We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Musty smell” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Ellis Square

Save Saved
You added Inn at Ellis Square to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Inn at Ellis Square
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   201 West Bay Street, Historic District, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
30% More Wyndham Rewards
Ranked #57 of 111 hotels in Savannah
Write a Review

2,032 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    689
    662
    388
    175
    118
See reviews for
516
726
65
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This hotel is in a great location-right in the thick of it in Savannah. We found we were able to easily walk to every bar and restaurant we wanted to. We stayed in the deluxe king room (it had a pull out couch). I was SHOCKED by the size of this room, it was the largest hotel room I have ever stayed in. Hard wood floors, a pull out couch (not the very comfortable, but what pull out couch is??), 2 TV's (one in front of the king bed, one in front of the pull out), and a refrigerator. The bathroom was great because there was a sink, toilet, and shower in the bathroom, but there was also a sink and vanity area so that multiple people could get ready at the same time and not get in one anothers way. The thing I loved most about this room was that there was an actual door that closed off the couch/seating area from the king bed area. It was like having two hotel rooms. One person can go to bed early, and the rest of the family can stay up late watching TV quite happily without disturbing the person sleeping. For what we paid to be in such a great location in savannah, we were very pleased with the room. The breakfast was adequate, nothing to write home about, but it filled you up. The front desk was short staffed, but they did they best they could under the circumstances. I would suggest this hotel room to a friend, but I would let them know you are getting what you paid for (although compared to the outrageous prices of the surrounding hotels, you can't go wrong with the Inn at Ellis Square).

Room Tip: The Deluxe King is a great room for families or people traveling in a group.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Inn @ Ellis Square is in a prime location.   Location is within walking distance of a variety of cafes, bars, dining, entertainment, City Market & River Street. The parking garage is small & spaces are tight. If you are able to get a space, I'd suggest walking or catching a shuttle (Savannah Hoppers) & leaving your car in the garage space, if at all possible.  

As Savannah is a historical city & this hotel is in a historic district, you'll find the hotel is a bit dated. The door to our room had to be slammed closed & the closet's mirror door was off track. The ironing board was wobbly as well. The hot water wasn't so hot at all times, but warm enough to not be cold. The AC worked great, the bed was comfy. Wi-fi access is free but not always dependable or strong.  

All accounts with the staff were pleasant. Everyone was very friendly.  We stayed 3 nights, I'm not exactly sure what the cause for the lack if housekeeping was on our last day there. After reporting this at about 7:30 that evening (we returned to the room about 6 & found it uncleaned) we were assured it would be taken care of.  Upon return the bed has been straighten & clean towels provided. No trash emptied or bathroom cleaning or anything. 

The hotel's newly added courtyard is nice & comfortable, with this addition from my understanding, the hotel no longer has a pool. The onsite gym offers treadmill, elliptical & a bike, at least, maybe a little more, I can't recall. 

All in all, the location is great & the hotel is decent. 

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gadsden, Alabama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

The hotel was in the perfect place no matter what you were wanting to do. It was close to River Street, close to numerous restaurants, and within walking distance to the squares and theater. I would recommend this to anyone going to Savannah. My family and I really enjoyed sitting on their courtyard. It was very peaceful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montréal
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Pros: Staff at this hotel are very nice, professional and helpful.
Overall, the decoration at this hotel is really nice.
Location is great, as it is right in the historic district.
The mattress was comfortable for a Days Inn.

Cons: The breakfast is totally disgusting, it is free but it doesn't worth anything neither. The variety is poor and the quality too.
Cleanliness of my first room wasn't as expected. The carped was really dirty. I've had really bad allergies all night, I was unable to sleep.

Very important too, they have only one type of pillow (thick and ferm) so if you are more comfortable with thin and soft pillows, bring your own ones.

When I explained the situation in the morning, the lady at the front desk was really nice, understanding, helpful, professionnal and she suggested to switch me of room for a suite. I really appreciated that, since suites don't have any carpet, so the rest of my stay was way better.

Very important, there is no pool anymore. They decided to have a courtyard instead. Which is not the best idea, considering the fact that summers in Georgia are very warm and humid. Who cares about a courtyard when it is 90 degrees outside and the only ways to freshen up are either to take a shower in the middle of the afternoon or to go swimming in the water works at Ellis Square.

Overall, it is a good Days Inn hotel, but don't expect the same quality as Holiday Inn, because it is not.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inn at Ellis Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Ellis Square

Also Known As:
Inn At Ellis Square Hotel
Inn At Ellis Square Hotel Savannah
Days Inn Savannah
Hotel At Ellis Square
Ellis Square Inn Savannah
Address: 201 West Bay Street, Historic District, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#38 Business Hotel in Savannah
#46 Family Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn at Ellis Square 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Wyndham, Tingo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Inn at Ellis Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Ellis Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.