We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique and fabulous!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection

Save Saved
You added Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Drayton St., Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #33 of 112 hotels in Savannah
Fresh Meadows, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Unique and fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We travel pretty extensively, so we don't use the word unique lightly. The Mansion on Forsyth Park was a real surprise - and a treasure. The location, right across the street from the beautiful park and famous fountain is ideal if you plan to explore the city on foot. The owner is very into music and art work, so it's a bit like staying in a gallery. There was even an art show one night when we were there. The concierge (although she did tell us she would arrange a taxi for us, and did not) was very helpful and set us up at some fabulous restaurants. The bell staff was super friendly and went above and beyondl. And we adored the room! Cool furniture, great layout, comfortable bed! Our only complaint was, while the bathtub was built for luxury and was really wonderful, the shower was AWFUL. We are both shower people and the nonexistent pressure made it frustrating just to try to get the shampoo out of our hair. I would suggest to the management that they fix that, because then our stay would have been pretty near to perfect.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,014 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    531
    246
    119
    64
    54
See reviews for
151
496
23
113
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Hoboken, NJ
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

The mansion is a beautiful property located off of Forsyth Park. It is a nice and relaxing area away from the touristy area on River Street. It is still within easy walking distance to everything as long as you are comfortable walking. They also have a free shuttle
To the sister property, Grand Bohemian, which is near River Street.

Pros:
Great location if you want to utilize the park and be out of the touristy area
Standard room was large as well as bathroom
Concierge was helpful and staff friendly
Spa on site-I went once and it was a nice massage
Restaurant on site-700 Drayton excellent dinner and service. Modern decor in an old mansion

Cons: Every day there were private events (both corporate and weddings) in the pool area. There was a permanent tent set up. Music and noise started before 8:30 am and went until 11:45pm at night. Usually stopping during the day. There was a jazz fest going on at the park when we arrived so we had requested a quiet room but our room was far from quiet. Even with the fan I travel with you would hear the music and over the TV. We were on the third of four floors. I called twice one night and was told at 11 it would end shortly so had to call back.

Restaurant recommendations:
I preface this by saying we are from the NYC area so we enjoy good food and good service that isn't in the main tourist area. We are also in our late 30s and early 40s respectively.
-700 Drayton even though its in the hotel, the meal and service were outstanding and the atmosphere is nice. There is also outdoor seating.
-45 east (on broughton) small restaurant, best service we experienced in Savannah, excellent meal and dessert. There is a nice bar if you want to grab a drink before your meal. Make a reservation because there aren't many tables.
-The Old Pink House- we went based on the recommendations online and of friends. I would pass. The place is so busy that it isn't relaxing. You are going to get a lot of tourists (you could tell by the shorts and flip flops). The food was average. We went the night before we went to 45 east and we overheard the couple next to us at 45 east the next night also complaining about Pink House and saying how 45 East was much better.
-Public (twice for lunch) great food and service. You can dine outside. Dinner would be great I am sure as well.
-Crystal Beer Parlor (lunch) more of a local place and closer to Forsyth Park. From the outside it looks like a dive bar but its an old fashioned bar that's been redone. We ate at a booth. There are some great local shops nearby. You could also sit at the bar.

Room Tip: Pick park side as pool side is loud even in the fall and winter with events
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Georgia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Although I did get a special rate during our stay, I would never pay the regular rate for this hotel. The rooms are just a little better than average and definitely not mansion quality. However, the biggest problem with this hotel was the sub par service. It started when the bellman berated us for not letting him take our one suitcase up to the room for us. Then the housekeeping staff was too busy talking to each other to lt us pass in the hallway. But the worst thing was getting left standing and waiting for the hotel shuttle to pick us up at their sister hotel, The Bohemian, for an hour after they had been called by the Bohemian and did not show up at the scheduled time (after being called) two times in row! On top of that the desk clerk tried to blame everyone else including the Bohemian for leaving us standing for an hour rather than apologizing. The poor cab driver who finally brought us back to the hotel had to go back to the Bohemian to get paid after he was assured on the phone by the staff at the Bohemian that the Kesller Hotel Group would take care of the charges because the Mansion front Desk was too busy trying to deflect responsibility. I will never stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Loved the stay here. Rooms were large and well appointed. The ballrooms were beautiful and the food was wonderful. Definitely would recommend and stay there again! A very positive experience. There was great music in Forsyth Park and fun feel to the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Positives:
1. Nice room and bathroom
2. Paintings hung throughout the hotel and hallways (cute decor)
3. Shuttle to and from its sister property downtown

Negatives:
1. Charging for internet/WiFi (hello this is 2013)
2. Location is away from where you really want to be (downtown)
3. Price tag on everything in the room (water, bath salths, robes, etc)
4. Older crowd

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

My husband and I took advantage of an online offer to stay at the Mansion on Forsyth Park and tour Savannah. The hotel was gorgeous--I was so amazed by the uniqueness of our room that I didn't unpack until I took pictures! Our only complaint was the softness of the bed--I suspect the mattress needed replacing. Everything else was in great shape and clean. The staff was friendly and quick to respond to any requests. It's location in the historic district with Forsyth Park right across the street and the free shuttle stop half a block away made its location perfect for us. We had a great couple of days in Savannah.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

The Manison on Frosyth Park is recommended for Premium Plus Marriott Vacation club owners, but oddly enough, it doesn't seem to meet usual Marriott high standards, even though it is locally rated a 4 diamond hotel. Example a) we received an email about 72 hours before check in from Joe Kelly, General Manager, asking us if we wanted to upgrade, for $30 per night, to a Conceriege Level Guestroom, plus access to the conceriege lounge. The problem is they don't have a conceriege Leverl Guestroom anymore, so the General Manager memo is obsolete. Also, as a Gold Elite Marriott member, we have access to the conceriege lounge, so why would they want us to pay $30 extra per night. Example b) the phone is the guest room has the hotel fax number on it. But we learned the hard way (by having a fax sent to that number) that it is the wrong number, and it goes into an adminstrative office, and the front desk person told us that delays the fax getting to the guest by one day. Example c) the front desk did not give us an internet info....which is free to Gold Elite members, and example d) when we tried to call the front desk to find out how to access internet without paying the $9.95 per night, we found out the phone in the guest room was dead, and example e) we had trouble with our keys working the elevators the very first time....they did work the room....and a porter on the floor at the time just blew it off....and said "nothing he could do about it....go back to front desk." and example f) when we went to our room, we waited 15-20 minutes and had no bags delivered....went back downstairs and they said they forgot to ask our name when they took our bags, so they just sat there waiting for someone to claim them. Marriott vacation club deducted 2,025 destination points for a 3 night weekday stay, so it was a disappointing ROI on those Marriott points. I actually had to ask the front desk person....Is this a Marriott?.....to which he said "yes, we are affliated" but they clearly don't know Marriott high standards.
On the positive side, the conceriege lounge did have a nice continental breakfast the and staff was very nice. Also, someone held the front door open almost every time when you come in/out, with a nice warm greeting, and the lobby had a nice function of serving cookies and tea late each afternoon.
But was it worth 2,025 premium vacation points for 3 days weekend.....NO. Marriott should reevalute their marketing of this site.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection

Address: 700 Drayton St., Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
#14 Business Hotel in Savannah
#24 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#35 Family Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Marriott, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion On Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection Hotel Savannah
Mansion On Forsyth Park Savannah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.