We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The 1895 Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Savannah
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The 1895 Inn
Save
You added The 1895 Inn to your Saves list
126 East Oglethorpe Ave., Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 39 Savannah B&B and Inns
Fort Wayne, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Above excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Such a great stay here! Pictures on this sight do not do justice to the beauty of this inn. The rooms are all so inviting from the entry way to the bedrooms. Ed and Robert do such a great job of making one feel welcomed. They both spend time giving information on Savannah. Besides this, the breakfasts were amazing! The wine later in the afternoon and the nightly dessert are a nice touch also. We had a very early flight the morning we left and Ed was kind enough to pack us a bag of goodies for our trip. Can't say enough on how this stay enhanced our visit to Savannah!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    511
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
364
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We had all too short a stay with Ed and Robert (and Dudley!) at the 1895 - and plan to return very very soon. Ed took the time when we arrived to really orientate us with the city, which was so useful as we had such a short stay in Savannah. The rooms here not just comfortable - they were beautiful, and you almost wanted to stay in all day! Ed's breakfasts were fantastic, and the service he and Robert provide is like nothing we have ever experienced. We left feeling as if we had made new friends. I urge you to visit!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This place is beautiful! All the artwork and decor is original and has a story... down to the hand-painted china that we were served breakfast on! The owners could not be any nicer and more helpful with recommendations on restaurants, shopping, events, etc. Great location - within walking distance to all areas of town. Each room in the house is decorated with a different theme. The home cooked breakfast was absolutely delicious. My only comment - this is a historic home and only a thin wall separates each room, so be prepared to be quiet or be heard.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glos
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Can't say any more than has already been said. But it is just about perfect and deserves to be first choice in Savannah. Comfortable beds, superb breakfasts, lots of lovely toiletries in the bathroom. And Dudley is adorable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful home in great location. Within walking distance to Everything. Breakfast is 5 star. Wine cheese and chocolate cake every night. 5 star accommodations. I could go on and on. I promise you will not be sorry staying at the 1895 Inn.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

This is close to town and is very nice inside. The host is a little chatty so be aware. The food was good for breakfast, You May want to skip the wine and cheese. The location is good and easy to find. The other item is that there a lot of stairs so if that is a problem, you may want to do something else. Overall, nice place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sevierville
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

A wonderful B & B. The best location, lovely rooms, gracious hosts, scrumptious breakfast, and a delightful mascot (Dudley). Care is taken with every detail. Ed will give you the best homes to tour and suggest the best restaurants. Simply wonderful !!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The 1895 Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 1895 Inn

Address: 126 East Oglethorpe Ave., Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The 1895 Hotel Savannah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The 1895 Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.