We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and elegant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Drayton St., Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #34 of 112 Hotels in Savannah
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Quiet and elegant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

A most pleasant lodging experience--accommodative staff,well appointed rooms and a calming serene environment. We enjoyed our time here very much.The restaurant in the adjacent building serves an excellent breakfast and the staff is courteous and attentive.

Room Tip: Stay in rooms facing the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisa D, Front Office Manager at Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property. We were pleased to learn that our amenities, atmosphere and service were to your liking during your stay with us. We are particularly happy you found our hotel to be the sanctuary we pride ourselves on providing to our guests. Thank you again for your comments. We hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you in the future.

Warm Regards,
Elisa Dickerson
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    565
    263
    129
    70
    58
See reviews for
162
531
25
118
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

We had a great stay on the 4th floor of this lavish hotel. Feels unique and not at all corporate/chain, but It does have the reliability and slickness of being a Marriott.

Small downsides: the location is stunning, and easy to drive to (with simple on-street parking if you don't want to pay for valet). But you rEAlly to take taxis to and from the hotel in the evening, partly because it's a bit of a shlep to the city center and partly because Savannah is not such a safe city after dark.

The outdoor pool is very pretty, but small.

Otherwise, I couldn't fault this hotel. Very clean, decorated with a lot of flair. The late bar with live jazz was also great on a Saturday night.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisa D, Front Office Manager at Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are so happy to learn that you enjoyed the beauty of our hotel with the benefits and rewards of our affiliation with Marriott. We are delighted that you found our location “stunning” and we agree it is easy to drive to. We pride ourselves on our décor and love that you were able to enjoy Casimir’s live jazz on Saturday night. Should your future travel plans include Savannah, we hope you will stay with us again.

Warm Regards,
Elisa Dickerson
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny Isles Beach, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the Mansion, it is a great location with beautiful rooms. The Mansion's rooms could use a little face lift, new hairdryers, new sheets etc. but on the whole it is a great location. The restaurant is outstanding,

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This hotel is NOT 4-star as stated. The only nice experience there was the valet. Once you get inside the staff is unbelievably rude. Our room was a nice size but had a terrible smell. Also you have no privacy in the bathroom. It opens up to the entire room. I thought staying near Forsyth Park would be nice but I did not feel safe there at all. Many homeless people and unsavory types all around. I would not walk around the hotel at night. I stay in Marriotts regularly and would never stay here again. Next time I'll stay at a B&B.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisa D, Front Office Manager at Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
We appreciate feedback such as yours as it provides us with the opportunity to make improvements in service. We were extremely disappointed to learn of the guest service issues you experienced during your stay. We take pride in our ability to deliver a memorable guest experience, but clearly missed the mark for you. Thank you again for your feedback. We hope you will give us the opportunity to regain your confidence in the future.

Elisa Dickerson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed here in late September for three nights. It was perfect, and definitely helped the city live up to its fine charm and southern hospitality. The location was excellent, and it was a great setting for our romantic trip. We'll be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I was looking for a stop on the way to the Villages in Florida. If you are bored with Disney Land try visiting there instead. The choice for a road trip overnighter is always a bit limited and the competition is fierce. I decided to look a little further up-market and came up with The Mansion on Forsyth Park in Savannah, a town I have meant to visit for a while now.
Looking at the reviews of those who had gone before it seemed as if a lot of people had only praise. But not a few had quite the opposite opinion. In fact 43 reviews were not bad, they were horrible. These are not things one would wish to read about a hotel where you are about to invest the odd $400 or so for a night of rest and recreation. It might put you off. So that made the choice slightly more problematic. It is a Marriot hotel and that means quite a lot in terms of expectations. Not only is it a Marriot, it is also part of their boutique hotel offering which goes under the name of "the Autograph collection" although just why is not so clear. But you have to call these things something.
I decided to stay at the The Mansion on Forsyth park because it is an anomaly. It is somewhat aptly named because the Mansion exterior shares that parvenue charm reminiscent of the Forsyte Saga series about a nouveau riche family of somewhat stunted taste who lived a violently profligate life in the early part of the last century. The exterior of the building has been beautifully harmonised to enhance the frontage it has on Forsyth Park, which, since the reconstruction of Savannah has become a place of quite calm, alien beauty and the haunt of joggers rather than a no-go area of muggers and worse. I believe it is the trees that give the park its weirdness with those strange hanging streamers of moss and lichen trailing in the hot summer evenings. Altogether a picture of Southern charm. And Savannah has a lot of that. Even the panhandler who asked for (and received) $20 in the park was charming and polite, desperately relating his dreadful plight in a low voice. We felt better as human beings for having helped him and it was only the fact that he did not wait for us to get out of earshot before moving in on another couple taking a stroll that made us think that perhaps he was not in quite as bad a situation as he would have us believe. But he was very, very charming.
If you wanted to place the Mansion in a category it would certainly be "boutique hotel". It has all the signs: from the extreme camp interiors that are so over the top your eyebrows get tired of shooting up to meet your hairline, to the miles of art hanging on the walls which all appeared to be basically the same daub but with minor variations. Theming your hotel as an Art hotel first began in Berlin in the seventies with the Art-Sorat hotel. Arguably that was one of the first real boutique hotels which, as time went by, became a small franchise and then gradually faded from sight to become part of one of the larger beasts out there. This version was much bigger and included its own gallery which is rather an odd thing to do in a hotel unless you are supporting a local community of artists. There were also some very bizarre public areas. The main bar, which was deserted by guests and staff every time we visited it, was memorable for its eye-jarring interior and display of ladies hats, all carefully preserved in glass cabinets. One wondered why? If hats, why not underwear or some other item of personal clothing? Bras for example, they have an interesting history.
We arrived quite late, sixish, which is usually a quiet time on hotel weekdays. It was raining in the way it rains in Hollywood films, sluicing down, so getting in to the hotel was something we needed done quickly and efficiently. It was quite well taken care of but no towels were offered to dry us off and there was an immediate feeling that this was not a happy ship. While the front desk was a little dysfunctional the staff generally had that certain diffidence and disdain as if they wanted you to know that this was just a temporary job until their degree was finished, their offices opened, whatever. They did not think that providing good service was their job. You were a minor inconvenience in their lives and they were not going to let it bother them that much. As a matter of fact arriving at the hotel and leaving where the only times we had any interaction with the staff. It almost felt as if they were hiding. The room was a little quirky with its two large serving hatch doors that opened from the bedroom into the bathroom, presumably so you could watch a friend having a dump from the comfort of your bed. The extremely agitated style of the entrance is a little calmer in the rooms with, of course, muted greys and blacks. But we both liked it and it was clean with no obvious signs of great use or advanced age. The bathroom with the toilet in a glass cubicle carried on the weirdness part, but it was part of the overall experience.
If I was to make any criticism of the Marriot approach to Boutique hostelry it would be this. Staying at a boutique hotel is, by definition a uniquely personal experience. If you build and run your hotel according to the largesse and taste of beancounters then this is what you end up with: a depersonalised assault on the senses that would be more aptly named as Extreme Hotels, the Authograph Collection. So that is the Mansion on Forsyth Park. Not a great hotel, an accountant's dream hotel, which might explain a lot. We never tried the spa and pool but they were, of course, suitably camp and cool in design.

Room Tip: Try for a room overlooking the park. Weird views and quietly strolling people most of the time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We enjoyed our stay and loved the quiet location on the park. Their hotel on the river (The Bohemian), was very nice, too, and very convenient for all the historic district and restuarants. If you like a more laid back trip, the Mansion has a free shuttle that takes guests back and forth to the Bohemian twice every hour.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection

Address: 700 Drayton St., Savannah, GA 31401
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
#14 Business Hotel in Savannah
#24 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#32 Family Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, AAA Travel Services, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion On Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection Hotel Savannah
Mansion On Forsyth Park Savannah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.