We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool bar/restaurant, rooftop was "eh"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Churchill's Pub

Churchill's Pub
13 W Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401- (Downtown)
+1 912-232-8501
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #81 of 722 Restaurants in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: American, European, British, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: The British tend to have a reputation for bland tasteless food nothing could be further from the truth at Churchill's. At dinner we offer traditional British dishes as well as a large selection of exciting appetizer, small plates, entrees and homemade deserts. We are proud to serve Angus Beef for steaks that just melt in your mouth. Situated in the heart of the Historic District, Churchill's is British owned and operated serving a unique blend of traditional British favorites, European and American cuisine.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Cool bar/restaurant, rooftop was "eh"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

This was a nice kickback place after a day of touring. We loved the inside decor and ambiance; the rooftop staff was friendly and attentive. The view from the roof wasn't desirable (overlooked a parking lot/dumpster). The dining area and overall experience was top notch, but I would not go to the rooftop again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    190
    66
    16
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manorville, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Pub Food and Beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

I am a fan of pub grub, but it would be unfair to classify Churchill's in this category. I had the steak and ale pie which was mouthwatering. We also had a great cheese platter which came with dried fruits and mixed nuts. There is an interesting beer selection too. And the pub is well maintained. A lot of the bars in the area are just seedy tourist traps but this is one you'd be happy to have as your downtown local.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A bit of "blighty" in Savannah!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

My Mum only makes better yorkshire...the roast was perfect and the gravy...better than mine! The shrimp and grits was better than NOLA's! Don't miss this place!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Rooftop dining and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Nice casual dining experience with rooftop seating available. Enjoyed the food, atmosphere and the service. Had a party of 13 that were all as satisfied as I was! Right in downtown Savannah and across the the street from the riverfront area where!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Rooftop Bar is an epic fail!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Up on the rooftop. What a surprise! We *used* to like Churchill's. It's changed for the worse! Horrible, Horrible, Horrible service!!!! Poor food! While we were greeted for a drink order right away, it took another 20 min for anyone to come out to us. They apologized for the miscommunication between the staff... and if that was it, then fine... it happens. But there's more... the food took forever to come out... really!!? For soup and fish tacos? The fish was paper thin and they forgot the avocados on the tacos and the spoon for the soup. I had to go say something because no one checked on us after that. The rooftop bar is fine, but nothing special at all. It's cramped and has no views. But at least it's an option if you want some fresh air. And at least the music they were playing was not too lout. So that was a positive. But overall, it as a horrible experience. As there are plenty of other great places in Savannah.... we will not return here.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Churchill's Pub also viewed

 

Been to Churchill's Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Churchill's Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.