We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Decor & Rooms, Lacking Exclusivity” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Drayton St., Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #30 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
PGH Metro
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Beautiful Decor & Rooms, Lacking Exclusivity”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Recently stayed at the Mansion between the Christmas and New Year's holidays for 3 nights. I don't have much to comment on about the restaurant, lounges or spa/gym amenities as I did not experience them during my stay.

The rooms are unique and quite pretty. We were in a corner room so there was plenty of light from the room's multiple windows. It was odd looking to see two big doors from the bathroom to the bed area, but it was definitely something you don't see everyday. The bathroom was very nice with the separate shower stall. The room met our basic needs and had a little style mixed in which was nice to walk into each day.

The folks at the front desk, concierge, valet/taxi service were great. Very friendly and helpful.

We were on the concierge floor and that was quite disappointing. To be fair, a year ago, I had an outstanding experience on a concierge level in a boutique hotel in Charleston, SC to compare this to and sadly, the Mansion did not measure up. First, there are designated slots of time that the concierge level is open which makes things inconvenient. For myself and the other members of my traveling party, we always enjoy seeing the sights of the town we're in during the mid-morning into early, mid-afternoon hours of the day then return to the hotel, intending to camp out in the concierge level with our wine and relax. Because of the hours, we were relegated to a hotel room. We did visit the concierge room for breakfast and cocktail hours and I agree with a prior review that the refreshments were average, at best. What was slightly off putting was the constant comment that each guest was allowed one complimentary beer or wine. I would think that having this "exclusive" access would warrant more than a single complimentary libation, but isn't seemingly in the budget. My recommendation for the Mansion is to take a page out of the Market Pavilion Hotel in Charleston, SC. They have the concierge level gimmick down perfectly. An open area available any time to sit, relax, grab a soda or water and enjoy some food and beverages without restraint.

As a location for accommodations, the Mansion works, but there wasn't anything left on me that was extraordinary. I wouldn't mind staying here again, however my expectations are set for this establishment and I can plan accordingly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisa D, Front Office Manager at Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! We are pleased to hear our guest rooms satisfied your basic and aesthetic requirements and that our staff was attentive to your needs. Further, we thank you for the suggestions of how to improve our offerings and services in our concierge lounge. As always, we strive to provide the highest level of quality and service in the industry. We hope to have the opportunity to try to exceed your expectations on a future visit to Savannah.

Elisa Dickerson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    599
    287
    137
    73
    62
See reviews for
181
560
26
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
McDonough, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for Christmas Eve, and our stay was wonderful. The hotel and room decor was simply beautiful. The room service was prompt and food was delicious. The staff was friendly and professional. The front desk staff, Ashley, was very helpful and efficient. I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisa D, Front Office Manager at Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback! We are pleased that the property provided a home away from home during the holidays. We hope to have the opportunity to wow you with the same type of excellent service and accommodations on your next visit to Savannah!

Elisa Dickerson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We arrived in Savannah after a long & difficult journey (weather wise) from Montgomery. We had booked the hotel just the day before & got a good price. Check in was speedy & when we saw the room we were very impressed! The bathroom alone is reason to stay. Not to mention the lovely location right across from the park. It's worth walking through the park passed the fountain to get downtown. The hotel provides a free shuttle service as well. We had room service & the food was lovely, especially the chocolate cake! Savannah is a very pretty town & if we were to come back we would stay here again!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This hotel was a big disappointment. Touting itself as a luxury place it lacked in several areas. Lets start, however, with the positives.... The rooms were lovely with fun decor and oversized bathrooms. The decor of the hotel itself was also stunningly fun - artwork on every inch of the wall, some for sell and some just for show. Including the designer elevators, definitely a place where you like to explore every floor.

Now lets go to the negatives. The staff were very so so. I could have been at a two or at most three star hotel if you shut your eyes. A place styling itself to be be four or five star should have staff that are professional at very level - in how they speak to the clientele, opening the main doors, or in and out of the hall discourse. I have been to a few places that just exude professionalism. This place is not it. Just isn't. That is except for the spa and restaurant staff. They were at a higher level.

The concierge floor was an embarrassment, serving less than pub fare for cocktails and very basic breakfast. I actually had obtained access to this due to a free upgrade, but would have been quite angry if i actually have had to pay for it.

Lastly, the gym was depressing. Dark, few pieces of equipment, and was messy when we went. No one had straightened the area, refurbished the hand towels, or wiped the equipment.

Not really sure how this place can call itself luxury. Rooms and general decor are great. The rest lacks what it takes to be considered four or five star. Need to try a lot harder.

Room Tip: Make sure you call and request everything you want - king bed, bath, view etc ,
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed at the mansion for the second time, enamored of the quality of the staff and of the quirky, ample sized rooms. I am a Hyatt Platinum customer, but my daughter insisted we stay at the Mansion because she remembered how nice everyone was. She was not mistaken. We made the trip in spite of having been rear-ended by a reckless driver who totalled our car. We arrived at the hotel and the management was nice enough to comp the first night (we arrived in the wee hours of the morning because of the accident). The staff was lovely, nice beyond belief and they made up for the horrible accident we had. Our special thanks to Elisa, the front desk manager, whose efficiency was nonpareil; to Ashley Jackson,Joe, the Front desk supervisor, Austin and Orlando, the night attendants and the wonderful front desk ladies Acacia and Kaleigh. Please Mr. Kessler, raise their salaries, with people like that, the hotel could be falling to pieces that it makes no difference.
In addition to that, you have a wonderful restaurant with a first class chef and staff and a very good location.
Kudos.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are very good. Double bed rooms are not so good. Chose a king and bunk up. It is nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisa D, Front Office Manager at Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for all of the wonderful comments regarding the stellar service you received during your recent experience! At the Mansion, we always strive to exceed our guests’ expectations of service and quality. We are pleased you gave us an opportunity to have you as our guests and look forward to hosting you on future visits!

Elisa Dickerson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed here during a surprise birthday trip through low country. It was the perfect way to end our trip. Our room was fabulous. We spent all day next to the pool. Great location. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

The location of this property was ideal for our long weekend. We walked everywhere and the park was great was to finish off each day. The fron t desk staff seemed to be pre-occupied most of the time although the valet's wonderful and very helpful. We had a great room...overall a very good experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection

Address: 700 Drayton St., Savannah, GA 31401
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
#12 Business Hotel in Savannah
#20 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion On Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection Hotel Savannah
Mansion On Forsyth Park Savannah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.