We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous location, very good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Ellis Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Inn at Ellis Square to your Saves list
Inn at Ellis Square
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   201 West Bay Street, Historic District, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
30% More Wyndham Rewards
Ranked #57 of 112 Hotels in Savannah
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous location, very good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel upon the recommendation of a friend. We were there 3 nights (5/29-6/1). Overall we were very pleased with the hotel but it took a little pressure before we got an acceptable room. We were never told there was construction going on at the hotel, neither on their website or over the phone. They are putting in a new driveway and outdoor seating area. Great, but you need to let potential guests know this! The first room we were given was directly over the construction, very cramped and dark. I knew immediately it wouldn't work and went to the desk to ask for another room. The desk clerk seemed reluctant but then came through with flying colors. We were offered a suite but with two double beds rather than a queen. It faced the parking garage and was far from the construction. It was fabulous! Very large, nice decor, 2 sinks (one inside the bathroom and one outside), the beds were comfortable and it had a nice sitting area. I definitely would recommend bringing clips (or clothespins) to keep the curtains closed. This hotel offers a good, free continental breakfast but it was more than just cereal and muffins (had eggs, sausage, waffles) and kept well stocked. There is a daily parking fee but there were in and out privileges and the garage is across the driveway from the hotel. The location could not be better. It is on Bay very close to shops (City Market), lots of good restaurants and is a stop on the Old Town Trolley Tour. We loved all that Savannah had to offer and would definitely go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INNATELLISSQUARE, General Manager at Inn at Ellis Square, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

I'm thrilled to hear that my staff was attentive to your needs and found you comfortable accommodations in our well appointed suites. It's a pleasure hearing that you truly enjoyed your visit to our hotel and we hope that you will return for a complete experience once our courtyard is open.

Thank You,

Antony Trice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    797
    810
    508
    235
    149
See reviews for
626
899
88
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

The Inn has a pefect location right on Bay Street just off the river. Prime location to head out for dinner, out for a beer, some fast food or a wander around the historic district.

Rooms are well appointed with the most pillows \ cushions Ive seen per bed. Coffee maker, ice and drink machine near the lift. BRILLIANT shower head (probably the best shower Ive had in weeks) in a general sized bathroom.

Staff are all friendly and attentive, nothing was too much trouble. The happy hour at the small bar seems to be a winner, with lots of hotel guests taking advantage of the specials and great service. Iced water next to the bar in the lobby area greatly appreciated.

My only slight gripe would be the average breakfast. Most things seem to be brought in from other places and there wasn't much selection. But thats only nitpicking. didn't even notice the construction.

A beautiful hotel in a beautiful town!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INNATELLISSQUARE, General Manager at Inn at Ellis Square, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Inn at Ellis Square. I'm glad that you found our location to be a plus and it seem that you enjoyed our well appointed rooms as well. We often boast the best location in town, but we are often too quiet when it comes to mentioning our wonderful amenities and superb service. We hope that you continue to share your wonderful experience and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Thank You,

Anthony Trice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Georgia, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

This isn't The Palm, but it's a GREAT place to spend a few nights in Savannah. The staff was incredibly accommodation. Vernisha, Toraya and Amanda all did their very best to make us at home. They're redoing a lot of the property, so there are a few challenges associated with that, but they certainly went above and beyond the call of duty to make us feel at home.

Again, this isn't the Ritz or anything, but it's an outstanding property at a great value, especially when you consider the amazing location.

Room Tip: King Suite was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INNATELLISSQUARE, General Manager at Inn at Ellis Square, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words about my staff and such a wonderful review of your recent stay. I hope that you will continue recommending us to all of your friends. We hope to see you again soon.

Thank You,

Anthony Trice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

The staff was probably one of the most friendly we've ever met at any hotel. The hotel is in the ideal, perfect location. You can walk to anything in the historic district. The only time we got in the car and left the parking deck was when we went to Tybee Island.

We booked a 3 day, 2 night romance package. The total price for everything- breakfast, parking, the room and champagne and strawberries was well worth it and very reasonable.

The rooms were clean. The only disappointment I'd say we had was there was no fridge in the room.

Jenn at the bar was an awesome bartender. Very friendly, great sense of humor. She made all drinks from scratch. Her whiskey sours were outstanding. Go there for happy hour between 4-7 for a little less pricey. After 7 it can get expensive. Say you're a Detroit Tigers fan.

The breakfast was what you'd expect, nothing fancy, it served it's purpose.

The concierge service was very knowledgeable, helpful, and friendly.

No pool, but there's so much to do in Savannah, you don't need it. Plus, who goes there to sit at a pool anyway.

Tybee Island was only about a 20 minute drive.

Room Tip: This comes with a disclaimer of they are undergoing renovations to upgrade their rooms and their cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INNATELLISSQUARE, General Manager at Inn at Ellis Square, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Inn at Ellis Square with Trip Advisor. I'm so happy to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, but I'm especially pleased to hear that Jenn made your stay even more special. We hope that you will come again and experience all of our new upgrades before the year is out.

Thank You,

Anthony Trice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

My sister and I plan a trip together each year - sans spouses. Our favorite places are Savannah and Charleston. We always look forward to the Inn at Ellis Square. The staff is great: friendly and efficient. The rooms are really nice. One year, much to my dismay, we were housed in a room next to the elevator. The hotel was occupied by a bunch of giggling Girl Scouts, so I could tell that I was not going to sleep. I was wrong. We never heard anything and we had a great view of the river.
I love the location as well. I never had to look for a parking place, because we could walk to almost every place we wanted. Paula Deen's is a block away and a visit to the Cobbleston Café is one of our favorite places.
Savannah is beautiful and so diverse that everyone should visit at least once.

Room Tip: Odd room numbers - face the riverfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INNATELLISSQUARE, General Manager at Inn at Ellis Square, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your warm review of our hotel. We really appreciate your kind words and your years of continued patronage. We look forward to your next visit.

Thank You,

Anthony Trice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at Ellis Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Ellis Square

Address: 201 West Bay Street, Historic District, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 112 Hotels in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn at Ellis Square 2.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Wyndham, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Inn at Ellis Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Ellis Square Hotel Savannah
Days Inn Savannah
Hotel At Ellis Square
Ellis Square Inn Savannah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Ellis Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.