We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice pub” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Churchill's Pub

Churchill's Pub
13 W Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401-1106 (Downtown)
912-232-8501
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #93 of 772 Restaurants in Savannah
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: American, European, British, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

As someone who's fascinated by old Winston, I got drawn into the pub for an early dinner against my better intentions (we had late reservations at the Olde Pink House but were hungry). The grilled salmon was excellent and my Guinness was delivered in a full sized imperial pint. Everyone was very happy with their food.

It has a pub feel - nice dark wood paneling - but it doesn't have the low ceilings of a British pub, so it feels more open. The decorations were just OK, with paintings and posters as you enter, and photos in the booths.

Definitely worth a visit.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    167
    59
    16
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Shreveport
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“I Love Churchills”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

I love this place. The atmosphere, location, food, prices, and usually the service are incomparable. The waiter forgot my child's entire entre, but oddly enough brought the sides. But after 2 trips there in 10+ years, I love everything else about it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Simply Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

I have had the pleasure of eating here numerous times and have never been disappointed. Great beer, amazing British inspired food and wonderful service. My favorite dish on the menu is the Toad in the Hole. Don't let the name fool you, this is a delicious dish that can't be found at many British restaurants in the states. I highly recommend stopping in after a day on River Street!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great pub food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We sat in the bar area, but not the actual bar when we went. It was cozier than the dining room section. Great beer and food selection. The scallops were amazing as the horseradish mashed potatoes with my beef. So much flavor. Service a little forgetful and slow, I think there was only one guy working the bar section tables but we were in no rush so it was fine.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Illinois
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great place to eat and relax!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Our son just returned from England and we thought it would be fun to get a drink and eat authentic English food. The food and beer was good while the service was outstanding. Bob and Michelle are excellent bar tenders!!! Bread pudding and the Ocean Sea pie are highly recommended!!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Churchill's Pub also viewed

 

Been to Churchill's Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Churchill's Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.