We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ghost Tour” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Old Town Trolley Tours of Savannah

Old Town Trolley Tours of Savannah
River Street, 234 Martin Luther King Blvd (main ticket booth), Savannah, GA 31401
912 233 0083
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #41 of 139 activities in Savannah
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: You haven’t seen Savannah until you’ve been on Old Town Trolley Tours. Discover the charm of Georgia’s oldest city with 15 stops on this 90-minute narrated tour where guests can disembark for shopping, dining and attractions all day. See the City Market, River Street, the squares, and the stunning homes of the Historic District. Specialty tours include Ghost & Gravestones frightseeing tour and the Paula Deen Tour. All tours have a 100% money back guarantee.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Bellmawr, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Ghost Tour”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We took this tour on Friday September 21st. It was the worst ghost tour I have ever been on. Our tour guide was a young lady who was very dramatic and annoying. She made the tour silly and everyone lost interest in what she was saying. I have never wanted to jump off a trolley before I sure did this night. Take the Hearst tour or Old Savannah ghost tour,you will have more fun !

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavannahTrolleyTours, General Manager at Old Town Trolley Tours of Savannah, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
I am sorry to hear about your experience with our tour. We do have a 100% money back guarantee that you can easily access by visiting the customer service area of our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    656
    288
    114
    45
    41
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, FL, USA
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Ghost Tour”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We were happy to sit for a tour after walking all day, but this tour is really just campy and silly. Skip it if you don't want to spend $55. You won't be missing anything. But, if you have children who like to be scared a bit, it's probably a good adventure. Teens would definitely prefer the Hearse Ghost Tour IMHO.
OK for once, but not again without children who would love it.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmer, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“great time !!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

we went to savannah to celebrate our 13 th wedding anniversary..........we took the dolphin cruise on tybee island........amazing !!! then we took the trolley tour of savannah..............we had the best guide....cheri......she was not only very informative but funny.............we went to dinner at bubba's and at love's....both great seafood restaurants...........we even found a place to buy steamed blue crabs to bring home.yummy !!!!!!!!
we had a wonderful time and look forward to a return trip in the spring............

well worth the money!!!!!!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fun and informative”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We had several sights we wanted to visit in Savannah and weren't quite sure how to get to them so we decided the on/off trolley trip was the way to go. We really enjoyed the history lesson that the drivers gave as they took us around the city. Some drivers were more animated than others but that is just human nature. We really enjoyed Michael - he gave the best details. Hollywood (of course) was the most humorous and he gave "quizzes" to make sure you were listening. If you answered quickly and correctly he gave out palmetto roses as prizes. Very sweet. It was a very safe and efficient way to get around the city plus we learned a little something too. :)

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, CA
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Try another company/tour”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I was very disappointed in our tour. Our hotel recommended the Oglethorpe (Gray Line) tour and I wish we had done that but we didn't see the kiosk and we did want the ability to hop off-and-on. We ended up not wanting/needing to hop off. If you’re in reasonable shape, everything is close enough to walk anyway. The first tour guide we had was personable and clear, if a little cheesy (think Jungle Boat ride at Disneyland). We only had her for 2 stops. You are forced to change trolleys at stop 1. We then ended up with a man who was hard to hear and just kind of ran through the script. The trolleys drive by the houses and points of interest so fast that it’s hard to follow the information (or see what they are discussing) before you’ve passed it by. If you have a lot of time and are looking to get your bearings, I guess this tour would serve its purpose, but it frankly just isn’t informative enough for me. And $26 for the ride wasn’t worth it.

Next time I’m in Savannah I will take a walking tour where we get more time and more information from someone who can answer questions and give us more insight into our particular interests.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavannahTrolleyTours, General Manager at Old Town Trolley Tours of Savannah, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for taking time to review our tour. I am terribly sorry to read about the experience you had aboard Old Town Trolley Tours of Savannah. All of our tours and attractions are backed up by a 100% money back guarantee which you can access by visiting the customer service area of our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Town Trolley Tours of Savannah also viewed

 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Old Town Trolley Tours of Savannah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Town Trolley Tours of Savannah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Old Town Trolley Tours of Savannah to your Saves list