We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A, almost an A+” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Drayton St., Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #33 of 112 Hotels in Savannah
Washington, DC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A, almost an A+”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2006

We stayed there for 3 nights in December and I think it had just opened recently. The room was beautiful and the bathroom amazing. Despite some quirks, overall, the value for the money is terrific. The location was perfect- tucked away yet convenient to walk downtown.

A few notes:
1. The staff seemed friendly and competent - even though the nice "taxi" driver missed our pick up location at a downtown restaurant, we called the Mansion and quickly were picked up. Nonetheless,from the British lady at the front desk to the SCAD student workers, the staff was overwhelmingly nice and prompt - far exceeding my expectations after some of my hotel stays. The room service meal was fantastic and reasonably priced.
2. Maybe it was because the hotel had just opened, we noticed a few "punch list" things wrong with our room. Not annoying enough to have them move us to a different room or have maintenance interrupt our stay, but you do wonder why things like towel racks were falling off, or the beautiful glass showers leaked water everywhere.

Despite these things, I would definitely recommend the Mansion and look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,084 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    565
    262
    129
    70
    58
See reviews for
162
530
25
118
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2006

We spent 3 nights here celebrating my 60th birthday. We have traveled extensively and feel this is one of the finest hotels we've stayed in. The owner's personal art collection is a marvel. The decor is totally unique. All rooms are well appointed with luxury linens and amenities. The staff was thoroughly attentive. We ate 2 breakfasts and one dinner in the restaurant and found the food to be well prepared and presented and the service was excellent. When the desk staff learned it was my birthday, they sent a complimentary bottle of wine with fruit & cheese to our room. We highly recommend this hotel & will stay here again. It is part of the Kessler Hotel collection and we are staying at one of their other hotels in Taos soon.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2006

Beautiful! We arrived at 3 am, had planned to stop before arriving in Savannah but couldn't find any "good" choices. Hotel was very courteous, helping provide directions to their property and accommodations a night early. Of course we paid for the extra night. Upon arrival the security guard acted as our bellman and gave us a thirty minute tour of the hotel with the history as he knew it. We loved the decor and the feel of a quaint "boutique hotel". The pool is small, but it was never crowded. We were there for three days for a wedding and reception, which was beautiful! Valet was really the only option for parking. The only complaint would be room service took nearly an hour one day. When I inquired and complained they credited the charge and apologized. Would return to the hotel and try a cooking class the next time! Recently saw great deals for this property at travelzoo web site which make it even better! Found the art and unusual decor to be the charm of this hotel...

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2006

Never stayed at a posh Hotel before, so this was close to perfect. The staff was very helpful and the new saying in my life is "my pleasure", because that is what they strive to do. The rooms were magnificient, food at the very impressive and beautifully decorated 700 Drayton was excellent.

The rooms were very nice, but if you are shy, beware of the bathrooms.

The Spa was one of the most wonderful expereinces and the staff was well versed and trained.

Over all the stay would be for special ocassions, but oh how special everyone there made the experience. I would recommend highly. Thank you all for a positive life experience.

Stayed May 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2006

The Mansion is beautiful. The owners have obviously put in a great deal of time and money to make sure that every detail is accounted for. The staff is willing to do whatever you need. The beds are probably the most comfortable I have ever slept in. The artwork throughout the buidling makes you feel like you are walking through a gallery on the way to your room. Located right across the street from the park and a quick walk into historic downtown, you can't beat the location.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2006

I was very impressed from the moment i arrived at the Mansion and was welcomed with bright smiling faces. I absolutely love the eclectic decor... it is bright, interesting and fun, and the attention to detail is brilliant! and if you love chandeliers... all shapes and sizes... this is the place for you! The amenities were first class. The hotel is gorgeous, even the hallways and elevators (look up). Our room was amazing... but if you're the least bit modest, look for that robe provided in the armoir! The Spa makes you feel like you've walked onto a cloud... and while my friend did not get a good manicure, especially for the price, it was still a lovely experience. The bar in the lobby is beautiful and unique and you can sit and listen to some live music while sipping a southern cocktail! I loved the restaurant... one Can experience sensory overload... but it's fun! Everywhere you look is something beautiful and interesting and colorful!! and the food... First Rate !! Great bar upstairs with live music and a balcony to spend those warm evenings.

One of the absolute Highlights of the entire trip came as a Big surprise to me.... A Cooking Class at the Mansion!! I did not originally want to take it... but my friend was interested in baking, so i tagged along, and am i Glad I did !!! It's hands on.. and we laughed a Lot while we were learning fun things!! I would recommend it to Everyone !!!

PS: We thought the location was perfect... and walked Everywhere !! just bring your walking shoes... you don't want to miss one beautiful square inch of Savannah's historic district!!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2006

A friend and I stayed at the Mansion in April 2006. We loved it. Every detail has been attended to. The decor is lovely, fun and meticulously finished. Our room, facing the park, had a great view, interesting furnishings and every comfort - from the spa tub to the sparkling chandelier over the easy chair for reading. There is a lot of glass in the bathroom, so not much privacy. Be sure you stay with someone you're comfortable with! The service at the Bell Stand was outstanding, and the shuttle around town really added to the ease of our trip. The concierge didn't seem to have any info that we couldn't get from the city magazine left in our room. Better to get advice from the Bell Stand or the wait staff in the restaurants. The service at the spa was just OK, but the facility itself is gorgeous. The restaurant, in the original, restored mansion, is simply beautiful, and the food and service were excellent on the night we ate there. We also really enjoyed the upstairs bar with live, local music.

The big highlight of our trip, though, was the cooking school. Be sure to book a class, or ask for something custom if they don't fit your schedule. Chef Darin is super knowledgeable, a great teacher and very entertaining. The cooking school facility is amazing. Absolutely worth the price.

I definitely recommend it, and would absolutely stay there again - next time, for a romantic weekend with my husband!

Stayed April 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection

Address: 700 Drayton St., Savannah, GA 31401
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
#14 Business Hotel in Savannah
#24 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#33 Family Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion On Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection Hotel Savannah
Mansion On Forsyth Park Savannah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.