We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Unexpected Surprise!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Billy's Place at McDonough's

Billy's Place at McDonough's
20 East Perry Street, Upper Floor, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)
+1 912-231-9049
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #131 of 772 Restaurants in Savannah
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: Billy's Place welcomed our new chef and new menu in August of 2013. We are open Tuesday - Saturday at 4:30PM. Billy's has live piano music every Wednesday through Saturday from 6 - 9PM. On Friday and Saturday nights our house jazz band perfoms from 9 - 12. We are on the 2nd floor, however we have elevator access. Join us at Billy's Place for a great all around dining experience.
Savannah, Georgia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“An Unexpected Surprise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Billie's Place has evolved into a very appealing spot to stop in for dinner and hear some good music. The staff went out of their way to be accommodating. The food was very good and the musicians terrific. We look forward to a return visit very soon.

If you are going across the street to the Savannah Theater, it's the perfect prelude.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    25
    8
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cumming, GA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Billy's Place NEVER Disappoints!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Hubby and I visited Billy's while in Savannah for my birthday. What a great place for dining and drinks. Love the new additions to the live music. Staff was incredible and we also stayed at one of the rooms at the McDonnough Inn. GREAT room, quiet and clean and the bed was VERY comfy! We've stayed here twice now and both times were great! Will most likely keep coming back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Wentworth, GA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Christmas Parties”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

My company has celebrated four Christmas parties and the food is just incredible. The quiet, quaint upper floor is very inviting.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Billys has upgraded”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

We visit Billy's frequently, the last visit was the best. Sirius Radio (Frank Sinatra) a good move on management's decision as is to help the piano player with additional voices and instruments. The new guys behind the bar come with wit and the ability to converse through the night. Good move Billy, the changes are awesome!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“McDonough's - A great find in Savannah”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This was great find -- a real pleasant surprise. The food was quite good -- in fact, very good. The BBQ was excellent and the shrimp and grits was one of the better dishes we had while travelling in the south. The prices were very reasonable -- and the portions were very reasonable. Most significant, the staff were great -- friendly, knowledgeable, and courteous. The entrance to the restaurant is a bit unclear, but just ask for the upstairs. This was a great dining experience in a city with many good choices. Highly recommended

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Billy's Place at McDonough's also viewed

Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Billy's Place at McDonough's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Billy's Place at McDonough's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.