We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The 1895 Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Savannah
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The 1895 Inn
126 East Oglethorpe Ave., Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 39 Savannah B&B and Inns
Orange CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The Best.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2006

We traveled the South and stayed at several B&B on our trip. Bob and Ed know how to do it right. Everything from the bedding to the breakfast in the AM. I could not suggest any changes and I can't wait to stay there again. It is a beautiful place and great location and Bob and Ed will do anything to help make your stay wonderful

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    489
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
352
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2006

We stayed at the 1895 Inn for 4 nights during our anniversary trip to Savannah. Ed & Bob were the perfect hosts...everything they recommended was perfect. The first night we arrived, they made a reservation for us for our anniversary dinner a few nights later at The Olde Pink House. They then began suggesting dinner spots for the rest of our stay. We were able to decide right then where we'd eat for the remaining nights from their descriptions of all the food. Bob was right...you really do eat your way through Savannah. Each of the places they recommended was gastronomic heaven! Our room (the Renaissance room) was beautiful! Every detail was attended to. The sheets, decoration & atmosphere of our room were so pleasant...the only thing that was able to rouse us each morning was the promise of an amazing breakfast. Not once were we disappointed! The location of the inn leaves nothing to be desired. They are in a perfect spot in the Historic District. It’s a short walk to River Street, a short walk to Forsythe Park, a short walk to City Market. We spent each evening after dinner walking back and forth between all of the squares surrounding the Inn. Of course, we'd rush back early in the evening to see what sort of yummy treats were waiting for us in the media room. Each moment spent at the 1895 made us want to stay longer. From the unforgetable breakfast in the morning (that stuck with us well through lunch!) to the wine & cheese hour in the afternoon that allowed us to get to know our hosts and other guests, to the delectable desserts provided in the evening, the 1895 is, as Ed stated so perfectly, "a little bit practical, a little bit extravagant".

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2006

We stayed at The 1895 Inn in Savannah over Easter weekend 2006. Please read the details below, but in summary, the house is in the perfect location, right in the middle of the historic district within walking distance to everything, it is beautifully decorated and very cozy, the breakfast was superbly gourmet, and the other amenities were nice extras that you don't normally see. We found the inn through Trip Advisor and it was the #1 rated B & B in Savannah. It deserves the rating! The owners spared no expense in decorating the townhouse which does date back to 1895. The house has 4 guest rooms (2 on the 3rd floor and 2 on the 2nd floor). The main floor has a kitchen, parlor, and dining room. The 2nd floor also has a state-of-the-art entertainment center area where you can watch all kinds of movies on a large Plasma TV. All of the rooms contain antique pieces and many contain original artwork. There is a Picasso, a TaLouse La Trec (sorry for butchering the spelling) and numerous Faberge eggs. It is simply beautiful. There are also a lot of nice amenities that you normally don't see in a typical Bed and Breakfast. A gourmet breakfast is served at 9 Am with all guests attending. From 5-6 there is a wine and cheese happy hour where the hosts help with dinner reservations and evening plans. After 8 PM the hosts put out dessert for when guests return from dinner. On Easter Sunday the hosts put together a cute little Easter bag for each guest filled with Easter candy that we found on the breakfast table. Because the inn only has 4 rooms and you are all together for the breakfast and the happy hour, you really get to know fellow guests and the hosts.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2006

If you're looking for a first-class bed and breakfast in Savannah, look no further. The 1895 Inn is simply fantastic. I travel quite a bit and have stayed at numerous 4-5 star hotels and all sorts of B&B's across the US and Europe, and the 1895 is without a doubt one of the nicest I’ve seen yet, and definitely will be my first choice every time I visit Savannah. The 4-guest-room house is located right in the middle of Savannah’s historic district, and within short walking distance of River Street, local restaurants, pubs, coffee houses, and shops. When you enter the 1895, you can tell right away that the owners Ed and Bob know how to run a B&B. The charming house is absolutely spotless, and is decorated with scores of original fine art pieces, antique furniture, and historical artifacts. The guest rooms have antique charm, yet all the amenities you’d expect from a modern facility. Each room has its own theme and they are all pretty close to being perfect. In fact, it’s difficult to think of anything in need of improvement. From the cleanliness and attention to detail, to the unbelievable hospitality, every aspect far exceeded my expectations of an upscale B&B. I also really liked that they don’t nickel-and-dime you like fancy hotels typically do. Wireless internet, DVD rental, nightly wine, refreshment access, and of course breakfast were all included in the cost of the room (which was surprisingly less than other local B&Bs). And don’t expect donuts and toast for breakfast either, because you’ll get a first-rate gourmet breakfast that would amaze even the finest master chef. The owners are genuinely interested in getting to know their guests and making sure every convenience is available to them. The priority at the 1895 certainly seems to be guest satisfaction …not business profit, and I haven’t found many places I can say that about.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2006

My husband and I planned a trip to Savannah for three nights, two of which we stayed in a hotel and the other we spent at the 1895 Inn. After our wonderful stay we regreted not staying at the 1895 the whole time. The breakfast was fantastic and the wine and cheese hour was great. Ed and Bob were very gracious and welcoming hosts and really made us feel "at home". We plan on coming back to Savannah and will definately stay our whole trip next time at the 1895 Inn!

Stayed March 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2006

We spent two wonderful days at the 1895 Inn and had a fantastic time! We were warmly welcomed by Ed and Bob upon our arrival and, after a brief tour of the house, were treated to cheese and wine and instantly were made to feel right at home. Ed and Bob graciously gave us some suggestions on where to dine and after we made a selection, they made reservations for us. Nothing was too much trouble for our hosts. Their consideration even stretched as far as feeding the meter for our car parking space at 8:00am and took care of it until another guest left and we were able to park at the back of the house.

We stayed at the Summerfield room, which was extremely comfortable, peaceful and spacious. The house in general is beautiful, the famous breakfasts were fantastic, and the hosts were charming, funny, warm and very knowledgeable of the city.

We will definitely come back here any time we visit Savannah and recommend it to all our friends and family. To come to Savannah and not eperience the 1895 Inn, would mean missing out on one of this town's true treasures.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, GA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2006

As a surprise Valentine's gift, my husband booked us for two nights at The 1895 Inn. I can only reiterate the glowing reviews of other guests. The breakfasts were unbelievable. Luckily we were only there 2 days or we would have had to steal the sheets and wrap them around us "toga style" to get home. In two days we came home a tad heavier than when we left - and it was worth it.

Being Savannahians, we had a 20 minute drive to my "surprise" vacation location. I expected to go out of town and was so very pleasantly surprised that we were going to get to play like Historic District residents. Everything was perfect. The media room (where dessert was served in the evening) had a great inventory of dvd's if you needed a movie to help you get to sleep. The hosts, the rooms, the food, the location, the furnishings, the artwork, the parking space at the rear - everything was perfect.

I hope for another surprise vacation to downtown Savannah - maybe next Valentine's Day.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The 1895 Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 1895 Inn

Address: 126 East Oglethorpe Ave., Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
The 1895 Hotel Savannah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The 1895 Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The 1895 Inn to your Saves list