We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky Luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Drayton St., Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #30 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Sheffield, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Funky Luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Beautiful old red brick building opposite Forsyth Park at the south end of the historic district. Staff was extremely welcoming and helpful as to making restaurant suggestions and reservations. Savannah is a walking city, and hotel required a long walk to some areas, but they have a shuttle to take guests to their other property on Bay Street on the water, nearer to some restaurants and attractions.
The room was large, quiet and luxurious, with king sized bed, marble bathroom, with large sink area and enclosed "water closet". Lobby and adjacent public areas are an art gallery with modern paintings, outdoor pool has plenty of shade, from draped fabric.
Not sure if you need to be a Marriott Elite member to have access to concierge area. Concierge level provided breakfast and evening beer/wine.
The property has a nice restaurant and a spa with many services. We totally enjoyed our stay and would return to this property if we come back to Savannah.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    599
    287
    137
    73
    61
See reviews for
180
560
26
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

The Mansion is beautiful inside and out. The staff were quite pleasant and the room comfortable.
I also enjoyed a few of the spa services, which I thought were first rate.
My only hesitation to offer 5 stars concerns the housekeeping. One day a pile of towels was dumped in our room rather than being placed where they belong, another day extra linens were clearly in our room by mistake, and some items which are to be stocked in the room (like coffee, cups, etc) were overlooked. It seemed like someone was not paying much attention. Not a big deal for sure, but not to be expected in a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I was very much looking forward to staying here, however upon our arrival, the bell staff treated us as if we were an annoyance, my husband had to wait for over 20 minutes while the bell staff assisted others, and they did not apologize at all for the wait. Not the southern hospitality we were expecting.
Our room was interesting, the decor is a bit quirky. The bathroom was gross. The marble in the shower needed a good scrubbing. The grout was disgusting, mildew in the corners, paint peeling on the ceiling, mildew on the ceiling, orange-colored soap scum!!! The shower head lacked pressure. This was an annoying considering the price and the ambiance Kessler was attempting to create.
The concierge floor boasted an evening reception. Cheeses, fruits, and a warm appetizer were offered. However, guests were limited to a one-alcoholic drink. Anything more was charged to your room. I have stayed on many concierge level floors, and never have I had to purchase drinks.
Room service was overpriced for average food. 22% gratuity and $3/person dining charge were added, and on the receipt there was room to write in another tip! We ordered steak, did not receive a steak knife. When we called to get one, it took over 15 minutes to get one, and by that time out dinner was cold.
I won't be staying here again. Save your money, go somewhere else!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne, Alabama
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Located on gorgeous Forsyth Park, this hotel is the perfect blend of modern sophistication, southern hospitality and the comforts of home. The hotel has a good fitness center, a very nice spa and an outdoor pool. Our room was massive, exceptionally quiet and extremely comfortable. We stayed on the concierge level which gave us access to breakfast and evening cocktails. The food at both was good. All of the staff at the hotel were very nice to us, and were helpful in making recommendations for places to eat and visit. The staff in the club room were not only very gracious, but also made it a point to get to know the guests. This is a pet friendly hotel, which surprised me a bit. We love dogs, so were very happy to see dogs with their owners in the hotel. If you do not like dogs, you may want to ask to be placed in part of the hotel away from pets. This was a great stay. We will return to this property.

Room Tip: Ask for park view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dothan, Alabama
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

This is one of the best stays my wife and I have ever had. Its location is awesome, and few other accommodations excel more in amenities and charm. We stayed in a king room with a view of the park. we did not explore that much, but the parts of it we did see were spectacular. We will be going back!

Room Tip: Get a room with a spa tub, especially if it is a romantic getaway, it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This hotel is in a gorgeous area right across from a lovely park. It is a bit of a hike to the river, but an interesting walk through the park.

We had a room on the 4th floor overlooking an area with gates and a courtyard which may be used for loading or for maintenance vehicles. We were disappointed with our view, but the room was clean and had a nice, spacious bathroom. Our only criticism is that the 2nd night of our stay, someone must have been doing maintenance or loading something below us, and we heard banging doors. This went on until about midnight. The hotel should try to correct this problem.

We read a lot of comments about the staff. A few of them are a little bit haughty and not helpful, but others were great. A little more training would take care of those stragglers.

Our first impression as we walked through the door was that the carpet was very dirty. It doesn't give a good impression and the hotel manager should do something about it. The hotel decor is most interesting and the art work even more so. We liked it a lot. So often hotels are very blah, and you can't say that about the Mansion. It has lots of character.

We will definitely stay here when we next visit to Savannah

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Maine
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Hotel staff was very nice, but this hotel missed on some of the basics, like a clean room with all of the facilities working properly. Toilet was stopped up. Shower pressure was poor and I had difficulty in getting hot water. Tub was dirty. and the vanity in the bathroom was too small to hold a normal amount of toiletries. Lighting in the room was also poor. We had to keep drapes open in order to see. I tried to contact the general manager but he was not available. I have left messages for him to contact me, but no response.

Room Tip: Decore in the lobby was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection

Address: 700 Drayton St., Savannah, GA 31401
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
#12 Business Hotel in Savannah
#20 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion On Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection Hotel Savannah
Mansion On Forsyth Park Savannah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.