We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shellhouse Restaurant

Shellhouse Restaurant
8 Gateway Blvd W, Savannah, GA 31419-9745
(912) 927-3280
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #195 of 786 Restaurants in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wow!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

The seafood here is awesome! I had oysters and crab legs. Wife had scallops and crab legs. Helpings were huge. We left quite stuffed. :)

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    82
    48
    31
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bath
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“bona petite dejour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

have no idea what that might mean as I know nothing about French but think I just said something about Super Food of the day? Great!! 15 years ago we discovered this place on a trip to Florida. Not returning to florida for 8 to 10 years we had forgotten where it was. Friends of ours came to visit us when we were vacationing in Floirda years later and commented about this super place they stopped for dinner where you throw the shcks into the whole in the center of the table. We were over joyed that they found it and for the last three trips to Florida and back in two years tried to get there when it was opened 2 to 9 and we were always to early to stop since we headed for New York. This time on the way to Florida we made it a plan to stop at the exit (94 Savannah Ga on Rt 95 if your looking) My wife and I split a HUGE platter filled with boiled shrimp 6 oysters a pound of crab legs huge amount of crawfish and our sides of grits and hushpuppies. A pitcher of beer and the bill was around $45. Our Waitress KAYLEE is the best and was very helpful in choice of food and even opening help. 1 oyster just would not open and even the kitchen guys could not do it.... a fresh one was brought right out. we difinately will try to plan our trips back and forth to be able to stop here each time the food was EXCELLENT! and ask for KAYLEE she is a sweetheart! THANKS KAYLEE if you ever see this

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“The hole in the table is very helpful.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

We have been there many time over the years. The seafood is fresh and the service was great. I had the low country boil and my wife had the bucket of oysters. The hole in the table is a big help to keep the table clean as you shuck. A bit pricey but worth it. We will be back again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Relaxing Seafood Enviroment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

This place is Awesome away from all the traffic! The staff is friendly and the food comes fast :) We've been twice when we visited Savannnah... I had the catch of the day both times and it was Fresh and Flavorful!! My Husband had Crab Legs both times and Enjoyed them. Out back they have a pond with Live Gators, Fish and Turtles that you can feed!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrow, Georgia, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is an excellent stop for seafood. It is located just off I-95 just before the I-16. The shrimp and crab legs are fantastic & the portions are enough to fill anyone up. You won't leave this place hungry.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shellhouse Restaurant also viewed

 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Shellhouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shellhouse Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.