We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely weekend getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Drayton St., Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #34 of 112 Hotels in Savannah
Portland, Maine
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely weekend getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed here in late September for three nights. It was perfect, and definitely helped the city live up to its fine charm and southern hospitality. The location was excellent, and it was a great setting for our romantic trip. We'll be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    565
    263
    129
    70
    58
See reviews for
162
531
25
118
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Midlothian, Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I was looking for a stop on the way to the Villages in Florida. If you are bored with Disney Land try visiting there instead. The choice for a road trip overnighter is always a bit limited and the competition is fierce. I decided to look a little further up-market and came up with The Mansion on Forsyth Park in Savannah, a town I have meant to visit for a while now.
Looking at the reviews of those who had gone before it seemed as if a lot of people had only praise. But not a few had quite the opposite opinion. In fact 43 reviews were not bad, they were horrible. These are not things one would wish to read about a hotel where you are about to invest the odd $400 or so for a night of rest and recreation. It might put you off. So that made the choice slightly more problematic. It is a Marriot hotel and that means quite a lot in terms of expectations. Not only is it a Marriot, it is also part of their boutique hotel offering which goes under the name of "the Autograph collection" although just why is not so clear. But you have to call these things something.
I decided to stay at the The Mansion on Forsyth park because it is an anomaly. It is somewhat aptly named because the Mansion exterior shares that parvenue charm reminiscent of the Forsyte Saga series about a nouveau riche family of somewhat stunted taste who lived a violently profligate life in the early part of the last century. The exterior of the building has been beautifully harmonised to enhance the frontage it has on Forsyth Park, which, since the reconstruction of Savannah has become a place of quite calm, alien beauty and the haunt of joggers rather than a no-go area of muggers and worse. I believe it is the trees that give the park its weirdness with those strange hanging streamers of moss and lichen trailing in the hot summer evenings. Altogether a picture of Southern charm. And Savannah has a lot of that. Even the panhandler who asked for (and received) $20 in the park was charming and polite, desperately relating his dreadful plight in a low voice. We felt better as human beings for having helped him and it was only the fact that he did not wait for us to get out of earshot before moving in on another couple taking a stroll that made us think that perhaps he was not in quite as bad a situation as he would have us believe. But he was very, very charming.
If you wanted to place the Mansion in a category it would certainly be "boutique hotel". It has all the signs: from the extreme camp interiors that are so over the top your eyebrows get tired of shooting up to meet your hairline, to the miles of art hanging on the walls which all appeared to be basically the same daub but with minor variations. Theming your hotel as an Art hotel first began in Berlin in the seventies with the Art-Sorat hotel. Arguably that was one of the first real boutique hotels which, as time went by, became a small franchise and then gradually faded from sight to become part of one of the larger beasts out there. This version was much bigger and included its own gallery which is rather an odd thing to do in a hotel unless you are supporting a local community of artists. There were also some very bizarre public areas. The main bar, which was deserted by guests and staff every time we visited it, was memorable for its eye-jarring interior and display of ladies hats, all carefully preserved in glass cabinets. One wondered why? If hats, why not underwear or some other item of personal clothing? Bras for example, they have an interesting history.
We arrived quite late, sixish, which is usually a quiet time on hotel weekdays. It was raining in the way it rains in Hollywood films, sluicing down, so getting in to the hotel was something we needed done quickly and efficiently. It was quite well taken care of but no towels were offered to dry us off and there was an immediate feeling that this was not a happy ship. While the front desk was a little dysfunctional the staff generally had that certain diffidence and disdain as if they wanted you to know that this was just a temporary job until their degree was finished, their offices opened, whatever. They did not think that providing good service was their job. You were a minor inconvenience in their lives and they were not going to let it bother them that much. As a matter of fact arriving at the hotel and leaving where the only times we had any interaction with the staff. It almost felt as if they were hiding. The room was a little quirky with its two large serving hatch doors that opened from the bedroom into the bathroom, presumably so you could watch a friend having a dump from the comfort of your bed. The extremely agitated style of the entrance is a little calmer in the rooms with, of course, muted greys and blacks. But we both liked it and it was clean with no obvious signs of great use or advanced age. The bathroom with the toilet in a glass cubicle carried on the weirdness part, but it was part of the overall experience.
If I was to make any criticism of the Marriot approach to Boutique hostelry it would be this. Staying at a boutique hotel is, by definition a uniquely personal experience. If you build and run your hotel according to the largesse and taste of beancounters then this is what you end up with: a depersonalised assault on the senses that would be more aptly named as Extreme Hotels, the Authograph Collection. So that is the Mansion on Forsyth Park. Not a great hotel, an accountant's dream hotel, which might explain a lot. We never tried the spa and pool but they were, of course, suitably camp and cool in design.

Room Tip: Try for a room overlooking the park. Weird views and quietly strolling people most of the time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We enjoyed our stay and loved the quiet location on the park. Their hotel on the river (The Bohemian), was very nice, too, and very convenient for all the historic district and restuarants. If you like a more laid back trip, the Mansion has a free shuttle that takes guests back and forth to the Bohemian twice every hour.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

stayed here for 3 nights, good looking hotel and nicely appointed. However the rates were high, but rooms lacked luxury details. Most frustrating was how dark the rooms were -- not enough light too see my suitcase on the luggage rack. Lighting design in the rooms didn't factor in function, multiple chandeliers, lamps -- all requiring separate turning on/off. Even the TV was dark picture and couldn't find way to make it brighter. This is my 2nd Autograph collection hotel I stayed at recently and had more pleasant experience here, but similarities in hotels and lacking of some luxury standards -- especially so in the bathroom. Bed was very soft. Staff was pleasant, nice courtyard area, fun collection of art (especially the hats!) -- lovely park across the street.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisa D, Front Office Manager at Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property. We are pleased that you enjoyed most of your experience with us. However, we were disappointed to learn that our amenities and lighting were not to your liking during your stay with us. Please know that we take every guest comment seriously and value your opinion. We are committed to excellence and use your feedback to reach that goal.

We hope you will allow us the opportunity to welcome you again.

Elisa Dickerson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asheville
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Neat looking hotel from the outside. Nicest people working are the valet. Outside of that, the front desk, concierge, and all others are rude. Customer service is obviously not a priority, and considering the price, I would not stay here again. Better to be at one of B and B's that actually care about the tourists that visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisa D, Front Office Manager at Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on your recent stay with us. Although we were pleased to hear that our valet staff is nice, I am saddened to learn that was your only positive experience. It is our goal to not only meet your service expectations but to exceed them. Please know that we take every guest comment seriously and value your opinion. We are committed to excellence and use your feedback to reach that goal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, GA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for two nights for the Savannah Marathon. The rooms were very clean and spacious. The bed was comfortable and the bathtub was great! They were very helpful even though it was a busy weekend. The location was right by the finish so it was a good place to stay for the race because it was very quick to get back to the room. It is a bit farther away from the shops than some of the other hotels. However, that is relative because the historic district isn't that big. It took us 15 minutes to walk to the river. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

As a loyal Marriott elite member, I wanted to experience a property in the Autograph Collection.
The Mansion is a beautiful hotel on the edge of Forsythe Park, in the historic district of Savannah.
The hotel has an extensive art collection, and an art deco feel to the place. Service was standard, nothing remarkable. The room was a bit of a disappointment, The furniture and ambience is tired and worn. The king bed, as expected, had fine linens and was extremely comfortable. The bathroom amenities were a yawn. Standard shampoo/cond/body lotion. For these room rates I would have expected a shower cap and more luxurious products. No laundry bag in sight in the closet to be found. Had a distinctively dark feel to the room. Concierge room services were included in the room rate. Never have I experienced such a plebeian assortment of food, both breakfast and evening. Each day was a turnover of some kind in the warming dish, unappetizing and tasteless. Plenty of pastry carbs that no one seemed to touch. Savannah is a lovely town, with many hotel options. Not sure hotel this would garner a return trip. For the money, this was below expectations.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection

Address: 700 Drayton St., Savannah, GA 31401
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
#14 Business Hotel in Savannah
#24 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#32 Family Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, AAA Travel Services, Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion On Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection Hotel Savannah
Mansion On Forsyth Park Savannah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.