience store or feel invigorated with a revitalizing workout in the modern fitness center. Lounge in the outdoor pool or bathe in the warm, soothing whirlpool. Positioned near to a variety of businesses, this historic downtown Savannah hotel boasts five modern, versatile meeting rooms. Host a conference or special event for up to 120 guests and relax while professional planners take care of the details. Enjoy a comfortable, quiet space for work in the 24-hour Business Center and stay connected with complimentary WiFi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District Hotel Savannah
Savannah Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Savannah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.